We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great honeymoon destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at Peppers Beach Club for our honeymoon and it was just amazing. We splashed out for our own private plontoon and it was worth it! I have travelled quite a bit and this is my favourite accomadation to date. Unfortunately the one night we were going to eat at the restaurant it was closed for a wedding function but it's so close to the main street it didn't matter. The staff were lovely, it was very clean, the pool was divine, it was comfortable, private, relaxing... I want to go back for our baby-moon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    179
    52
    18
    7
See reviews for
120
308
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed as a family with two teen boys for a week. We booked a room with our own deck to swim out from and a spa room adjoining. Definitely pay the extra for this - it's worth it. Lovely to sit/snooze by the pool on our lounges with a cocktail (or two!!!) Dined in the restaurant a couple of times - it was nice, but nothing amazing, so we mostly walked into town - it's in a great location, just one block from some truly amazing restaurants. Staff were wonderful - Gavin is a funny guy! The pool is beautiful to swim in and the grounds and rooms we had were in excellent condition. I agree with the other reviewer that it's horrible when someone is smoking above your room as it wafts down and we had to go inside as we were lucky enough (!) to have a couple of chain smokers above us. The waterfall was turned on for a while when we were there but as it is used to top up the pool from another water source - so the pool guy told us - it can't be run all the time, which is a pity.We have stayed at Peppers in Palm Cove and while they have a couple of extra pools and a proper swim up bar, Palm Cove is too expensive to eat out with children and there is nothing there for the kids to do. Overall, fantastic stay and would absolutely come back. Thanks to everyone for a lovely break!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for your own private deck. It was quiet when we were there, but I can imagi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn B, Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you WeLoveFood_13 for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Great to note the staff looked after you well and you found the Resort well maintained. Note your comments on the smokers which I am sorry to learn the smokers impacted on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So the lagoon is gorgeous and big enough to accommodate everyone, the rooms are clean and spacious and the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The spa experience that I had was fantastic, came out feeling very relaxed. However, our dining experience was horrible. The continental breakfast was lacking and did not cater to those who have food allergies, I had to ask for gluten free bread and it was brought out toasted (obviously from the freezer). The in room dining experience was worse however with our burgers being inedible and ridiculously over priced. I couldn't eat it as it included ingredients that I couldn't eat, despite asking beforehand. It made my husband feel off for three days. The rest of our experience here made up for our dining. I would recommend everything about this hotel minus the restaurant.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn B, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hello rjoy 17 Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. Great to note your found the accommodation comfortable and the staff friendly and professional. With regards to the restaurant catering in to food allergies, with prior warning we do cater dietary requirments. The gluten free bread is kept in the freezer as it does not have a long life and it is not practical or cost effective to buy in fresh every day especially when we do not know if we have any guests whom are gluten intolerant. By having it in the freezer we are able to provide this at late notice of a guests special dietary requirement. I am sorry to learn that the burgers were not to your liking, we generally get great feedback on this item. I will pass on your feedback to the Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager and I do apologise if you were incorrectly informed of the ingredients. I am pleased that overall you did enjoy your stay and we do hope you will visit again.
Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would highly recommend this hotel, we stayed in a delux spa room which has direct access to the beach pool. The room was clean and modern, and the hotel food is great, you can order food from around the pool and the staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in December 2014 and it was really quiet so was nice to hang out around the pool, not too many kids.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn B, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you Kate for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Great to note you enjoyed your stay and dining experience. We do hope you will visit us again.
Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room we were given was an upgrade to a spa room. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Included was free movies and parking. When it is stormy which it was the night we stayed the movies cut in and out, and room service wasn't available as they closed the restaurant early. We went out for dinner which is a 2 minute drive into the Main Street. Breakfast was pay for one get one free which was a nice surprise. The breakfast wasn't that great and if you like coffee, go somewhere else to get one. But we sat by the pool and ate which was a lovely. The pool could have done with a scoop out of the leaves and debris from the storm, but it looked like there was not too many staff on at this time of the year. The pool was lovely despite the leaves. Over all it was a nice night stay for the price we paid for the room. There are a lot of resorts in port douglas and a lot are run down, but this has been nicely maintained to date.

Room Tip: Spa room was nice as an upgrade, upper levels are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn B, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you Joe for taking the time to provide feedback. Pleasing to note you found the accommodation and Resort well maintained. The pool is maintained daily and I am sorry to learn the leaves where not removed as soon as the storm passed. We do hope you will visit again sometime.
Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I have stayed at many peppers resorts and unfortunately this one was disappointing compared to others. We arrived and despite their home page website advising we would get a level 2 or 3 room we got a ground level where our balcony and spa faced a caravan park-not the best location to have a spa with people constantly walking past. We then got moved to another room, again on the ground floor that had so many Mosquitos we couldn't open our doors. The staff and management were very difficult to work with regarding satisfaction with our rooms. After almost 2 hours of room changing and phone calls the stuff eventually moved is to another room. This room was nice and what we expected from the website. We were also dissappinted with the included 'full buffet breakfast'. This was only confidential and had only minimal choice. Compared to all other peppers resorts that had a full hot breakfast.

Unfortunately this hotel guests are also allowed to smoke on their balconies and when you specifically book a spa room and its on your balcony it's not very enjoyable with people smoking in the next room.

The service from the concierge and the beach pool were great.

Would not stay here again though, considering the other resorts available like sea temple that have better service, food and better room set up.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn B, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Rba4 Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I am very sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectation. With regards to the room location we do not guarantee which level you will be allocated as it does depend on availability at time of arrival. It is pleasing to note the staff were able to resolve this for you on the day of arrival. Our packages include continental breakfast only and this is highlighted on the website and confirmations, however you are able to upgrade to a full breakfast for a small charge should you choose to. Great to note you enjoyed the pool and the conciege staff looked after you well.
Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Cove
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our little family stayed in one of the swim out rooms for 5 days and nights and loved it. The rooms where tasteful and clean and the staff were only too happy to help when we needed them. Room Service wasn't on one night during our stay so we had to go out, which wasn't too much of an issue even though we were a little tired from swimming all day, Macrossan St only a 2 min walk up the road. And unfortunately the gorgeous curtain fountain that you see in the pictures was not on during our stay which was a little disappointing as it gives the pool a gorgeous ambience. My 4yr old son loved the beach pool and swam all day. Kid friendly! Both my husband and I had a massage with Katelynn who was just amazing, I totally recommend the Spa! We will be back! Thankyou Peppers Port Douglas!

Room Tip: Definitley try and book a swim out lagoon room, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn B, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Manuela for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Great to hear you enjoyed your Peppers Beach Club experience. Note your comments on the water curtain which unfortuantely developed a problem and required maintenance which has now been rectified. The spa is definately worth a visit as you highlight. We look forward to welcominng you back.
Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway.The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments).The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00am - 10.30am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00pm - 8.30pm closed Thursday nights.The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer.Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.