We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Lagoons to your Saves list
Oaks Lagoons
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Langley Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct & Save 10%
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked a hotel spa room for one night on the weekend. For the price paid ($174) it was average. When checking in, we received poor service from the reception. Pretty much given the keys and left - no additional information about facilities or port douglas. The room was good, especially with the private spa on the balcony. Great weather to be out in the sun. However on checkout I received the same cold mannered staff, no polite questions asking about 'how was your stay', simply dropped the keys and left. The least they could do is set the mood for holiday makers and SMILE! Overall the hotel was good but the poor service disappointed my overall experience. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, General Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Lagoons. I am disappointed to hear about the level of service you received at our reception and can say that this is not the level of service we strive to give to our guests. It would seem this did not occur in your case and I can assure you steps have been taken to address this. We want our guests to enjoy their stay here and in Port Douglas. I am pleased that you did enjoy the spa room, even though it was only for a short stay. We hope you will be able to stay with us again so we can demonstrate a much better welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    172
    63
    30
    19
See reviews for
113
199
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cooma, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just had 5 nights here and everything was fantastic. We will definately book again next year and bring some friends. Great resort for kids. A bit out of town but we got a cheap hire car and also used the shuttle bus which was great. Loved it. Fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Oaks Lagoons. Our 6 lagoon style pools are always a hit with children and the swim out apartments are great to relax whilst watching the children swim and play. If you are travelling with friends we recommend our 2 bedroom dual key apartments which have fully equipped kitchens, laundry, 2 bathrooms and study. The dual key layout provides plenty of space and also privacy for couples travelling together.
We are located 5 minutes by car or about a 45 minute walk from the Main St of Port Douglas however like you mentioned the shuttle bus service is great. Shuttle buses depart around every 15 minutes and can take you into town for about $5 each way. Many of our guests choose to walk along the beautiful Four Mile Beach into town and then return on the shuttle service. Thankyou again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you next year when you return with your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a very short stay at Oaks Lagoon, very last minute trip decision to leave behind the cold Melbourne weather. And port Douglas did not disappoint!! Best time to go, prefect weather! I was lucky enough to get a 2 bedroom apartment at oaks via a cheap website, price was well within our budget! So I was impressed there but after reading the other reviews I was very concerned I had made a big mistake. Anyway we showed up with minimal expectation and we were very impressed by the cleanliness and huge apartment we were given! So a plus there! Fans and air cons in all the rooms, 2 bathrooms and even a study and outdoor spa! Yes don't expect much in terms of service, sign in and sign out. That's all you will get!! Not even a welcome, how is everything! Don't expect wifi or any room cleaning service or refresh, lucky I had read reviews before going so prior to our arrival had stayed at another oaks in brissy so we took extra washing powder, dishwasher powder etc from there to bring to port Douglas! Shame we had to do that. Not one day our rubbish was collected, towels changed, beds made etc. so it's not a serviced apartment arrangement but instead, here's the keys go and that's it!! Ps ask for rooms on sunny side, one side of hotel is cold no direct sun at all. Overall
I would be back as it was clean, and large. But byo cleaning products! But I think seeing there's no service you might as well do a holiday house rental
Instead for the same cost per night!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Glad to read you had great weather whilst you were here. National weather reports often forecast rain for Cairns and the tropical north and often that is nothing more that a regular late afternoon tropical thunderstorm that clears up by the time the sun goes down. Some seasons you can almost set your watch by it! We do offer 30 mins of complimentary WIFI each day for guests, but for heavy users, there is a charge for additional time. Yes, our rooms are not daily serviced, but many of our guests prefer this in exchange for better rates. You can pay a higher price and have daily servicing, but I can count on one hand the number that have. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We loved our stay at this place, we had a wonderful, lovely, romantic time. I was so happy with our second story room, on the shady side (would have been too hot in the sun). We had an apartment with full kitchen and we caught fish on the beach and cooked the fish and with a fresh salad we sat on our fanned patio with our wine and enjoyed the hot weather in the middle of winter. The beach was so close, make sure you go the short cut through the children's park at the back of the block, and yes there was an ice cream / drink scooter with his trailer on the beach. My only regret is that I did not take a photo of the beautiful beach with the palm trees, I felt like I was in paradise. I went to this place in love and I came home so relaxed and pampered. We had a car but we made use of the bus to see the skyrail and rail experience near Cairns. Had a great day! So much to see and do but we allowed one day for a "motel day" where we swam at the beach and then swam & lounged next to the one of the six pools. Very, very clean rooms, we would return.

Room Tip: I came from cold Canberra, and I was happy to have a shady second story room in the middle of winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I think you just let the cat out of the bag; it’s no longer a secret! Pleased to read you had a wonderful time in our tropical paradise. There is so much to see and do and it is such a good idea to plan a ‘nothing day’, or two! In today’s busy world it is so hard to be able to find the time to do exactly that, nothing! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon for doing more something, or nothing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012 and is a good priced place to stay. It is a little way out of the township of Port Douglas but ok if you have your own transport or don't mind using the town bus service. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful.

The pools on the souhern side of the complex catch all the sunshine with the pools on the northern side in the shade most of the day and therefore colder.

We would definitely stay here again but would only stay in the rooms on the southern side of the complex.

Room Tip: Highly recommend you ask for a room on the southern side of the complex (to catch the sun). The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. The position of the sun does change between winter and summer; it is not a constant thing. In summer or on hot days there is also demand for shaded patios. As you mentioned, there is a great shuttle service around town and that operated from 7am through to 11pm each day. A great service particularly if you enjoy a glass or two of wine with your dinner. Hope to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently stayed in the swim out rooms unfortunately the side of the hotel we were on meant no sun and cold pool we booked these rooms especially for this and felt let down. Really needed to be heated.One reception girl was very friendly the other wasn't, the Internet rates are ridiculous even cheap motels have free wifi 85 dollars for a week is ridiculous, the room was nice but not serviced but I really think if we could have enjoyed the pool everything else might not have seemed so bad. Not recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Sorry to read you found the pools a bit cool during your stay. Heating them is something we have looked at in the past, but I will revisit the feasibility of doing this. We do offer 30 minutes of free WIFI per day (3.5 hours per week) for all our guests as explained in the information provided on check-in. If you do need more than just casual access, then yes, there is a cost. I hope you didn’t catch our receptionist at a bad time as all our team love to do everything possible to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. Moving guests to the sunny side when there is no availability is not something they nor I are very good at. I hope you will take the opportunity to stay with us again when we will be able to meet your request for a sunny side room. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Great facilities, very helpful staff & wonderful swimout rooms which our kids loved! Rooms were clean, spacious and well stocked with everything you could need. Staff knowledge of the local area & attractions was much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, your business was appreciated. The swims out rooms are really popular with families particularly during school holidays. Mum can read on the sun lounge whilst Dad runs between topping up Mum’s wine glass and being on Daddy Duty with the kids in the pool. I am pleased you found our suggestions about the local area helpful. Being able work out what will work best for our guests, check availability and make bookings is something we all love to do. I guess we love this area so much, that’s why we live here. Hope you have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Address: 2 Langley Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#25 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.