We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added QT Port Douglas to your Saves list
QT Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   87-109 Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fantastic place to stay! We stay for 5days just my husband & I to have some time away without the kids. Loved the hotel,very modern & stylish. Food was divine, absolutely amazing-breakfast,lunch,dinner and everything In-between. The cocktails.......OMG the best!! Great location,very close to the Main Street. The cleanliness was generally fairly good, would have liked the sheets changed mid stay and abit of rubbish was laying around from guests that wasn't picked up at the end of each day.Good hotel to take the kids (which is always good to know) but was also good for couples & friends.the staff were really friendly and fairly helpful. Willing to go out of there way to help us and nothing was a problem.
Only complaints.......room cleaning woke us at 9am on a Sunday to clean our room which really really wasn't nice, especially after having a fairly late night. The hotel has activities/hotel happy hours etc never seem to be advertised/published anywhere around the resort & nor are guests told about these.This was really disappointing as the activities/food and bar specials were fairly good however they don't really advise the guest of these and therefore everyone misses out. Lastly,I could never seem to be able to 'book-in' to the day spa which again was disappointing as I would have loved to use the facilities and try it out. All in all- good resort, definitely would recommend & return again, if it be for couples or for families.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Port Douglas guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    204
    80
    31
    11
See reviews for
128
288
21
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently stayed at this AMAZING resort with a group of girlfriends and we had the most AMAZING time. From check-in to check-out, everything was AMAZING! We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was very comfortable and most importantly clean. The food at the resort is AMAZING and we found it to be very affordable. The highlight of our stay was dining at Bazaar (three times, because we just couldn't get enough), the chef's will basically make you whatever your heart desires, great food with a smile. Besides a trip out to the reef, we spent most of our days just soaking up the sun by the AMAZING pool, which always had plenty of sunbeds and a great vibe (cool music and AMAZING cocktails). The definite highlight of our stay was the friendliness and hospitable nature of all the staff at QT. From reception to the bar staff through to housekeeping, nothing was ever too much, they definitely made our stay more enjoyable! We will definitely be recommending QT, Port Douglas to our family and friends as an AMAZING place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was my third stay in four years. It certainly jumped up in my estimation when it moved from Sabaya to QT BUT I also think it's gone down a touch since last year.
Yes the restaurant is great (and so it should be as it's pretty expensive) and yes the pool is pretty nice etc (although perhaps someone could pick up all the bits of rotting "noodle" hanging around the place).
However I didn't get the great friendly vibe from the staff I did last year and despite having the same-ish room as last year, I just didn't dig it this time. With all the reviews on here complaining about the beds I would expect that perhaps the hotel might do something about them; they are certainly ordinary and not consistent with the rest of the Rydges chain.
I also thought the room service was a bit under done; I'm a man and could make a better bed. And we were there for eight nights; a fresh set of sheets would not have gone astray.
Anyway it was nice, and the kids loved it; I just didn't think it was awesome this time.
Oh and my final recommendation, there's two shuttle bus companies in to town; I handed over my hard earned to CORAL REEF to get us around for the week and they were HOPELESS. Try Sun Palm.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at QT over the recent long weekend. From the moment we arrived the customer service was outstanding. The decor is fun and quirky and really contributes to the vibe of the resort.

We enjoyed cocktails at Estilo, the bar (Hibiscus Martinis are amazing), and dined at Bazaar for both breakfasts and dinners. I haven't stopped raving about Bazaar, and in particular Chef Brad. He goes above and beyond to ensure your experience is fantastic.

The pool area is great, there is a swim up bar and food can be delivered to you pool-side over lunch. The only thing I would suggest is possibly adding more umbrellas near the lounges for shade.

I highly recommend QT, and am already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The best hotel buffet in the country! The bazaar has thankfully totally rewritten the rule book on hotel dinner and breakfast buffets. Straits Kitchen Hyatt Singapore but with a lovely home cooked local feel. Beats the hot chips and fried food of Main Street Port Douglas. Classy space good service and great cocktails. Even if you don't stay at QT you should eat here. Down side of QT no booking system for bikes and people can hog them all day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for 9 days and loved it. The rooms are exactly what we want for a family of 4 - we booked the "villa" - actually 2 bedrooms with a large kitchenette/family room with a fold out bed. The rooms are great since the refurb and its good to be able to wash and dry your own clothes during a longer stay.
The food in Bazaar is wonderful - we all loved the breakfasts and dinners - the chefs accommodated the food requests of our fussy preschooler beautifully.
Our boys loved the pool - even more than the beach.
We'd definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you walk in the atmosphere is great.My husband fell in love with the place ,we couldn't get over the amount of people in the pool with alcoholic drinks and around the pool .Staff friendly and helpful ,meals were very pricey but nice . Our room was lovely wouldn't say u could do a lot of cooking in it the kitchen not equipped for that (basics only) .Kids thought it was a wonderful place .All up I would highly recommend to any family .Recommend a hire car though.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.