We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Counting the sleeps til we return!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches

Save Saved
You added Beaches to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beaches
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Ivanhoe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Counting the sleeps til we return!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Perfect location. Perfect rooms. Perfect pool and gardens. Perfect weather. Perfect sunrises while breakfasting on the balcony. The biggest decision we had to make was whether to swim in the pool or swim in the ocean. The hardest part of staying at Beaches was leaving. We loved it so much we booked again before we left. Perfect place for young families. Easy walk to shops and far enough away to avoid the "busy" side of Port Douglas

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    23
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fitzroy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

A group of our family met in Port Douglas for Dad's 70th - step-brothers, daugthers, grandkids etc. we all stayed at Beaches and everyone loved it. The little kids loved the pool, the oldies loved the short walks to EVERYTHING, the parents loved the babysitting (!) and the singles were out every night and gourmet shopping every morning. Beaches rooms are spacious and very stylish (the gay couple adored the artwork!) and the view is superb. Not a single complaint

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

This hotel was perfect. It is directly across the street (The Esplanade) from the main beach that has a lifeguard and a stinger net. There is a small cafe that serves breakfest and lunch next to the complex.

We reserved our room on "Wotif" which was new to us and we got a good rate for this unit. It was much bigger than we needed with two full bedrooms and a full kitchen and a living room.

We stayed two nights and wished we had stayed three or four. The hotel is a few minutes walk to the near end of town and probably a 25 minute walk to the other end. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the shops and restaurants of Port Douglas.

The staff was very helpful but limited to daytime coverage (from early morning to early evening, I think). This was not a problem but I am noting this in case someone is expecting 24/7.

We loved this hotel and highly recommend it. The price could be an issue, especially during peak season.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocean grove
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

What a fabulous place! If we'd been any closer to the beach we would have had sandy feet! The experience of working and relaxing in Port Douglas was perfect because we were at Beaches - we were so close to everything; the room was huge, the furniture comfy and enormous dining tables inside and out on the balcony; the pool is just amazing and the views unbelievable. Absolutely the prime spot in Port. Love it!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

We had a beautiful, huge 2 bedroom, clean fully-equipped apartment with an ocean view (from 2nd floor). Very little property in Port Douglas actually has a view of the Pacific. It is only a blocks walk from the beginning of Macrossan Street. So the location is excellent too. We only paid $A200 per night which was excellent value. At the current price on Wotif of $A400 a night not so much so. We originally booked online in "Mowbray by the Sea" another of Latitude 16's many Port Douglas properties. But it was overbooked and so we were switched to this property instead. The main difference is this one is facing the ocean and "Mowbray by the Sea" is on the other side of the block one building from the ocean. One small niggle is that the only way to connect to the internet is through a dataport on the telephone. But my laptop (Macbook Pro) doesn't even have a traditional modem. We mainly wanted to get up to date detailed weather information to plan our trip to the reef. Instead we phoned the tour operator and asked their opinion... Though as the manager said: "there are several internet cafes in town".

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, victoria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We arrived late at night and our room key was safely held in the safe for our arrival. In the morning, what a beautiful view of the ocean and the magnificent beach.
We had a huge apartment, with extra towels for us to use at the pool. The staff were incredibly helpful and booked our tour to the reef and transport back to the airport when we were leaving.
Thank you Ruth and Johanna, we had a wonderful time.

  • Liked — so close to the beautiful beach
  • Disliked — we couldn't extend our stay
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

We stayed here for a week over new years and loved the property. A few good points of the property:

- We had a 2-bedroom which was huge (much more than we needed as a couple). The apartment was nicely decorated and had a big back patio overlooking the pool and the trees acrosss the road (not able to see the beach due to the trees on the beach blocking the view)

- Parking was not a problem, there was an underground garage that was never full

- They accomodated us when we had to check in late due to driving in from Airlie Beach

- It is only a 5 minute walk into town

We had no problems with the property and would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches

Address: 19-21 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaches 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.