We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese in the Forest” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flames of the Forest

Flames of the Forest
Mowbray River Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
07 4099 5983
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$151*
and up
Cairns Flames of the Forest Dining Experience
Ranked #36 of 87 Activities in Port Douglas
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Light the flame of the forest...beneath the canopy of the oldest rainforest in the world...feel the wonder of this legendary place and explore the mysteries of time and culture in the spell binding candlelit drama that is the enchanted forest. Our cultural evening includes return transfers from Cairns and Port Douglas, champagne and canapés on arrival, Aboriginal cultural performance with didgeridoo and story telling, seven course banquet with quality Australian wines and beers.On Saturday nights, we let the rainforest work its magic on you combined with a six course menu of tropical and local exotic tastes with premium Australian wines and beers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheese in the Forest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The setting is beautiful, but the overall experience was very disappointing. While the management appeared to be trying hard, with not much more effort this could be a great dining experience. A few nights after going to the Forest Dining Experience we went to Nautilus in Port Douglas and had a truly first class dining experience amongst the rainforest (for less money).
On arrival we were greeted with a glass of cheap champagne and then seated at our rather oddly decorated table. The paper serviettes and tacky chandeliers set the scene. An OK musician crooned over the sparsely filled tables into the surrounding forest. The kangaroo carpaccio was drowned in a "balsamic glaze" so that it was difficult to taste anything of the kangaroo. We had to wait until after we had finished the first course to receive our first glass of wine (long after we had finished our champagne). The wines could have certainly been better for the price of the meal. The second course was a smoked crocodile rillette and spanner crab tortellini, which sounds fantastic. The waitress started to announce what was being served, but forgot what the food was half way through her spiel. She thought it might be fettucini? It was so bad it was funny. The crocodile was bland. which is probably good for crocodile, and the tortellinini was OK but certainly not great. The main courses were an extremely tasteless coral trout and a good beef cheek. The "black sappote pave" desert was like a stodgy chocolate brownie. We were hoping for a really special night out, and this certainly wasn't it. It was all so average and cheesy. There is a reason why this is listed under attractions and not restaurants. The frustrating thing about it all was that it wouldn't take much to make it so much better. Obviously from the reviews a lot of people have enjoyed the experience, but from our perspective if you want an excellent meal in a spectacular rainforest setting, go to Nautilus.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Director of Sales at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Richard C,

Dear Richard C,

Thank you for your candid comments regarding your experience at Flames - we will certainly ensure our new staff are fluent in the menu - we make them all try it first hand so they know exactly what everything is!

Our setting in the rainforest outside Port Douglas is indeed magical and different. We do list as an attraction as we are not a restaurant and do not promote ourselves as being one.

Nautilus is indeed a lovely restaurant in a beautiful garden in Port Douglas, however for those seeking an off the beaten track experience set in a true rainforest with a menu that is also little different, then Flames is it! This is how how we aim to market ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    40
    16
    9
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good experince - but a bit too touristy for our liking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The welcome drinks and canapés were great and set the scene for a good night. We enjoyed the format sharing a table of 10 with others we had not met. The food quality was the stand out of the experience.

Yes it is fun to eat in the bush, and the local traditional ow ners gave a good explanation of their history in the area, it justwent a bit too far with the dance routine and photo opportunity. I guess this appeals to international guests, but may be a bit much for some Australians.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Director of Sales at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear horsefish,

Thank you for your comprehensive review and kudos to our Chef for his high quality menu!

Your thoughts on the Indigenous performance are much appreciated. This component has only been changed in the past two months to include the dance aspect, so we will be reviewing this inclusion based on your thoughts over our two month refurbishment period as we have always offered a very traditional, spiritual and education Indigenous component and want to ensure this continues and does not become "touristy".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A fantastic night to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was a fantastic evening. We chose the Saturday evening for couples menu as it was our 29th wedding anniversary. A magical evening with an amazing Australian themed menu that we have never had before. I enjoyed the brilliant flow of food and wine served at the table. The entertainment was brilliant also. The atmosphere was very special for a special occasion. I thought long and hard about spending the money for this event but it was worth every cent. The only downside was that the evening had to end! The table service was the best. Even witnessed a wedding proposal which really topped the evening.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Director of Sales at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear penml,

What a lovely review! The magical nature of the forest has certainly made an impact on you which is wonderful - it obviously also inspired a proposal of marriage too! We are delighted you decided to join us and that your experience was everything you had hoped for - magical and romantic with a unique menu and great flow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An excellent night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Last night I had the pleasure of eating at the Flames of the Forest Dining Experience. Having visited many fine restaurants along the eastern coast of Australia, including Florentino's and Bob's Steak and Chop house in Melbourne this would have to be some of the best. Dave the chef served up Carppaccio of Kangaroo Loin, Smoked Crocodile rillette and Salsa Verde, Home Made Spanner Crab Tortellini, Pan seared Coral Trout in a lemon myrtle beurre blanc, Port braised beef cheek and completed with a Black sappote pave with and orange blossom cream.

The texture of the Crocodile was sensational and the Tortellini was as good as many Italian Chefs, for those venturing to the Far North of our country please check out Flames of the Forest for the ultimate memorable dining experience.

I forgot to mention the waiting staff, we couldn't fault the waiting staff for their professionalism and great service.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Director of Sales at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Dave N,

WOW! Thank you for your lovely review of your evening at Flames. I have passed on your comments to our Chef David who will be delighted to read you enjoyed his wonderful menu.

Our amazing staff have been with us for many, many years and we always get an abundance of positive comments on their level of professionalism and friendliness.

We hope to see you back with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A fantastic evening, great food and wonderful company. We had an amazing time, the story telling was wonderful and so was the aboriginal greeting, truly a wonderful experience that we would love to do again if we get to visit Cairns again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie J, Director of Sales at Flames of the Forest, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Jill S,

Delighted you enjoyed the Indigenous story telling - it is very beautiful and a wonderful way to learn about Aboriginal culture. We do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flames of the Forest also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Flames of the Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flames of the Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.