We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches

Save Saved
You added Beaches to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Beaches
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
TOLGA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beaches is a great place for a holiday. The location is perfect, being across from the beach and its an easy walk to Macrossan Street. Our whole family enjoyed the pool and has a lovely outlook across to the beach. The rooms have everything you need and are nice and spacious. We prefer the ground floor rooms as you can just walk out to the pool. We have booked to go back next year we liked is so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were at first a bit surprised to see a small reception place, almost like a shop. However, later realized that this was their central control point of several of their properties. We were earlier reserved at terraces, but the staff was very nice ( Lesley), to offer us the lower floor at the Beaches Apartments. Direct access to pool, big rooms, nice dining kitchen and living room areas. We had an excellent stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Location is awesome. The Cafe next to the reception makes great breakfast and snacks and a fish restaurant right opposite is delicious food. Beach is across the street and is visible from upper floors. Macrossan Street is a short walk and is the main street. The only thing that was missed dearly in today's world of connectivity is - Internet. There is no internet in the apartments or terraces. That's pitiful. One has to walk with laptop ipad to the reception and take a chair outside to have access. Thats not comfortable. Hopefully this review will get to someone who can get the internet service installed. Over all - will certainly visit again and recommend to friends and family. Thanks very much - Lesley.

Room Tip: Ground level have direct access to the pool. Pool is very well maintained and very enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

One of the best points about Beaches is that the apartments are a great size,plenty of room especially in the living area. Personally I like being on the bottom level so that I have direct access to the pool, however if you prefer to look out to the ocean you maybe better on the upper levels.
Pool area works well and being across the road from the beach is great.
Close to shops and dinner if you prefer walking to driving.
Have to mention that the apartment was looking a bit tired. Will be nice when the new bathrooms are put in. No wifi can be an inconvenience.
However as mentioned by others this old not stop me staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Beaches is directly across from the beach and is a very short stroll to Macrossan Street shops.
We stayed in a ground floor unit. I would highly recommend these for families with kids and for the elderly. There are no lifts to 1st & 2nd Floors. Ground floor units have direct access to pool area. The inside of the unit was of a good quality and the beds comfortable. The patio area is large enought for a 6 seater outdoor setting and two sun lounges. The pool is adequate & looks smaller than how it feels when your in the water. The pool temperature was very very hot & at first it bothered me.....until i went to the beach for a swim and it was the same temperature!
I have stayed at many other places before in Port Douglas. When returning next time I will stay at Beaches again purely based on location & comfortable. It you are after the newer / glossier resorts with huge pools you need to stay further out of town towards Oaks Lagoons.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you're travelling with kids. No lifts to higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Beaches for a week during the Total eclipse of the sun event. The apartment was spacious, convenient location, and right across from the beach. We rented a car and bikes for the week. The inconvenience was no wifi. We had to go to an Internet cafe. If you run out of toilet paper there is an extra charge. No maid service, some staff minimally helpful, but not all. The furniture was dumpy. That said I would still recommend this Port Douglas location as the price point was reasonable unlike most other lodgings in the area. There is a lovely little cafe on location serving breakfast and lunch which was very convenient. If one however is expecting an all around good value for lodging, activities, and service, I would recommend visiting a different country altogether.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bateau Bay, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife & I stayed at Beaches for a week at the end of October for our 20th anniversary. It is at one of the best locations in Port Douglas, across the road from 4 mile beach at the flags, and is at the end of the main street, which means you can walk to all the shops etc. Beaches itself is excellent, a beautiful pool (very warm), great views, very helpful & friendly staff. I was told today by one of the owners that they will be getting new bathrooms followed be kitchen reno's. We would highly recommend Beaches for families or couples.
Paul & Jennie

Room Tip: Ground floor has direct access to the pool. 1st and 2nd floor have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Fantastic holiday, situated only about 30 metres from the sandy beach, and overlooking the ocean, One of the great places to stay in Port Douglas. Well equipped accommodation and helpful staff. A short easy walk into town

Room Tip: Choose an upper room for a better view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches

Also Known As:
Beaches Hotel
Beaches Port Douglas
Address: 19-21 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaches 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.