We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a 5 star resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Disappointing for a 5 star resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

For a 5 star resort, I thought I would be staying in somewhere 'luxurious'.. this wasn't the case..
Upon check in it seemed quite nice with lovely setting of the reception desk overlooking the pool.
My credit card was given upon check in and was assured it was only for the imprint, however on return noticed that the whole hotel fee had been charged to that card which we had requested not to.
When we opened the door to our twin room and noticed there were 2 'single' beds, my friend and I were not impressed. What 5 star resort has single beds in a room. Pillows were soft and had a terrible sleep.
We then wanted to relax over the 4 days and just lay by the pool and get some sun. Unfortunately this did not happen, not because there was no sun, but because of the way the pool was designed and the layout. The place where you sunbake with the sand and sun lounges was shaded at all times of the day with the palm trees and building covering them all the time. We actually had to go to another hotel pool to get some sun!
Was looking forward to a 5 star buffet breakfast. Options were poor and very limited. Ham that I had put on my plate was grey which turned me off my whole breakfast.
We also tried calling reception from our room which no one bothered picking up. Did not feel customer service was all that great.
All in all, we definitely wish we had stayed at the Sheraton where we originally had planned to stay. A lot of improvements needed overall to live up to the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    205
    57
    21
    8
See reviews for
133
353
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in apartment 123/124 which is a privately owned unit, booked through Belle real estate in Port Douglas. This gave us the use of the resort facilities, but we weren't actually guests of the hotel as such. We found this suited us perfectly.

The things we weren't entitled to were daily servicing of rooms, the ability to charge drinks and restaurant bills to the room, free wi-fi.
You can rent the two rooms separately, or as one. When separated the smaller apartment is just like a standard hotel room, with a king size bed, tea/coffee making facilities, a small fridge and ensuite. There is a balcony overlooking the pool with a spa bath and a couple of chairs. The larger room has two bedrooms which can be configured in different ways (double, two singles etc), bathroom, a well equipped kitchen, dining area small lounge area and a balcony with tables and chairs and a bbq. There is also a poolside deck accessed from the balcony with your own sunlounges and direct access to the pool. (Getting in from here was easy - getting out a little harder for the older ones! you can get out via the beach and walk around if necessary) By renting both we effectively had a three bedroom apartment with direct access to the pool. The resort pool is beautiful, with a sandy beach on the opposite side to the apartment.

The kitchen is very well equipped - apart from breakfast we ate in a few times during our stay and found everything we needed was provided. There is also a washing machine and dryer . The undercover parking is very handy to the entrance to the rooms, which made moving in and out, and bringing groceries in very easy - just a few steps.

The resort itself is very centrally located in Port Douglas. It is away from the bustle of the main street, but only a short, flat, very easy walk into town. There is a wide range of restaurants and shops in the main street and surrounds. Four mile beach is also an easy short walk away, as is the marina to access boat trips to the reef, sunset cruises, dive and fishing trips. We had a hire car and used it to travel down to cairns (just under an hour), and up to Mossman Gorge (about 30mins) and to Daintree (an hour or so). There were a number of day trips available with pickup from the resort for those without their own transport

As I mentioned, this unit does not have daily servicing, but we did not need that. I believe that this is done on a weekly basis - because we stayed 8 nights we had a mid stay service after 4 days when the apartment was cleaned and fresh towels were supplied. They also left extra beach/pool towels for us as we were out at the reef that day and had the original ones with us. The cost of accommodation was substantially lower than booking through the resort, as you are not paying for resort services.

Room Tip: Book through Belle Property rentals, you don't get resort service, but you do get cheaper rates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a great stay here. Service was very good, our spa suite was very nice and the lagoon pool was just amazing. Peppers is close to everything. You are just a short walk to shops, restaurants and the Marina. I highly recommend Peppers as we are looking forward to another holiday here.

Room Tip: Level one floors are the best if you can get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn B, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you Michelle for your great feedback. We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's hard to fault any aspect of the Peppers complex. The pool is the feature of the complex. It's surrounds are beautiful - a sandy beach fringed with palms. The room we occupied was a spa room overlooking the pool. We didn't use the spa because it was a bit too hot during the day and at night we were out. The back gate opens onto a street and not more than 100 meters Is 4 mile beach. We had the best of both worlds - the pool and the beach. Proximity to the centre of town was an additional benefit. It was a short stroll to cafes, bars and restaurants. Staff were pleasant and very attentive. Overall a great place to put the feet up and relax.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn B, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you Phil M for your fantastic feedback which is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Peppers is a gorgeous hotel, lovely pool and small but very nice rooms. There are a few things that are looking a bit tired but nothing that bad and the cleanliness of the entire resort makes up for that. The gardens are beautifully maintained as well.
The room service is super slow which is a bit of a shame however we found the staff to be very nice. Cocktails by the pool are okay, but we found them to be pretty weak for the price. 'Free' wifi has a very small limit and then starts charging so we didn't bother.
The location of this resort is the best thing about it as you can walk everywhere but still feel separate from the main strip.
Overall we had a great stay and I would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn B, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Great to note you enjoyed your stay with us Margot R. Thank you for your recommendation.

Regards
Peppers Beach Club Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clair NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the time we arrived we felt welcomed.
Room was fantastic, clean & a great view of the pool which was very clean.
So close to everything, we walked everywhere & enjoyed the laid back lifestyle'
Everyone we met were so friendly & helpful.
This was our first time here, but we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn B, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi CathySt_ClairNSW

We do appreciate you having taken the time to provide your fantastic feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Peppers Beach Club Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my girlfriend checked into Peppers beach club on the 1/5/2015. On first glance the hotel looked like what we expected, but what let us down was the customer service. Front desk service didn't give a great first impression. We were processed like another number, not a valued guest - a smile doesn't hurt. In saying this though, the pool staff were nice. Cleaning of the hotel room was shocking - towels taken but not replaced, dirty towels placed back on the rack after being placed on the floor for changing and amenities not replenished daily either. We also found that during our stay, the bed sheets were not changed over either. For a prestigious hotel with a reputation like Peppers, we expected more for our money.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn B, Front Office Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you Adam B for your review.

We value all of our guests and pride ourselves on our customer service and it is a great disapointment to learn that you felt we failed in your instance. I do apologise that the housekeeping was not up to standard and I have fowarded your comments on to the relevant Manager to investigate and address. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectation.

Regards
Peppers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway. The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments). The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00Am - 10.00Am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00Pm - 8.30Pm. The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer. Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.