We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #16 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

It was a toss up between Sea Temple & Peppers and we decided to go with Peppers because it was closer to the town. Glad we made that choice because when a couple was dropped to sea temple for transfers from the airport, we knew how far that really was. Peppers was just about a block away from the beginning of Macrossan St where all the shops, restaurants and etc... We loved the pool, the decor and the rooms. Especially with a jacuzzi right on the balcony =)! The only thing that I didn't like about the hotel is that some of the rooms were not accessible by elevators, but stairs. So if your have plenty of luggage... GOOD LUCK! Good thing for us we only had carry-ons so the walk was not much of a hassle!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    171
    49
    14
    7
See reviews for
107
300
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

I managed to get an amazing rate for the hotel through the departure lounge website. Because of this I was able to upgrade from the planned spa suite to a 1 bedroom suite. As we stayed for 4 days this was a good move as the extra space was invaluable. The bedroom was of a good size joined to a connection room with day beds which was a nice extension to our sleeping space. The kitchen was well equipped with its open plan layout into the living room. The outdoor bbq also came in handy.

The setting was fantastic as was the outdoor area which allowed us to dive straight into the pool. My only qualms have been mentioned on this site numerous times and seem not have got much better. Although these were negatives they didn't really make my holiday less than it should have been but it simply didnt give the hotel the 5 star rating that I so wanted to give.

The hotel cleaner would come in on a daily basis and put plates into the dishwasher if they were left out, would make our bed and change towels. However, more attention should have been given to the floors, general kitchen work surfaces and even to the outdoor table. The lack of attention meant that cocktail glasses were left out on the table, crumbs on the floor etc. This did bother me as the resort pitches itself as 5 star establishment and charges 5 star prices to match. Yet the cleaning was only halfheartedly done if one at all.

The internet was also temperamental and failed to work on one night. But upon check out the charge was taken off our bill without even having to ask. Overall we had a fantastic time but would only stay again if we were to find the fantastic rate that we did this time round.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Lancashire.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We chose this hotel for a rejuvenating end to our fantastic but tiring Oz trip. And what a stroke of luck. Everything from the fabulous jacuzzi on the balcony of our lovely room to the stylish and relaxing beach pool was sheer pleasure. The staff were brilliantly helpful and friendly and the breakfasts delicious. If we ever get back to Oz, this will definitely be our last stop once again. In 4 great days it became a firm favourite for my wife and I. Truly excellent.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We loved this resort style hotel!
The food was lovely and the jacuzzi on the terrace was wonderful.
Great mocktails for non-drinkers!
Close to beach ad shops.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Excellent all round! Stayed with my Husband and 5 month old daughter. I hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful and we had a fabulous stay. Location was ideal as it was a very short walk to the beach, marina and main high street.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I, together with my husband and 4 month old daughter have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Beach Club. Overall we had a fantastic time. We stayed in a spa suite. Pros: Although room was a little squishy for the 3 of us decor was fresh and clean. It had a nice big bathroom area. lots of cupboard space for clothes, toiletries and suitcases. Although fairly expensive ($134 for 1 hr) remedial massage was one of the best ive ever had, keep your eye out for sign out the front for discounts to massage services, $35 discount on the day i had one. We enjoyed an afternoon drink in the balcony spa which was nice and big for the 3 of us. Location is fabulous, just a 3 minute stroll to the start of Macrossan street. The pool, with its lovely white sandy beach was also a great place to relax especially in the comfort of the large day beds, great for families and young kids. Cons: The rubbish bin in our room was not emptied for two days, and the door to the balcony was on two occasions left wide open by cleaning staff. We ordered room service (food was ok, reasonably priced) on the second night and left our dishes outside our door for collection, however these had still not been collected by our 6th day! Although staff were friendly and helpful there were a few minor efficiency issues. It took us about 20 minutes to check out. we were told computer system is in process of being upgraded. Overall though i think you;ll be impressed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We absolutely loved it here & will be back soon. The pool is excellent for your kids- its half sand, so its like being at the beach.
The location is great for Port Douglas - the main strip is an easy 3 minute walk and the swim beach is ~30m out the side door. I can't imagine a better hotel there.
The staff were attentive & we had no complaints.
While the pool is not heated, you don't really need it 95% of the year - we were there in the dead of winter ad found it fine if the sun was out. (Like most pools in QLD!) Some rooms have a private plunge pool as well.
We had a 2BR suite which was very spacious, easily taking a family of 4. While well appointed, the furniture seemed overly large - which was funny. Most of the furnishings were nice, but they had a few very cheap looking things which seemed out of place.
As for the guy who complained that there was no shade on the swim-up room... OMG. I'm a shade guy, but to complain about the sun? at the pool? Besides, they do have umbrellas. The reason I bring this up is that the swim-up rooms 'look' very cool, and having mostly sun is a definite plus in the winter months.
We did find that the housekeeping was a bit inconsistent and they missed some things. But we did get an extra linen service during our stay w/o charge.
We chose this place b/c we had stayed at the sister resort in Palm Cove & loved it there. This one is a bit smaller, but I liked it a bit better.
The food was very good, but the menu should be expanded.
One point: it was very quiet & relaxing while we were there - which was during NSW school holidays - but I suspect that if it were booked up, it could get pretty crowded at the pool. - Good thing there is a gorgeous beach you can walk to in 3 min!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway.The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments).The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00am - 10.30am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00pm - 8.30pm closed Thursday nights.The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer.Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.