We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Relaxing Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Douglas Apartments

Save Saved
You added Port Douglas Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Douglas Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   63 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 487, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AUD196 (AUD)
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Relaxing Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have just returned home from a wonderful relaxing holiday at Pt Douglas Apartments. We were within walking distance to everything. The beautiful four mile beach is 2 minutes one way, Zinc restaurant is straight across the road with many more restaurants on the 5 minute walk to the Marina. We loved being so close to everything without any of the hustle and bustle.
Our Apartment was lovely and had everything in it we needed and the managers David and Karenne were fantastic. They were very friendly and helpful and made our stay at Pt Douglas very enjoyable. Our apartment was modern, well equipped and very clean. We had free Wi Fi in our room and Foxtel on our TV. There is a lovely BBQ area which we used often and a free laundry. We also enjoyed relaxing on our balcony when we weren’t off enjoying all that Port Douglas has to offer.
We will definitely being going back to stay at Port Douglas Apartments and are already planning our next trip up with our friends.
Thanks David and Karenne for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for you review.
We are glad you found our location to your liking and yes we are very spoilt with the options we have around us.
Karenne and I are still finding new things to see and do and we love passing on this information to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anglesea, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Cross the road and you are at the restaurants and shops. Beach one block away. Room was fine and better than the $250/night one we are in at Palm Cove now. Book well in advance. Karenne and Dave are the best hosts by far. They know the town and can recommend great things to do.

Room Tip: Book in advance for long stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I couldn't agree more with the longer stays or even if you want a selected room, the early you book the more likely you are to get what you want when you want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

First time visitors to FNQ...why did no one tell us about this fantastic holiday destination? We couldn't have chosen more perfect accommodation, close to beach, shops, restaurants etc, but more importantly we felt so welcome by the apartment managers Karenne and Dave. They made our holiday complete with advice on the best tours, restaurants and shopping. We felt very much at home, so much so, that we will not only be coming back soon, but we will be telling all our friends about this tightly kept secret.

The accommodation was ideal, fully equipped kitchen, modern facilities, quiet and comfortable. Everything you could desire whether you want an adventure holiday or just relax and rejuvenate. See you next year! Love Port Douglas Apartments!
This is going to be a regular destination for us in the future.

Room Tip: Second floor facing east for morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks guys Karenne and I are so happy you had such a great stay and that you Loved Port Douglas and FNQ we hope to see you both back here in the near future to explore and discover more of our piece of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Port Douglas Apartments for 10 Days. What a wonderful place to stay. Our apartment was spacious, modern and within walking distance to the shops and restaurants. The apartment had everything we needed, airconditioning, a kitchen, ironing facilities, hair dryer, a very comfortable lounge seat, a balcony with a table setting to have breakfast outside. There was also undercover off street parking if you have a car. Our hosts Karenne and David were the best hosts that guests could want. They loved a chat and were so informative about the local area and gave great advice about which tour companies to go with. At the end of our stay, we wished that we could have stayed longer. We loved Port Douglas and will definately stay at the Port Douglas Apartments on our next visit. Thank you Karenne and David for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hi Victor
Thanks for taking the time to write your review, it was our pleasure to have you both as guests and you are welcome back any time, good to see the stubbie holders found their rightful home.
Regards David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay. We stsy here every time we go to Port Douglad. Within walking distance to all restaurants and a block from the great 4 mile beach. Would totally reccomend these apartments quiet and very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Judy
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we will look forward to seeing you again next time your in Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Thank you, we had a great time. Port Douglas Apartments were well priced - value for money.
Great location, close to shops and restaurants near by on the main street - Macrossan Street. Our hosts David and Karen are absolutely fabulous - very knowledgeable and informative about Port Douglas and their surrounding areas. They will provide helpful recommendations on day trips and other activies around Port Douglas as well as making our bookings for our day trips.
No car - no problem, they'll organise transfers too...

Room Tip: No Fitness Centre but the pool was nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Owner at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks Robert it was our pleasure, good to see you are home safe and looking forward to seeing you here again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Teritory
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is our 3rd stay. The new managers (Dave & Karen) have really moved the apartments up a notch with improvements everywhere. They have a warm and friendly disposition and are helpful for advice on day trips and tours. The apartments are well laid out and are kept spotlessly clean. The location is right on the corner of Davidson & Macrossan st. and are so handy for the beach and walk into town and Zinc's is just across the road. You couldn't ask for anything more. We loved it so much we have booked for May this year. Who needs a car.

Room Tip: I think all rooms look alike and all have air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortDouglasDavid, Manager at Port Douglas Apartments, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are pleased to read that our complex met all of your holiday needs and yes, there is no need for a car - we are walking distance to everything Port Douglas has to offer.
Dave & Karenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Douglas Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Apartments

Address: 63 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 487, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Specialty lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Douglas Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quite end of Macrossan st with only 50m to 4 mile beach and 50m to some of Port's best shopping and restaurants, there should be no need to hire a car.Our rooms are modern with a full size kitchen, separate bedroom and ensuite style bathroom, each apartment has it's own private balcony or patio with garden or Macrossan street views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Port Douglas Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 16 Port Douglas Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Douglas Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.