We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, loved it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flames of the Forest

Flames of the Forest
Mowbray River Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 3144
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$147*
and up
Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Flames of the Forest transports you into a world beyond your imagination so relaxing and uplifting you will never want to leave. A completely intimate, natural experience set within the candle lit rainforest under a black silk canopy highlighted by crystal and budlight chandeliers, Flames of the Forest will create an unforgettable memory at an extraordinary venue. Tuesday and Thursday nights feature two local Aboriginal brothers sharing their remarkable culture with you during the evening. The performance features a cultural background, story telling, didgeridoo playing and song. The rainforest is the natural, authentic backdrop for this spiritual and mystical culture, a performance unique to Flames of the Forest, where you will learn about their timeless oral traditions. Saturday night is for the romantic at heart in this magical place. This intimate evening features a six course tropical tasting menu and quality Australian wines whilst being serenaded by our solo acoustic guitarist. Perfect for honeymooners, small wedding receptions and those seeking a unique dining experience, Flames of the Forest is truly food for the soul.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant, loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This experience is unique, beautifully executed and we wouldnt change a single thing about it. The food is Far North Queensland served up with imagination!! The wine is free flowing and the choices had us all very content (and extremely relaxed by nights end)!!!
We thoroughly enjoyed the story telling during the evening........tasteful......insightful!
I wont go into much detail as I think the best way is to just go and soak it all up without pre-conceived ideas or expectation. Thank you to all concerned!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Lee001Melb,

It's fun to keep it a bit of a secret isn't it?! We love to surprise our guests so delighted you enjoyed the special journey - thank you for providing such lovely feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    40
    16
    9
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What an amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We had booked for the Sunday night intimate dinning experience but circumstances changed and were booked into the Tuesday night with the Aboriginal cultural experience. Although both my partner and I weren't too sure of the entertainment part of the night, we were pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed that part of the night. The food was beautiful, the wine constantly flowing, staff were very friendly and the table of guests we sat with fantastic. The location was truly amazing and I would most definitely recommend this experience to anyone. We will be returning next year. Thanks for a wonderful evening...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Kimmiemajer,

Fantastic to hear you enjoyed the alternate experience to Rainforest Dining. The Cultural evening is lovely and I do enjoy meeting other travellers on the night! We will also pass on your comments to our staff - many of them have been with us since the beginning some ten years ago and it is always lovely to hear they make our guests' evening so wonderful.

We are delighted to hear you will be returning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Aboriginal Cultural Experience at Flames of the Forest was our "splurge dinner" on our family's visit to FNQ this summer. It was money well spent, as we have some special lasting memories to take away with us.
The transportation was nice; it lent an air of mystery and adventure to the experience. We arrived to a beautiful, natural setting, our path lit by flaming torches and beautiful free-form candelabra under a star-strewn sky.
There was a very brief awkward moment when we, as strangers, all looked at one another and wondered where to go from here-- and then the champagne flowed and delicious hors d'oeuvres were served (oh, so good!) and before long we were sitting at long tables and chatting like friends. We were the only US Americans at the table, and it was enjoyable getting some local (or reasonably local) perspective on a number of topics. I have to say the interesting conversation added immensely to the whole experience.
The open tent was nice, leaving us in touch with the surrounding sights and sounds. The lighting was good-- bright enough to see our food, but still soft and subtle. The seating was comfortable, with plenty of elbow room.
The food was just amazing-- delicious, fresh, well-prepared! The variety was excellent, and the portions available were bountiful. I had to pace myself and only try a little of each course, because there was so much excellent food in wave after wave! There were plenty of greens and fruits to balance the meat. We prefer beef cooked medium rare, and were able to find both beef and kangaroo cooked just right. I might add that despite Americans' reputation, our family is not comprised of fast-food fans. We come from a rural area where very fresh, organic food is readily available (at least during the growing season), so we do have some perspective.
The wine was excellent, and our glasses never ran dry. (There were soft drinks for our teen aged daughter.) Fortunately dessert was a light (and delicious!) pavlova, so we were able to make room.
The Aboriginal performance was interesting, and I liked the fact that the performers wrote their own script, sharing their culture in the way they chose. The didgeridoo music was quite impressive and the storytelling gave us a little glimpse into the history of the culture. In the beautiful rainforest setting, it was all quite magical.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear ooojen,

What an amazing review! Thank you! It is wonderful for us to read such great detail about your experience and how you found everything to be for your splurge.

Also delighted you enjoyed meeting new people on the night - it's one of my favourite things too - always interesting and makes for a fun evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
“Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We recently had our wedding at flames of the forest and it was perfect! Many people commented it was 'the best wedding' they had been to. We have the unique and beautiful venue to thank for that. From the flame throwers and bongo drummer, to the professional staff, the night was amazing. The champagne flowed and it felt like a never ending supply of delectable food. It truly was the ultimate wedding reception venue!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Natasha,

We are delighted you had such a fantastic and memorable wedding reception with us at Flames! Weddings are always such fun for the staff too. It is wonderful you will have such great memories of your special day - we hope to see you again for an anniversary celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“PUT THIS ON YOUR BUCKET LIST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I'd heard a lot about this experience and it certainly lived up to the excellent reviews received. No driving, so the excellent wines and beers can be fully enjoyed. The entertainment on the night we were there was just perfect - a single performer, Stuart, playing music at the perfect level (god he sounds like a young Cat Stevens! ) and covering a range from the '60s to the present. We had opted for the tropical experience (Saturday) but the indigenous experience (Tuesdays) looks good too. The staff are attentive, knowledgeable, and the chef is a gem. I had mentioned I was allergic to mushrooms when I booted ; not only was this noted but the chef also left truffle oil off my roo carparccio. That shows a knowledge and expertise in food I have seldom encountered. Tables are far enough apart for people to have private conversations. And not a place to take children: there is no child's menu and kids can't race around and disturb others. Anyone visiting Cairns or Port Douglas MUST try this. It is a unique and very very enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, General Manager at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear AshaCairns,

Thank you for such a lovely and detailed review of your evening!

Stu is our regular guitarist and is just lovely to work with - I was on site the night you were there and I too really enjoyed his performance. It is wonderful for us to have locals experience Flames as your word of mouth is one of our greatest tools, so thank you for choosing an evening close to home!

I have passed on your thanks to our Chef - he is extremely accommodating and always goes the extra mile to cater for those with intolerances - I myself am Gluten and Dairy free and it really does make such a difference when you are catered for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flames of the Forest also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Flames of the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flames of the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.