We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B - Our Best stay in Australia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Douglas B&B Four Mile Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Douglas B&B Four Mile Beach
Save Saved
You added Port Douglas B&B Four Mile Beach to your Saves list
59 Reef St | Four Mile Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Port Douglas B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B - Our Best stay in Australia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for three nights during the November Total Eclipse. My first contact with this b&B was by email a couple of years before. The owners Colin and Freida couldn't have been more helpful. They regularly kept us updated on all the things what were happening around Port Douglas and advised that we book trips earlier than normal because of the huge influx of people there for the eclipse. They even emailed us a few days before our stay to advise us that if we wanted to eat out places were booking up (Something we'd not considered) and they booked us a table at the nearby "Beach Shack" restaurant. (Excellent food BTW).

As we had booked both rooms, we had the place to ourselves and it quickly became a peaceful oasis. The pool was a welcome relief from the heat. Colin provided my 7 year old daughter with a "Woggle" float (A long thin foam tube) and she was happy swimming by herself in the pool.

The rooms were of a decent size, both with ceiling fans and air-conditioning. Tea & coffee making facilities, a fridge, plenty of hanging space for clothes and a decent sized bed. Each had an fair sized on-suite bathroom. One with a bath (with shower) and the other a shower only.

Breakfast was delightful, with a wide choice of fruits available, as well as toast and cereal.

Freida and Colin made sure that they were there to help if we ever needed anything (They kindly allowed us use of their washing machine - we went out for a walk whilst it was washing and came back to find our washing had already been hung out of the washing line by Freida!), but also allowed us to enjoy the entire downstairs of their house by ourselves.

This is not a hotel, this is someone's home. Standards of cleanliness are therefore not 5 star - however we found everywhere neat, clean & tidy. Parking is directly outside on the road, but it is a quiet residential street. There was the occasional noise from passing cars and the neighbours (like we would have back home sometimes), however it was not distracting at all and it quickly became quiet again.

On the day of the eclipse we found our hosts had provided free eclipse viewing glasses for us. We all got up early and met Frieda and Colin on the nearby Four Mile Beach, just a 2 minute walk away. They had brought additional seats for us all as well as coffee and tea, something we weren't expecting, making it a truly special morning.

In conclusion, We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B, and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
34
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stay for three days in August. I really enjoyed this bed and breakfast. The breakfast was outstanding. Great coffee, fresh fruit of many kinds, breads, cheese, and Museli. The gardens were well done. The bed was comfortable and the rooms clean.

Frieda was very helpful to provide information in the area. Maps, coupons, and brouchers.

One day we travelled up to Cape tribulation and took several of the boardwalks. We saw many different things there. Snakes, birds, Iguanas.

Second day traveled to Mosman gorge and saw amazing trees and plant life.

The B & B is a 1-2 miles from the main restaurant area in port douglas. We drove down and found no problems with parking. There is a restaurant called the beach shack. The curry was really good. Prices are a little high but I think the food was good enough to justify it. My wife got the prawns (appitizer) for her meal and it was big enough to satisfy.

The beach is across the street and a short walk throught the forest. It is a packed sand. We should have spend more time there but wanted to see other areas first and ran out of time.

The only issue I had was finding it. I should have asked for directions before coming. I did a google maps directions from Bruce hwy and somehow got mixed up. I ended up going downtown and getting a map so I could find the street. I should have asked for more details in advance.

On the way to Cairns airport we had a late afternoon depature. We took the road through Atherton table lands as suggested by Frieda. It nice seeing a differnt road. We saw Termite homes, Fruit farms, Stopped in coffee works in Mareeba and visited Kurunda to see the falls and buy some souveners. It took about 5 hours with the stops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband, daughter and I had a fabulous experience at Freida's & Colin's B&B in Port Douglas! They were delightful hosts and have a wonderful place -an absolute oasis! The breakfasts were unbelievable and just amazing! The tranquil setting and close proximity to the fantastic ''4 mile beach' also helped make this our best vacation yet! Thanks so much, Freida and Colin for your warm hospitality and help!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed for a wonderful 5 nights and echo all the previous positive comments. Excellent value for money,.A very warm thank you to Frieda and Colin for their excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friedaPortDouglas, Owner at Port Douglas B&B Four Mile Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your generous review and kind words,
It was lovely to have you as guests.
Wish you many happy and healthy travels,

Frieda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

When you discover the perfect B&B, you know it. As frequent guests at B&Bs around the world we have learned to be excited yet cautious whenever we try someplace new. After spending three delightful days with Colin and Frieda we can truly say that their B&B ranks among the best.

Located in a quiet neighborhood a short path away from incredible Four Mile Beach the rooms are comfortable and spacious opening to an enchanting saltwater pool surrounded by a colourful collection of tropical plants and whimsical figurines. Breakfast is served poolside and includes generous servings of fresh local fruit, homemade yoghurt, and eggs fresh from the henhouse. An unexpected treat was the "Beach Shack" just a 5 minute walk away. With sand on the floors and singer on Friday & Sunday, the quality of the food was truly beyond what we first expected, and the staft was delightful.

Colin and Frieda couldn't have been more helpful in helping us sort out day trip options and finding superb guides for diving and rainforest tours. A bus runs every 20 min into town, where they also found us memorable restaurants and fun spots for a drink. We're already planning our return with one difference - - - staying longer!! If you're B&B aficionados, don't miss this one!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Good location, friendly service. A high end in terms of price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

As we drive through town and see the parking lots of the big resorts, our choice to stay at this lovely B&B is reinforced. It’s very peaceful here amongst the palms and bamboo. Every morning we sit by the pool and we are presented with a platter of exotic fruits, as well as eggs, avocado, brie, toast and good plunger coffee. Sometimes we are presented with extra treats, like this morning’s mango lassi. In the evenings we sit and read books from the shelves here and drink wine while the gecko’s skitter and chirp, the catbirds meow (it’s true) and candles burn throughout the courtyard. It is almost June, and the nights are warm, I type this review in a singlet.

Our hosts, Frieda & Colin, are what make this place more than a tourist destination. They are unobtrusive, thoughtful and kind. Last night Colin appeared, presented me with a coffee liqueur and a wry smile, then disappeared as quietly as he had come.

I am a wheelchair user, and this property has been ideal. Frieda & Colin have put a lot of thought into activities in the local region that would work for me, and I’ve been following their advice. My partner is a kite surfer, we are just metres from the south end of Four Mile Beach, one of the best kite surfing destinations in the world.

This review may sound too good to be true – feel free to read my other reviews, they don’t all glow like this one.

After a few days here we extended our stay. We intend to return next year and perhaps this will become a yearly event.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Douglas B&B Four Mile Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas B&B Four Mile Beach

Address: 59 Reef St | Four Mile Beach, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and peaceful B&B right in Port Douglas. A minute's walk to the beach, two minutes' walk to the very nice restaurants, bistro and bus services. Every morning a lovely tropical breakfast outside, open air living! Saltwater swimming pool. Separate guest wing with only two rooms, each with their own bathroom, fridge, air conditioning and queen size bed. Breezeway, courtyard and garden with lots of bamboo, bougainvillea , local plants, birds and butterflies. Local knowledge, we are happy to help you find the tours and trips that suit you best. Rates include breakfast, wifi ; use of the washing machine, towels for the beach or the reef. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Douglas B&B Four Mile Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.