We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of QT Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added QT Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   87-109 Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at QT Port Douglas in November and absolutely loved it. The service was great and the staff really seemed to enjoy working at the resort. The 1 bedroom apartment was impressive and spacious. We found the beds a little bit high for us but maybe that's because we're short people. We were very impressed with Bazaar restaurant. The dinner we had the first night there was excellent and the chefs were very professional and personable.
We had the salmon for our main course which was delicious and also enjoyed a tasting plate with beautifully cooked scallops and prawns. We had three breakfasts there also and found the service and standard of food very very good. Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear 449JanetM,

I just can't get over how many fabulous reviews we are receiving on here that are based on our staff. I know that they are wonderful, but what I can't believe is that so many people are taking the time to login and say thank you to them. It's so nice of you, and we really appreciate it.

Thanks also for your lovely notes about the hotel and Bazaar Marketplace. It's such a wonderful place to stay and we are really lucky that we have such awesome dining experiences there as well!

We would love to take care of you again.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    145
    59
    18
    4
See reviews for
102
205
19
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We spent 4 nights at QT in Port Douglas and didn't want to leave!
The breakfast buffet and also the dinner buffet are amazing. The chefs are always on hand to cook you something on request (at no extra charge) and there is a huge selection of freshly prepared food to suit all tastes. When dining in the evening we share the restaurant with a couple of green tree frogs!
The lagoon pool is the perfect temperature and we were happy to spend all afternoon in the pool indulging in at the swim up bar (with reasonable priced cocktails).
The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable although we wished we booked a suite instead of a just a room.
The staff are very friendly and happy and willing to help you with anything. We booked a reef tour through reception and the experience was totally pain free and the staff were able to provide us with lots of advice on what to see in the area.
We can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra a get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Nicola W,

That sounds like the perfect Port Douglas experience if you ask me! There is something to be said for having somewhere really lovely to relax and dine when you are between trips to the rainforest and the reef.

We are getting such awesome reviews on here for our Bazaar Marketplace and the level of service that our talented chefs are presenting to our guests. It's so great to hear.

Hopefully you can make it back to us soon for some more r&r poolside!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed at Qt Port Douglas In June for 5 nights & absolutely loved it. We are going back with our sons next September for 14 nights so we can enjoy this beautiful resort for even longer. From the friendly staff to the amazing food to the beautiful day beds around the pool to the quirkiness & fun vibe of the resort it really is amazing. I also stayed at the Qt Gold coast in October & it is just as amazing. Check out the Qt resorts you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Stacky255100,

Yay! You've been to both of our resort properties and you loved them both! Sound like you are a true QT convert. Thank you so much for letting us know, and we appreciate your lovely review.

It's really exciting that you will be back in September. Please shoot me through an email so we can make sure to pimp your ride when you are with us again. sas_rowlands@qthotels.com.au.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

From our arrival at the lobby I knew it was going to be a good place to spend the weekend. The staff (although dressed a bit quirky) were so welcoming and down to earth. The modern decor hit a note that most local resorts are missing, un-prestigious yet uniquely and interesting.
The rooms were nicely fitted out with all the usual trimmings. The bathroom was a fraction tight with the way the door opened up however this was the only detail I could flaw.
The bar served a really mean coconut colada (my partners drink) and had a classic Mojito which was right on the money. Within moments of getting the drinks in the lovely outdoor lounge setting, glasses of water were delivered too, a great service standard in the hot tropics...
We went out for dinner as it was my partners birthday and the restaurant was apparently quite busy so we missed out on this experience however breakfast was fantastic. The layout was just right and the range of product was fresh and easy to access. I cant say enough about the service staff. Everyone seemed to really being enjoying themselves whilst maintaining a professional outlook and they were all accommodating to any request.
I am looking forward to taking my 2 year old here for my next visit as he would just love the layout of the pools and the open spaces.
10 out of 10 for this property. Well done guys.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Islandtango,

What an absolutely delightful review. Thank you so much! It's fantastic that not only did you enjoy your stay with your partner on a romantic getaway, but that you also feel like it will be a great family vacation.

Sounds to me like we are really mixing some mean cocktails in the bar (which is no surprise!) and I'm doubly delighted that we are keeping everyone hydrated while they are getting sozzled with some much needed ice water! Way to go team.

We would love to take care of your little family and I hope that you enjoy us just as much the second time around.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

As locals we love nothing better to go and dine at QT the food is just Devine words carnt say how fabulous this place is have heard yummy stories bout breakfast 2 and on the weekend what better than taking the kids for a swim and yummy lunch while mum n dad enjoy the pool bar and cocktails. QT is the new hip place in port for all we carnt get enough looking forward to the NY party for sure.
The rooms are so fresh and Retro loving the new style and so did our friends on their visit home they did not want to leave back to Brissy to ( not that I could blame them lol)

This place is the PLACE to be Love It ;)

Room Tip: Any room their all fresh crisp Fab,,, maby by the pool that's the spot to be for the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Walshy69,

Wohoooo! Locals love for QT from the folks in PD! Such a true reflection of a place when locals love it I think.

We want nothing more to be full to the brim with happy locals this New Years Eve so it is great to hear that you are going to be joining us.

Yay!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. During our trip to Australia we stayed in some classic five star hotels with every convenience and the most highly trained staff offering impeccable service. However, the QT offers something a little different - Still the same great levels of service with a 'nothing too much trouble' attitude but with personality. Every member of staff from the receptionist to the maintenance guy to the chefs were just thoroughly interesting and engaging people that you would happily have a night out with.

A small example of service: The weather was a little wet one day so we asked for a cab to take us to one of the local attractions (Breakfast with the birds at the Wildlife Habitat - a must) but there was going to be a short delay so the lady on reception asked a member of staff to run us down in their newly restored Mini Moke - My daughter loved it !!

Some reviews have commented that the hotel is a distance from central Port Douglas - I don't really understand this as it is a pleasant 25 minute walk or should you prefer there is a regular shuttle service or you can even walk to the center of town along the beach. Also, once you have eaten at the hotel you won’t want to go into Port Douglas to eat anyway!

The Restaurant (Bazzar) is truly a new type of dining experience. It is described as an interactive buffet. Forget 'buffet' - this is more like how Ramsay would prepare a spread for his friends at his own child's christening. A great and varied selection of freshly prepared dishes ranging from fresh seafood, pizza, curry, various hot meats, pasta dishes, fresh vegetables, sampler plates etc. I should emphasise that these are all beautifully prepared daily by the chefs who will also happily prepare other dishes such as steaks, pasta variants, grilled fish etc exactly how you like them (the interactive part). We loved it so much that we chose to eat here for seven nights straight and didn't begin to get bored with the selection. Huge thanks to the chefs Brad and Alex who are clearly so passionate about their food! Breakfast was fantastic too!

The hotel is recently renovated and is obviously in good order throughout. Most of the rooms are spacious and very well appointed - We had a two bedroom apartment which was essentially two adjoining rooms. One room had a large separate living area whilst the other was a smaller classic hotel room layout. Together they combined to be a large apartment but it is clear that some one bedroom 'apartments' without the extra living space might border on being a little cramped. The finish is contemporary and the rooms are 'uncluttered' although I would comment with relatively low cost fixtures and fittings. All rooms only have wired internet access (no wireless) so tablets can't be used and if like me you have a macbook air with no Ethernet port then make sure you bring an adapter. Other comments on the rooms are that the air conditioning is excellent throughout (very welcome) and also to be aware that for some reason the bathrooms have a slightly raised tiled floor with no door threshold - This meant that we were constantly stubbing our toes throughout our stay - me more than my wife or daughter so at least this served as additional in-room entertainment for them.

Originally I thought that it would be quite a while before making another trip from England to Australia but I think my plans will change as I really can't wait to go back to the QT !

Room Tip: The Garden view rooms are very nice - more private and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear rsturdy67,

A shout out all the way from London! Thanks for taking the time to let us know that you loved you stay and that the hotel and its staff made such a wonderful impression on you.

It's such a comprehensive review that I won't run through the lot here, but I will make sure that all of the staff hear all of your wonderful praise for each of their departments.

Thanks so much again,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at QT as part of our wedding anniversary trip. We booked through wotif and got a good deal in a king bed room with buffet breakfast daily.

Pros:
-breakfast is amazing, huge buffet complete with freshly made juice shots and smoothies, made to order omlettes or pancakes etc
-dinner at bazaar. $65 pp well spent, seafood, gorgeous salads, paella, cheese platter, desserts, made to order wood fired pizza...the list goes on! You will not be leaving this place hungry....ever!!
-pool, very warm and clean. Pool bar sporadically tended but there weren't
Many people staying at the time. We ordered the strawberry and lime punch jug that seemed to last hours and was good value at $35! Definately but a jug!
-parking, close to our room and pretty secure
-overall very clean resort
-service - nothing short of friendly and professional, very smiley and helpful from the moment you arrive

Cons:
-our room was Pretty small, made opening 2 cases to organize clothes etc very hard, no where for luggage, but it was clean and fresh
-dress code, although a great way to keep the place looking upmarket and neat, it wasn't well observed, on our first morning to breakfast their were those who obviously didn't read the "no singlet or sleeveless tips for men" in the restaurant, and women who read "dress to impress" a little top much with one girl in a full on cocktail dress at breakfast! Restaurant looked like a mish mash!! Just got neat casual, we did, hubby avoided the singlets!

All in all a good stay at QT, we last stayed at the sea temple, which had a more impressive pool, but service was rubbish. QT service and food make it a great place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear MrsCTas,

Sounds like one very satisfied customer! Thanks for giving us a full run through on your experience while you stayed with us. Wedding anniversaries are such happy occasions and we are delighted to have been a part of yours.

Thanks for the run throughs on your pros and cons as well. We really appreciate the effort to both congratulate us on our wins, and also to help us improve!

Have a beautiful next year to come and we hope to host you for your next anniversary!

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#19 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage QT Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.