We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beaches

Save Saved
You added Beaches to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beaches
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19-21 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Holiday Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Fantastic holiday, situated only about 30 metres from the sandy beach, and overlooking the ocean, One of the great places to stay in Port Douglas. Well equipped accommodation and helpful staff. A short easy walk into town

Room Tip: Choose an upper room for a better view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    23
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was a great spot to stay. Nice and roomy apartment. Mostly loved the view from our balcony, the beach and the pool. It was a great location as we didn't need a car because we could walk to everything. Helpful staff that made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: A unit with beach views make it a special trip. Maybe downstairs if you have a pram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This is our 8th stay here. The location is one of the best in port Douglas which is one of the main reasons we stay here. Unfortunately the rooms are getting very tired and in desperate need of renovations.
Cleaning has also dropped below standard.
Pool could be cooler!!
We think that they are trying to cut costs but in the long run it will cost them more with lost business. Next year we may be looking elsewhere unless there is improvement.
Value for money is dropping.
Brian and Lisa

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We enjoyed a most comfortable and relaxing stay at Beaches Apartments and thought the management team provided outstanding customer service. We absolutely loved our room overlooking the pool and beach front, and particularly enjoyed the close proximity of the Beaches Cafe and the wonderful coffee they served.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

A great holiday for me is one with as little choice and as little hassle as possible. At Beaches my daily decisions were: breakfast in the room or at the cafe downstairs, go to the pool or the beach across the road, dinner across the road at the slsc or a short work into the heart or town. It was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmead, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great location, accommodation in very average condition, self contained kitchen left in poor condition with dirty crockery and utensils, leaky laundry in apartment constantl slip hazard. Basically the apartment needed some TLC considering the cost.
Pros : pool, outlook, proximity to main street, beach across road, off street parking, reasonably quiet.

Room Tip: If you don't need luxury then perfect apartment for coastal stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from Port Douglas after a two week stay at Beaches. It is the second year in a row we have stayed there and the complex is great. You are directly opposite the patrolled beach, takes about 30 seconds from the pool to the beach. All the rooms are are set around the pool. I noticed all the beach goers departing looking into our complex wishing they were on the other side of the gate in our pool. The rooms are great. We were in room 320 on the 1st level. The rooms have a full good size kitchen with great entertaining space. Our room had two large bedrooms. The whole apartment looked over both the pool and the ocean. We have four boys aged 9, 8, 7 & 3 and we fitted in comfortably. The management are fantastic. I have dealt with Lesley who could not be more helpful. Beaches, best beach holiday in Australia

Chris, Brenda, Harry, Max, Charlie & Oscar

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches

Address: 19-21 The Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beaches 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.