We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Thrilled” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flames of the Forest

Flames of the Forest
Mowbray River Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 3144
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$147*
and up
Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Flames of the Forest transports you into a world beyond your imagination so relaxing and uplifting you will never want to leave. A completely intimate, natural experience set within the candle lit rainforest under a black silk canopy highlighted by crystal and budlight chandeliers, Flames of the Forest will create an unforgettable memory at an extraordinary venue. Tuesday and Thursday nights feature two local Aboriginal brothers sharing their remarkable culture with you during the evening. The performance features a cultural background, story telling, didgeridoo playing and song. The rainforest is the natural, authentic backdrop for this spiritual and mystical culture, a performance unique to Flames of the Forest, where you will learn about their timeless oral traditions. Saturday night is for the romantic at heart in this magical place. This intimate evening features a six course tropical tasting menu and quality Australian wines whilst being serenaded by our solo acoustic guitarist. Perfect for honeymooners, small wedding receptions and those seeking a unique dining experience, Flames of the Forest is truly food for the soul.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Thrilled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

When planning our recent vacation my husband & I booked the Saturday "romantic dining experience" with Flames of the Forest, our "romantic dining experience" was also shared with a 40+ person company Christmas party. The shuttle ride back to our resort was basically a door-to-door drunk drop-off for all the local residents that were there for the Christmas party, there were about 3 couples that were there from resorts and we got dropped off almost last.

I'm an extremely easy going person, had we been given the option to cancel and not share this experience with a corporate party we would gladly have canceled and gone elsewhere. On the plus side the staff was very friendly, the food was good, the decor was beautiful, and the fruit bats flying around off in the distance were a sight to be seen.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear elektr0de,

We are delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere at Flames - the wildlife performances can certainly be quite a spectacle for visitors!

Although group bookings on Saturday nights are not common during the year, we do see some during the Christmas period and we do try to advise our other guests to give them the option of changing evenings. On this occasion this has not happened however, and it is a shame the group over shadowed your night.

It is great to read you enjoyed the food and service by our amazing staff and thank you for your comments which have been taken on board regarding future group bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    40
    16
    9
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A honeymoon highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I went to Port Douglas for our honeymoon and I surprised him with a night out at Flames of the Forest. It was the most amazing night. The food was excellent (especially the crab tortellini) ,the staff were very friendly and efficient and the musician was so talented. The setting is beautiful and was very romantic. If you are planning on spending your honeymoon at Port Douglas then Flames of the Forest is a must. It is quite expensive but definitely definitely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Clare S,

Congratulations! Delighted you chose Port Douglas for your honeymoon and Flames for a special dinner. Seems the romance carried right through your trip!

Thank you for your lovely review - Stu will be delighted you enjoyed his music!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A true 5-star experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Brilliant from the get-go. Stunning food, gorgeous wine and the most beautiful ambience. Cannot recommend highly enough. As a young couple on holiday, this dinner was our absolute highlight. Delicious food and great company. Worth every cent.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Hanner303,

How wonderful you had such an amazing evening! Thank you for the great feedback, our staff really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Fantastic setting with amazing food. The story telling was very interesting and the information about the musical instruments from how they were made to the purpose of them. Torrential rain at the beginning disrupted the flow a little as the welcoming drinks and snacks couldn't be done outside as the people arrived. Mixed tables was very enjoyable and gave chance to meet new people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Highland81,

Rain rain!!! Glad to hear the rain did not disrupt your evening too much and that you enjoyed the food and company. We have recently included the history of indigenous instruments so are delighted to hear you enjoyed this new aspect of the evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, cut corners on the performance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had initially booked for a Tuesday evening performance, but then were notified that the bookings were low and we could either reschedule for that Thursday or get a refund (I think it's the beginning of the slow season in Port Douglas). We opted to rescheduled and despite the rain, the show still took place. The venue was beautiful, tucked into the middle of the rainforest.

Our shuttle ride over to the event had some guests aboard that were already drunk and belligerent. They even had the shuttle stop twice to use the bathroom - one time being on the side of the road! They were loud, disrespectful, and even smoking pot at the venue itself. Nothing was done to quiet them down and to have them behave in an orderly manner. You could tell the waitstaff was treading cautiously as they didn't know what to do with them as was the shuttle driver.

We were aware that there was group seating and had no problems with that. The food was good - there were many options, but mainly all meat! It would have been nice to have a side dish or two to balance the amount of meat/seafood.

The reason we even booked this event, was to be able to experience the Aboriginal culture in an authentic way, as it was advertised. So we dealt with the rainy weather, the crazy patrons on the shuttle and the slow start to the evening. BUT..... we were disappointed with how short the actual performance(s) were. I know in previous responses to reviews, they claim the performance time equaled about an hour, but that was definitely not the case. It was a few minutes here and there, and then at the end - a total of 10 minutes - with a total performance time of MAYBE 30 minutes. At the beginning, one of the brothers did a very short and brief introduction, leading you to believe there was to be great expectations for the rest of the evening. The whole evening, they built it up that the show was coming at the end, stay tuned, it'll be a great experience, etc etc - so when it finally happened, it ended before it barely began! I believe the two brothers took more time taking pictures with guests than they actually did performing.

For $212/person - you didn't get what you paid for. It would be more appropriately priced at $100/person, if the show remains the same. The marketing on the site as well as their brochures all give the impression that you are getting a full cultural experience, but I think I experienced more of their culture by just reading the content on their website! If I could do it again, I would have opted to spend those 4 hours differently on the limited vacation time we had left.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Circa2004,

Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback regarding your evening at Flames of the Forest. We are delighted you enjoyed our beautiful venue and the extensive menu despite Mother Nature turning on a bit of rain for the forest! It is indeed our quiet time in Port Douglas at the moment and we appreciate your flexibility in changing nights.

The past few weeks have seen us working with our indigenous partners to increase the content of the show in light of recent reviews. It is wonderful that guests are so interested in the history, stories and music of our ancient culture and we are working to make this content more of a feature for guests to take away with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flames of the Forest also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Flames of the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flames of the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.