We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One bedroom apartment very spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Lagoons to your Saves list
Oaks Lagoons
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Langley Road & Port, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One bedroom apartment very spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

While some things I would rate excellent, others i would rate average. Firstly the one bedroom apartments are far more spacious than anywhere i have stayed in before. In fact they are almost like a 2 bedroom apartment as they have a little study off the bedroom with a sofa bed to put your kids in or in our case the portacot. This way our baby had her own little room which was fantastic as during her daytime sleeps we would still have the entire lounge, kitchen and bedroom to ourselves. The beds were sooo crisp, fresh and comfortable, I had the best sleep. Great sized kitchen and lounge area, all spotlessly clean. I was very impressed with the apartment overall.
So the average part was the lack of staff available at the place. When we checked in there was only one girl at reception and no house keeping staff after 5pm. However, its not her fault and she was extremely friendly and helpful. Also portacot hire is way overpriced at $20 per night. Every other place we have ever stayed provides them free of charge.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks Emily for your balanced scorecard of your stay. I am pleased you found the layout worked very well for you. The room next to the bedroom is absolutely perfect for young families where you can either have a cot as you did or have an under 8 year old close utilising the fold out sofa without actually being in the same room as yourselves. These are what we refer to as “One Bedroom Apartments with sofa”. Once the children get past that age, it’s the parents that usually want more space and start considering the 2 bedroom options…!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    156
    61
    29
    19
See reviews for
108
180
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

A great spot, we were 3rd floor up, not swim up but I preferred that security anyway. A friend and I spent a relaxing 5 nights swimming, hired bikes for a bargain from the reception and rode along the beach, went next door to eat, and catch a shuttle to town. Walked around the corner a bit to a cocktail bar and to shops. Great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks for staying with us Kel and submitting a review. Pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our bicycles to explore Port Douglas. Who needs a car when you can get the wind in your face. With the CBD only 15 minutes by bike away, chaining up to a lamp post at some cosy café is a great way to get into the holiday mode. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I bought a Groupon voucher to Oaks Lagoon. I stayed herea few years ago with my young family and loved it. This time however, the rooms had a very damp smell that was rather unpleasant. Barbara, at the front desk, gave us a choice of two other rooms which was great as we found one that smelt less. The lifts STUNK!!! My asthma played up due to the dampness. Guess we got the worst rooms being part of a promotion deal. Not bad if u get a fresh smelling room. If u get a deal, guess u can't expect to get the best room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Gaye, thanks for the feedback and for staying with us again and I am sorry the rooms had a damp smell. We no not leave air-conditioners on in vacant rooms as the cost of electricity makes this prohibitive. During periods where we have a lot of rain as we have had this season, this can happen but usually once the room is opened up or the air-conditioning system is turned on, they return to normal. Just one of the joys of a tropical environment that you don’t get in more southern climates. As a strata title property we have to distribute bookings evenly throughout the resort so there is no ‘better rooms’ for guest who pay a higher rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Can't get passed the dirty sheets on the bed it was the worst! Shower floor mouldy! If i knew this was what we had to look out for the minute we walked in it wouldn't have been so bad and i would've asked for it to be cleaned but not realising until halfway through our 5 night stay, let us down! Overall nice apartment, roomy, 3 aircons, great kitchen, tv's etc but not a fan of a dirty room - no excuse!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
I am sorry you did not find the cleaning issues until half way through your stay, however for the benefit of others who may be reading this review, please always feel comfortable to bring these matters to our attention. If something has been over looked, we have no hesitation in rectifying any problem for our guests. Our aim is to ensure you have a great holiday and that doesn’t mean putting up with something that is not right for the duration of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had 8 nights at the Oaks Port Douglas and would most definitely recommend to a family wanting to travel to the area. We had a 2 bedroom swim out which was fabulous and though our kids are older and constant supervision not necessary for a young it would allow a lot more freedom. The kitchen was basic with a mirowave / convection oven but there are BBQ and we have a number of meals next door so we felt we had the best of both worlds. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing seemed to be a problem. I have noticed some criticism from other in regards to noise from young families but that was certainly not the case when we were there, Once you shut your rooms for the night, turned on the air conditioning, climbed into our very comfortable beds you had thought we had the place to ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks Kate for your review, it is appreciated. We are pleased you and the family enjoyed the 2 bedroom swim out apartment and your time in Port Douglas. The BBQ area is very popular with our guests, not only because of the great BBQ’s , but as we provide other equipment like a kettle, toaster and also a microwave, which is great to do some peas, beans or oth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which had a full kitchen, laundry, living area, balcony spa.
All amenities were clean the only remark is that the walls could use a paint due to lots of wear and tear.
The pool was lovely and the staff very helpful.
We will definetely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We very much appreciated your business and the time you have taken to submit a review of the property. In some of the rooms we do find with the paint does leave a shine where we have cleaned. We will address this when we next repaint the rooms with a better quality wash & wear paint. We look forward to having you back with us again at some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My Husband and I set off on a short break adventure to Port Douglas with very high expectations. The unit we had was a 1 bedroom deluxe swim out. The unit itself was clean and tidy when we arrived. We were initially happy with our location. After 2 days of our holiday we realised we were on the no-sun side of the resort, Yes there is such a thing. We were on the right hand side of the resort looking from the front and a ground floor unit as all swim-outs are. The sun bathed the opposite side and the pool and verandahs on that side looked very inviting, unfortunately our verandah and pool never had any direct sunlight therefore, the pool was freezing and unusable. The main bedroom of our unit faced directly onto the carpark area and as such created privacy issues and the stairs that ran above to the side of our unit were lit until 5am every morning. Even with the blinds closed this was irritating!
The lounge in the Living area was the most uncomfortable thing I have ever experienced. There was no Hair-dryer, no Pay TV and no TV in the bedroom which are basic inclusions at most hotels. I have stayed at Oaks in Port Stephens and these are standard inclusions. Very poor amenities in the kitchen as well, no oven just a convection microwave??
The best thing about this resort was that the Remada was located next door and we were able to enjoy their restaurant and facilities.
Very poor experience, will not recommend or return unfortunately.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the sunny side as the shaded side definately impacts your stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
I am sorry your stay didn’t meet your expectations. I am pleased to advise since your visit we have commenced a program of heating our pools on the side that gets ‘less sun’ with the first one now heated for the coming winter period. Being in the tropics heating of pools is not something that has been mainstream, but with the long wet season this year they haven’t had as much sun as usual. Whilst we do have full blinds in the apartment bedrooms, light does filter in around the edges. The hotel rooms do have full blackout curtains in those rooms. I cannot comment on the privacy issues for your bedroom when there are blinds that close.
Also, we do have Foxtel on the TV’s and there is sticker with instructions on the TV’s explaining how to access these. Alternatively a call to reception would have resolved this quickly. Hair Dryers are also provided; if yours was missing I do apologies it must have been missed by housekeeping. The convention microwave, is a normal convention oven, but also has the ability to microwave food as well. Thank you for taking time to leave this feedback, whilst not what we like to hear, it is only through monitoring and acting on feedback that we can maintain the standards we strive to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Address: Cnr Langley Road & Port, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.