We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family resort with a few let downs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pool Resort Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Pool Resort Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pool Resort Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 - 37 St Crispins Ave, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent family resort with a few let downs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the pool resort for five nights and upon arrival the staff member at the counter was extremely helpful and very friendly, great first impressions! We have a seven month old baby so the swim-up apartment was perfect for us, we could go for a swim and our baby could sleep/play and we could keep an eye on her, just what we needed! The apartment itself was a decent size and it had most the things you'd need for self catering, the furnishings were of a good standard as well!

There were however a few minor areas of detail that if they were fixed would make the pool resort one of the best resorts we've stayed at!

The first moan is the general cleanliness of our apartment, the floors were dirty, there was dust all over the place, the bathroom looked like it needed a good scrub with some bleach and the outside area was full of dried up bird poo, not nice!

The second gripe was the lack of certain things in the apartment, such as decent sized frying pan (we had to buy one as the one provided could just about fit a fried egg in it). There was no hair dryer, no tumble dryer and a clothes rack that would only hold four towels so we couldn't get everything dry! A much larger clothes rack would of been perfect and the mop was in desperate need of a new sponge!

Our final issue was the privacy, there wasn't any from the neighboring apartments. The slatted wood fencing would be much better being a closed off fence, it feels like everyone can see what everyone's doing and saying.

This isn't a bad review about the resort, we had a fantastic time and we would definitely go back as we'll as recommend it to friends and readers of this review. If the owners do read this then it's just a few things that we think would make it that little bit better!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    60
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
80
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a beautiful resort! I was shocked with some of the reviews saying that the pool was the only highlight. The apartments are beautiful and modern and the furniture does not look cheap at all. In fact I was highly impressed with it, some extra touches were the pebble rock water feature underneath the floating staircase and the amazing master bedroom & bathroom. The concept of a swim out pool is very clever and lying by the pool on the jetty deck leading from the room is so nice. I didn't find it to be particularly noisy as people were mostly lounging by the pool.
Overall a very minimalistic and luxurious resort

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a swim up but all rooms looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Couldn't have asked for more from the Pool Resort. Friendly, helpful staff, amazing pool and our 3 bedroom apartment was spacious, modern and well equipped. A bit out of town, but if you've hired a car this will pose no problems. Stayed with a group of friends but would definitely bring the family.

Room Tip: Had the Uber plunge pool but didn't use it - used the pool instead. Would book a swim-up room ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The 185m pool is fantastic, and really the main reason for visiting. We were quite disapointed with the size of the apartment, the living space is very limited, although we spent most of the time on the deck. Limited kitchen space also. Quite far from the township of Port Douglas, but we knew the area well so were expecting this. Just a 10 min walk to the beach. Service was average. Close to several golf courses.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Having checked into our room I was absolutely pleased that we were offered an upgrade. The service staff are amazing and the resort beautiful. Great pool and very nice apartment. Will enjoy the next two days. Also great prices on the rooms in comparison to others in Port Douglas. Thank you to management. Grace

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was a fabulous resort. It's very modern, minimal design is very appealing and gives it character. The actual pool was great as we could just jump into the pool from our balcony! I would definitely stay there again and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Even though all rooms have the same style go for the swim up room - that way the pool is right in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The swimming pool at The Pool Resort is definately the strong point of this property. We stayed there last week with our baby and friends (another couple), but we all agreed we wouldn't go back.

Positives:
The pool is very good. As per the pics on this site, it's HUGE! It was also warm and we thoroughly enjoyed using it after long days sight seeing in the sun. The underground car park is convenient and the site is generally clean / well kept.

We had a 3 bedroom suite (more of that later...) on the back of the property overlooking the mountains. It was a great outlook and while it wasn't a swim up room, the pool was right outside the front door, so no worries there.

The kitchen was well equipped and I'd expect it would cater for anyone's holiday needs.

The main bathroom in our suite was spacious and the patio doors on the back of the shower (opening into the enclosed courtyard) was a funky touch.

Now the negatives.....
We were travelling as 2 couples and a baby. We asked for 2 rooms, one of which with a travel cot. We were told cots weren't available, but we could have a 3rd bedroom for the baby. Not appropriate for a 24mth old!! However, upon arrival, there was a folded up travel cot in the hallway. It was a real squeeze to fit it in our bedroom (we had to push the bed upto the window) and once errected left us with 6inches of space on one side and about 18inches on the other (wall sockets stopped us moving it any further). At the foot of the bed there was a small wardrobe, but when you opened the doors, they almost touched the bed, so access real pain. The 2 non en-suite rooms in our appartment were the same - cramped.

Our friends had the en-suite room but had the same complaints regarding a general lack of space. They had a TV in their wardrobe, but watching it mean closing the doors to walk around the bed! Worse still was the loaction of the toilet in the open plan bedroom / en-suite.... they had to keep the bedroom blinds down to avoid people walking past the window seeing in!!!

Ah, the bedroom blinds.... they're utterly useless and block no light whatsoever. If you're easily disturbed by light in the morning, make sure you take an eye mask as the blinds don't block any light at all.

I think the issue with the bedrooms is the layout and the mock private courtyard / water feature arrangement our appartment had. It squashed up all the bedrooms, but added no value to the say. At the end of the mock courtyard was a small private plunge pool, which was murky and cold due to being completely enclosed and getting little to no direct sunlight. Pointless.

The living room area was big, but the furnishings were cheap and sparse. The tiny TV mounted high up on the big wall was particularly annoying and with only one sofa and 2 utterly horrible, cheap chairs to sit on, there wasn't enough comfortable seating for the 4 adults.... it'd be really annoying if you had 6 adults in the 3 bedrooms.

Our patio had a bit of an ant infestation. When I reported this to the front desk on our way out for the day, the receptionist gave me a dirty look and a can of Raid!! When I suggested that as the guest this wasn't really my department, she huffed and said she'd sort it (she did). Not the sort of attitude I expect when finding an insect infestation in a hotel.

In 4 days at the hotel, our room wasn't cleaned once, which was a surprise.... apparently this is policy. Odd.

Oh and if you want a pool towel, you have to pay for it.... we just took the bathroom towels out there.

The hotel is miles from the town and there's nothing to do within walking distance. You need a car or lots of taxis. We knew this but were seduced by the pool when booking.... as we had a hire car, the location wasn't an issue for us, but it might be for others.

Finally and WORST OF ALL, upon check out they charged us $30 for use of the travel cot!!! After telling us they didn't have any and making us pay an extra $250 for an extra bedroom we neither wanted or used, they gave us the cot we asked for in the first place and charged us more money!! I've never been charged for a travel cot in all the hotels we've visited with the baby (about 10-12 in the last 2yrs.... we travel a fair bit), let alone charged for the cot AND another room, OUTRAGOUS. We're currently trying to pursue the hotel for a refund, but they don't seem to care.

Unfortunately the good pool isn't enough to redeem this hotel. The service is terrible, we feel genuinely ripped off and the management team aren't bothered. The layout / cheap furnishings let the rooms down quite a lot, as did the ant infestation. Unless other rooms are significantly better than ours and we were just unlucky, none of our group would recommend this hotel, at this price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pool Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pool Resort Port Douglas

Address: 19 - 37 St Crispins Ave, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pool Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pool Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pool Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Pool Hotel Port Douglas
Pool Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pool Resort Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.