We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oaks was a pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks Lagoons

Save Saved
You added Oaks Lagoons to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks Lagoons
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Langley Road & Port, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 10%!
Ranked #31 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Oaks was a pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here 22-26 Nov and we enjoyed every minute of it! The staff are very helpful and always had a smile on their face. It is a bit out of town which makes things a bit harder and expensive if you don't hire a car but the shuttle from the Ramada is convenient. Upon checking in we were informed we had been upgraded to a one bed apartment swim out. This was just the icing on the cake we could have not been more pleased. Its so relaxing having the pool just outside your back door. The room we received was spotless cept some marks on the shutters in the main bedroom and the cushions off the couch were a bit dirty however nothing we had a fright over. The kitchen is nice and functional and the massive flat screen tv was great. One gripe I had though was when we ran out of dishwashing detergent, washing powder and dishwasher powder we had pay to replenish the meager stock they gave us when we checked in. I know this is a self contained apartment but I'm staying at the best western plus cairns central apartments and they have supplied us with a whole bottle of dishwashing liquid. So I think it would much better for the guests for oaks lagoons to offer those powders and liquids free of charge. When on holiday the last thing you want to pay is for basic living goods. The BBQ is popular with the guests and would recommend to use them.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Many thanks for staying with us at the Oaks Lagoons. I am pleased you enjoyed your swim out room, they are a great room where you can relax right their on your own pool deck. The local shuttle is certainly very convenient and as it runs from 7am to 11pm, and is a safe way home especially if you have been out enjoying a meal with a few wines. I acknowledge your comments about the consumable items. In essence Oaks has chosen a user pays system, so those wanting extra, pay extra. None of us like to have to pay for things we don’t use. The BBQ’s are very popular, an area where we have often seen guests make new holiday friends. We hope you will be able to make your way north and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    141
    54
    26
    19
See reviews for
97
162
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Got to give a shout out to Murray, the Receptionist at the Oaks Lagoons during our stay there. He was so friendly right from the get-go, and with a wicked sense of humour.

When we arrived, he asked if we had planned tomorrow's activities, and when we said no, he gave us a suggested itinerary for the day which was fantastic! I'll post it here so that all who stay at Oaks can take advantage of it!

First, he said, you are getting up VERY early and going down to the beach (5mins walk) to watch the sunrise at 5.30am. After this, you stroll along the beach 45mins into town, which works up an appetite for breakfast at a great little cafe. After that, because it was Sunday, we would walk down to the Esplanade to the sunday craft market and look around before catching the 11am steam train right back to the hotel, then a leisurely lunch and afternoon by the pool.

Well followed this plan exactly, and had a fabulous day!

So, other good things about the Oaks Lagoons - well, again, Murray was so helpful - I was fussy and asked to change my room becuase I wanted one with a swim-out patio. I was originally assigned a room with a private spa bath on the balcony, which seemed great at first but the problem is that, for privacy, the spa baths are surrounded by a high steel wall, which blocks the light from the room and takes up all the space so you don't get a big patio/sunlounger area. I felt a little claustrophobic in that first room with its high walls, so I asked to be moved and good ol' Murray sorted it out for me - what a legend!

If you can, book one of the swim-out studios (if you are not bothered about having a spa bath, ask for one without) - direct access to the pool from your room - heaven! Also, since the rest of my party were in nearby rooms, I could swim over to their place for a glass of wine, then swim home! :)

The central BBQ area is one of the best I've ever seen, spacious, clean and shaded.

The pools are excellent, shallow at either end and deep in the middle, and so refreshing in the November heat! Each ground floor room has its own steps into the pool too. Did I mention there are LOTS of pools?

The room was clean and confortable, with a little kitchenette perfect for having tea and making sandwiches etc but it is not for self-catering as no stove. For that, use the BBQ :)

Parking is excellent at this place - if fact you can park right outside your room!

The hotel does not have a restuarant of its own, but gives you a voucher for a meal for $15 at the Ramada hotel next door, and with that you even get a free bottle of wine per 2 people!! The meal you get is the special of the day, but there was a choice of two and both were excellent.

The only negative point of Oaks is that the internet here is bloody expensive. There is Wi-fi, but we didn't want to pay $20 a day for it! However, if you are going to go next-door to the Ramada to eat, use the free internet there! There is free wifi in the bar area, and they also do great frozen cocktails to enjoy while you surf the net.

I would also love to see Oaks adopt a no-smoking policy, because smoking is allowed pool-side, and that means you may end up next to someone smoking on their patio.

Overall, this was my favourite acommodation in my 18-day trip to Queensland. Port Douglas is a delightful little place, even if I did spend a great deal of it in the hotel enjoying the pool!

Once again, thanks to Murray for being an outstanding member of staff and really contributing to an amazing stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words and taking the time to share your experiences in Port Douglas. The walk along 4 Mile Beach is such a wonderful way to get into a holiday mode, I am pleased you enjoyed it. Our staff love giving our guests ideas on what to do in Port Douglas and we like to work out what is the best tour for our guests taking everything into consideration including the prevailing weather conditions.

Our WIFI is provided by an external provider who owns the system so unfortunately at this stage we are unable to change those arrangements. Out smoking policy is under constant review as attitudes to smoking continue to evolve with less and less smokers staying. We do expect smokers to not affect the other guest's peaceful enjoyment of the resort and to take appropriate steps to relocate as necessary. Our swim-out rooms are really special! There are not many resorts that have this room type, and at the moment we have some really great deals for these on the Oaks Hotels & Resorts website. Thank you for staying with us, I hope we will have the opportunity to have you stay with us again on your next North Queensland escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here for work and found it to have everything I needed. The hotel rooms were comfortable and included all your standard fittings. The bonus was the spa on the balcony, lovely touch to a busy day. About 4km walk into town, plenty of parking. Pool was lovely. Only downfall was no free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Oaks Lagoons. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The gardens are looking particularly good at the moment with many of our tropical plants in full flower. Yes, our property does have lots of undercover unallocated car parking and we can even cater for guests with boats, trailers and caravans. We do have to charge our guests for internet as our internet access infrastructure not owned by Oaks and is provided by and fees set by an external company. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked a swim out room at Oaks Lagoon for a little R&R to get over the long wet winter in Auckland. The timing was perfect 30 degrees C every day with humidity 60%, out of school holiday timings, in between seasons and prior to the humid and hot summer months.
Lagoon has 5 great swimming pools which means you have the opportunity for your own space. The concept of the swim out room was great with your own swim ladder and loungers. The room was a little musty smelling when we arrived so bought some "nilodor" drops from Coles and after a couple of days cleared the smell. Room was clean and tidy and staff really friendly and helpful. This place reputedly has the best Barbeques for your use in Port Douglas not that we were thiee to cook Barbeques. After reading a few reviews I was interested to see how long it would take to walk in to town and yes it is a good walk35- 45 mins along the beach however the buses runs from Ramada next doors every 15 minutes $9 return or 3 or 7 days passes. Found a great restaurant "Beach Shack" 8 minute walk away amd a fantastic Deli OTZ 5 minutes away, who do the best baked daily Ham and Cheese Croissants. OTZ also run the reastaurant at Niramaya Villas and Spas across the road with Wednesday being a BYO night. Niramaya is a $450 per night Spa so worth the visit just for the surroundings. The food is fantatstic and the setting out of this world. So while a little way out of town we found the swim out room, sunshine, pool and peace and quite just what we needed. I have rated this as very good as we got the room on an Entertainment book $80 per night special so I cannot complain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagoonsHM, Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Defrosting after the long winter chill is a popular escape for many of our southern visitors. October and November are magic times to visit the north and as you mentioned before the wet season which really doesn’t kick in till late January. We have great deals available now since the traditional high season is behind us. Mustiness is something we get in the tropics a lot so I am pleased you found Nilidor effective for you in helping to refresh your room. Once windows are opened or the air conditioners turned on, it generally doesn’t take long for the rooms freshen up. Great to see you checkout out some of our great local dining options, those ham & cheese croissants are addictive! The Tree Bar and Grill next door also offers a great tropical buffet breakfast option too. I hope you will be able to get away again next year to again escape the winter chills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom lagoon room which was very private and quiet. The apartment was clean and well equipped, but smelled a bit musty when we arrived. This was solved by leaving the ceiling fans on 24/7. The only down side was that we had to ask for a spare toilet roll as there were no spares in the apartment. A suggestion also would be to provide spare bin liners, and a bottle of dishwashing liquid, as that would be a nice touch rather than having to supply our own for short stays. Locally provided shuttle bus into the main street is convenient, but is quite expensive at $5 each way. It certainly adds up very quickly, and it's too far to walk it comfortably.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
November is a great time to visit Port Douglas with generally fantastic weather and well before the wet season sets in. It is part of our traditional low season so some good deals can usually be secured at this time of the year. Rooms can be a little musty here in the tropics if they haven’t been used for a few days but as you discovered once the fans and air-conditioning is on, it freshens up pretty quickly. Whilst we do only provide a setup stock for the rooms additional supplies are available from reception. Thank you for staying with us, I hope you will be able to visit Port Douglas again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great weekend away with our 2 teenage children and their friends in July staying in the 3 bedroom apartment. The plunge pool and resort pool were great the kids even jumped in and did a lap of the pool walking even though it was so cold because they didn't want to miss out. The spa was great and rooms very well taken care of. Our second visit and pleased both times

Room Tip: Choose a swim out or 3 bed with own pool, but can be pricey and hard to book unless you get a deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your stay. Whilst we generally promote our large rooms as being 2 bedroom apartments, they do have a separate area where a fold out sofa bed can be set up for an extra person charge. The great thing about these is that this room has sliding doors so it does offer privacy for the person on the sofa bed. Our pools are used all year round but noting that being in the tropics not all properties have heated pools. We do love to welcome back regular guests and we thank you for staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was welcomed by reddish blood-looking stains at the foot of the bed and on the wall in the bathroom of our hotel spa balcony room. We liked the room as it had the spa and everything else was fine apart from the limited bench space in the bathroom which caused us to compensate by cramming our toiletries onto the kitchen bench and they were getting wet after the washing up. You have to pay for a housekeeper if u wanted daily cleaned rooms, new sheets and new towels otherwise YOU will be washing your TOWELS and sheets or using the same towel for days during your stay as they only offer ONCE A WEEK housekeeping!!!!

During our stay, our mini bar fridge broke down and the issue was managed well after hours however, after speaking to the Manager the next morning, he simply said we could not be moved into another similar room but had to inconveniently walk back and forth into the adjoining room to use their fridge and other facilities (which we did not need or use) and were told not to use the bed (probably to save money on housekeeping as they have been stingy with housekeeping anyway!).

Please note that Reception closes at 7pm so if you require any help after that there won't be any unless it was an emergency.
In addition, unlike most 4.5 star resorts in Port Douglas this one does not have It's own restaurant so you will need to eat elsewhere.

Overall, it was not like a 4.5 star resort and for what we paid for we should have received a lot more!!! Very disappointing! We definitely won't be staying here again and would not recommend it as you are better of paying the SAME amount and staying at a 5 star resort!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lagoons, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Lagoons. The accommodation packages we offer at our resort are weekly service with any extra housekeeping services required to be paid for by the guest. We would like to apologise this was not made clean upon booking your accommodation. To save you the inconvenience of having to pack up and move when your in-room mini-bar fridge failed, we were happy to give you access to the apartment side of your unit to use the large fridge, lounge, kitchen and laundry facilities. We are however pleased our technician was able to fix your fridge the next day. Whilst we don’t have a restaurant on-site, Port Douglas is well serviced by a fantastic variety of restaurants and from the information we gave on check-in you will see the special arrangements we have for discounted meals close to our property. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks Lagoons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lagoons

Address: Cnr Langley Road & Port, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Lagoons 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 minutes stroll to Four Mile Beach, the new Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas is a relaxed getaway which aims to please with its friendly service, relaxed ambiance and unique ‘lagoon’ lifestyle. There are six lagoon-style pools, from which guests can swim to their apartment balconies, as well as barbeque facilities within a lush landscaped setting to make the most of the tropical breezes. At the Oaks Lagoons, accommodation styles vary, from hotel rooms with large corner spas, to 1 and 2 bedroom apartments complete with gourmet kitchen and laundry facilities. There are also rooms with the ‘swim out’ option or apartments with their own private plunge pool and spa. All rooms offer air conditioning, king beds, broadband connectivity and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oaks Lagoons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lagoons Port Douglas
Oaks Lagoons Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks Lagoons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.