We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, quiet, very helpful receptionist, nice pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks Lagoons to your Saves list
Oaks Lagoons
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Langley Road & Port, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Longer and Save!
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, quiet, very helpful receptionist, nice pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome from Helen on reception . She and her colleague were both really friendly and helpful in confirming our tours, flights, and giving local advice. Our flat for 4 was spacious with a flexible layout and was well equipped with washer, drier, dish washer etc, & was clean and comfortable but had plainish decor. We used the communal barbecue in the central 'cabana' and liked the long pools which meant you could swim properly. The supermarket is a goodish 10 minute walk, but the fish and chip shop is 5 minutes and good for emergency eats. Port Douglas is a 45-50 min step away up the lovely endless beach. Buses seemed to run every 20-30 mins from the Ramada next door and were about AU$4 each person one way. We didn't find much value in buying return tickets as rival bus companies didn't accept each other's tickets. This led us to have an extra 15 min sit outside the Iron Bar waiting for 'our' bus whilst orher buses came and went: there are much worse places in the world to be delayed in! If staying longer than our 4 nights you might want a hire car, but Port Douglas is a quiet and relaxing place, so just go with the flow.
Plus- quiet, friendly, very helpful, nice pool.
Minus- fair step from town, but the bus service was fine. Simple styling and decor.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you David for your feedback especially your comments recognising the assistance provided by Helen on reception. I am pleased your family enjoyed their break at the Oaks Lagoons. The local shuttle is a fantastic way to get around and I agree that until these buses accept each others vouchers, it is better to just jump on the next one that comes along. The walk along the ‘endless’ beach (45 mins at a casual stroll) is a great way to clear the mind and let the winds off the Coral Sea blow those work worries away! The fish &chip shop is one of the best around. I often recommend as a holiday special treat their Supa Trout Burger; a burger filled with coral trout, bacon, avocado, and cheese and then filled with a huge selection of salads. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    156
    61
    29
    19
See reviews for
108
180
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed 3 nights staff were friendly. Rooms were spacious and clean with all that is needed in a kitchen. Air con in 3 rooms with overhead fans too. The private plunge pool was lovely, but not so private with guests above whom could see when they looked over their balcony. It is not within walking distance into town so you need a car or there is a shuttle bus that leaves from the hotel next door which was $5 per person.
The only let down is that it does not have a bar or restaurant on site, you could go next door to the Ramada but we found that noisy (lots of children) and poky.
But we had a good relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. Yes you are right these are not private plunge pools though we did change their name 2 years ago. I had hoped all references to the word “private” had been removed from all websites but there must be some references still out there. I welcome feedback about any website that may still call them private so I can update accordingly. We now just refer to them as 1 or 2 bedroom Plunge Pool rooms.

With so many rooms with self catering facilities, a restaurant is not really viable. We like our guests to get out and explore some of the fabulous tropical cuisine available in Port Douglas. My favourite at the moment is the Salsa Bar & Grill.

We hope you can get away form another tropical break sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toowoomba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Absolutely fantastic from the moment we arrived. Helen at the front desk was cheerful, polite, funny and after a long flight and drive made us feel most welcome. Our room was immaculate and teh poll at our door step was worth every cent. Very relaxing for mum and great fun for dad and the kids. Helen's help and recomendations when arranging our trip to the reef was invaluable, and made that a great day for us all. Located about 4km from the centre of town was not an issue at all, as we would have never had to leave because the oaks had it all there for us.
Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. Can't wait to get back there some time soon.

Room Tip: the "swim to" rooms add that little bit extra to your stay....definately worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It is lovely to get feedback that recognises the efforts of our staff, so we thank you very much for that. My team do try and make all our guests holiday a wonderful experience so we welcome guests dropping by reception to seek us out for local ideas on Port’s things to do. Even if things aren’t going right, we only ask guests to talk to us as we only want the opportunity to get things right if we have overlooked something.
We are 4 km from the main street, the perfect distance for a 45 minute morning walk along 4 mile beach into town. You can then dine guilt free in the evening!!
Adam, we loved having you all stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The Port Douglas Tourist Information desk organised this deal for us when we arrived. We had a spa room which was clean, spacious & comfortable. Although room was not serviced for the 5 nights of our stay which was surprising! Only cleaned if staying more than 7 nights!
The Oaks is not really walking distance to town (45 mins on beach) & the shuttle bus is $5 each way!
Wifi is chargeable and can only be accessed near the reception. Tea, coffee etc can be requested from reception, use of the BBQs is free.
Fire alarm went off at 4am on our last night staff advised via pa system that it was a false alarm.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. Sorry to hear you were woken by the fire alarm, whilst false alarms can be annoying but your safety is paramount to us.
We do not clean the rooms daily as part of normal rates though additional cleans can be arranged for an additional fee. Our philosophy is that affordability is a very important component in selecting a holiday so if we can keep our prices down then those guests only that want daily cleaning, pay for it, then we can keep our rates lower across the board. I am not sure what room you were in but our WIFI is available in 80% of our rooms. There is a hotspot point at our BBQ area which gives good coverage to the pool area and most guest room balconies.
Thankyou for your feedback, we hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed over Christmas last year, the unit we stayed in was on the pool, definitely recommend the upgrade to the swim out room. It was a one bedroom unit, but there was a study that could be completely closed off with a single pull out sofa in it that our 2 yr old slept in. Only gripe was they wanted to charge us $44 I think it was for our 2 yr old, which I think is very expensive, but the manager ended up doing it for $30 per night.
We loved the layout of the unit, could easily spend time there again. Room cleanliness was pretty average, the houskeeping department is a let down, but otherwise great stay.
Is a fair way out of town so cant walk into town, but there is a shuttle bus that goes from hotel next door.
The restaurant at the Ramada hotel next door is worth a visit, we got a discount voucher from the Oaks for the restaurant there.

Room Tip: Swim out room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Sien07, thank you for your feedback about your Christmas holiday. The one bedroom swim out apartments are great for small families as it has a fully equipped kitchen so that you can cook with ease whilst watching the kids swim outside your patio. The shuttle bus to and from the main street of Port Douglas is very accessible for guests and we also recommend the 45minute walk along the beach into town as a scenic and relaxing option. Our Housekeeping standards have been reviewed since December and we have changed personnel which has improved our room cleanliness. We certainly hope that your family will holiday again in Port Douglas and we would be more than happy to have you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the oaks for 5 nights and every thing was just great service was amazing. Front desk helped us with all our travel, they were super nice and very friendly. Would stay here again next time.
Thanks for making our stay so relaxing !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback about your holiday, I have shared this with our staff as we certainly enjoyed having you as guests of Oaks Lagoons. We take delight in making our guests holidays as relaxing and enjoyable or as busy and action-filled as they would like. We also love showing off our region and assisting guests with tour bookings and making suggestions of places for dining out as well. We hope to have you as our guests here at Oaks Lagoons again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

bookedc looked through a voucher deal which was at a great rate, got offered agreat rate to upgrade to swim out room. on arrival the desk staff were a little discourteous and hard to deal with making checking not pleasant. the rooms are great with a/c and fans .the hotel needs a little tlc ,faulty shower screen and dishwasher with dirty crockery in it was not pleasant however for the rate it's not to bad

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your stay with us. Our one bedroom swimout apartments do provide a spacious and relaxing stay for guests. The shower screens are getting to a stage where we have commenced changing many of these to a swing door. Our housekeeping staff have been reminded to be more diligent in checking the dishwasher. Accurate information does make for a smooth check-in process but given your change in requirements I am pleased were able to meet your needs in the end. I am sorry the information we had was not as you thought had been booked. We hope that this has not sullied your experience for future stays with Oaks Lagoons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Address: Cnr Langley Road & Port, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.