We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fantastic value and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Terraces Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marina Terraces Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Marina Terraces Holiday Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 - 16 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Cairns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, fantastic value and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed for three nights with a friend for a girl's trip away - around my 15th stay in Port Douglas over the past 12 years. Arrived before my friend and was helped by Tim to carry everything up to the room. Very spacious and clean two bedroom with everything you could need for a short or long stay. Really good value for money for an apartment of its size so close to Macrossan Street and Four Mile Beach. We forgot to pack a few things and Tim and Michelle supplied these without hesitation. There's a library of DVDs and books to use, pool toys, beach towels and a great BBQ area. Tim and Michelle always had time for a chat and could always be found when we needed something or had a question. The only thing that could have made out stay even better was if there was an aircon in the second bedroom (the only room without) but Michelle advised that this was about to be done in the coming weeks as well as replacing the existing units. All in all, very good value for money, excellent location and lovely hosts. The personal service we received is what is sadly missing from so many of the larger hotels, particularly in Port Douglas these days. Will definitely come back on the next family holiday to Port or for another girl's weekend away.

Room Tip: Our room was #7 and had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    23
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at Marina Teraces with my family (partner + 2 kids aged 5 and 6) early Dec. 2012.

Tim and Michelle are great hosts! They lent us their car, picked us up when the shopping bags were too heavy to carry back! They were great with the kids: Tim opened 2 coconuts for them!

The location could not be better: walking distance to the beach and to the main street of Port Douglas.

I highly recommend Marina Terraces and would definitely go back there if I end up in Port Douglas!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you are planning a trip to Port Douglas, then staying near to Macrossan Street is essential if you want to be able to walk to everything. Tim & Michelle made us very welcome and they certainly seem to genuinely care that guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay; they are always ready to help and offer advice. These apartments are spacious and extremely good value - contact Tim directly for your booking. We will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Title pretty much sums it up. The management will literally go to the back and beyond out of their way to make sure you have a lovely stay. And they don't even need to do that as the rooms are large and spacious with every piece of living equipment you could think of. We gasped when we walked in because we just weren't expecting such an amazing apartment! It's a 5 minute walk to town, a 10 minute walk to the esplanade and 15/20 mins to the harbour. We couldn't have asked for me. Take our word for it, you want to stay here! If we could give it 6 stars we would!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

thanks Tim and Michelle for making us feel welcome during our 4 night stay at Marina Terraces. Tim for carrying our bags up the 3 flights of stairs and giving us a top floor apartment with its own roof top garden. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hubbie and I enjoyed our stay. Our apartment was nicely furnished, comfortable and quiet! Good value for money . Easy walking distance to shops, Inlet and beach and comfy bed!! Downside? ...vertical blinds in main bedroom & shower curtain could do with replacement but that is really only negative... as overall was an excellent place to stay. Pool area although out the front is private and nicely landscaped and very relaxing!! Tim and Michelle are lovely hosts and make you feel at home..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

These apartments are walking distance to main shops, restaurants & beach. Tim & Michelle are great hosts who have heaps of Nth Qld knowledge, so can assist with any info you need for your travels out and about and can book any day trips etc for you. The apartments are clean & tidy with everything you need for a few days or several weeks holiday and the Pool was in a great shady spot but with sunny patches for those that like to be in the sun :) Great holiday spot for Business, Couples, Family, Friends or Solo travellers.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2 b'rm on the ground floor, lots of space and shady outdoor area. Not sure wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#16 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#15 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#41 of 45 in Port Douglas
3.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#20 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dreamcatcher Apartments Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Terraces Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Terraces Holiday Apartments

Address: 14 - 16 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Terraces Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Marina Terraces Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Terraces Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.