We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No stone left un turned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No stone left un turned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The resort really impressed me in particular the lagoon pool is simpy amazing. No need to go to the bewch & the pool has sand in it & sun lounge chairs that you can relax on whilst being close to the hotel. The resort is well developed & is quite striking with lovely touches . The service at the breakfast , lunch & resruraht is very disappointing . I ordered a snack from the bar & the young guy snapped at me very rude . I also rang the restaurant before it was open maybe 15 mins earlier & I was asked to call back . If they wanted to impress their guests they could have taken down the order and put it through once they were open . I rang after then opened & the girl was quite rude & hang up on me rather quickly . Not what you expect from a high star resort . The menu is not expansive & only offers a few items not much variety especially if you plan on staying for a long stay . The burger & fries were a let down I'm sure the local fish & chip shop would have made a nicer burger. Also , please note that the "contential" breakfast is only from a selection of cold dishe's ... Very disappointing - upon paying for my own hot food it was rather average . The selection at breakfast is very dismal not much on option at all & probably one of the most lack lustre selections I have seen & I have stayed at a lot of international hotels. Overall , the resort gets a huge tick , great & relaxing option for families , kids & the like. If the food / service was better it would get 4.5 out of 5

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    184
    55
    16
    8
See reviews for
117
320
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful resort loved the pool area. Location is great a block or two away from the Main Street. We had a buffet breakfast one day and would not recommend it. We did find that there was a lot of children which made the pool area less relaxing. Staff are friendly and welcoming. Overall was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter & I have just spent 2 days at Peppers Pt Douglas. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There was a 2 for 1 breakfast deal during our
stay, and the food was amazing. I would highly recommend this resort, and it is in the best position.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came to Peppers for a mini break this weekend and it was clean, bright and friendly. The location is fabulous- close to beach and Macrossan St-and the pool inviting. The staff were accommodating and service was generally great. I stayed in a spa suite and it was perfect for my stay- just a little tired and in need of a freshen up. I'd recommend Peppers though- would absolutely return with friends and family!

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Beach Club for ten days with my fiancé. We are lucky enough to consider ourselves frequent luxury travellers. I have never felt compelled to write a review but I feel strongly the need to manage your expectations.
On the surface it looks great the pool is beautiful.
1. Reception & front desk staff are rude, walk by reception they avoid eye contact. After settling a ten day bill (thousands) never received a thank you for your stay. Or acknowledgement/appreciation for my business like Peppers is actually the only resort to stay in.
2. To access half of the hotel rooms is like navigating a rabbit warren.
3. TV crackled picture was fuzzy
4. Shower water temperature was inconsistent and got scolding hot out of no where - dangerous.
5. No block out blinds beautiful shutters but sleeping at night was like some left the light on and come sunrise the room was bright.

The hotel is average best, no way 5 stars. I attempted to bring some issues to the attention of the front desk but I knew it was falling on deaf ears so I didn't waste my energy getting frustrated by their response. Ironically 8 years ago I stayed at the Mantra Port Sea and I would say that experience was better than Peppers.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is beautiful with a great pool and comfortable rooms with amenities. The best part is the location—walking distance to the beach and to Macrossen Street, where all the restaurants and shops are located. We walked there every night, had dinner and an ice cream and enjoyed the tropical ambiance. Port Douglas is a great place to visit and see the reef and Peppers is a great place to stay while there. It really felt like we were in paradise!
Tropical Heritage Cairns – clean and serviceable
We stayed here for one night when we had a very early 7AM flight out of Cairns. We just needed somewhere to sleep. The hotel was actually pretty nice – clean, good parking, laundry facilities (which we used), and safe location. The lady at the front desk was very accommodating, even fronting us some change for the washing machine (which we paid back later) and telling us how to let ourselves out in the morning since we were leaving before the staff was to arrive. If you are looking for an exotic tropical vacation, you will probably want to try something a little fancier, but if you need a decent hotel for a night or two, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you Pasadena for taking the time to review your stay. Great to note you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will visit again sometime. Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

At $250.00 per night, we would have expected something a little nicer… But perhaps alarm bells should have been going off when a hotel is self-rated as being 5-star standard accommodation...

We stayed in a spa room on the first floor. Immediately upon walking into the room, we were hit by a waft of bleach and damp. We didn't have to look hard to keep finding signs that the room was quite run down - rust/dirt/chips in the plaster inside and outside the room, particularly in the bathroom and around the spa located outside on the balcony. The television was the smallest we have ever seen in a resort style hotel, we couldn't access the "free wi-fi", the hair dryer was broken, there was just a top sheet on the bed (no quilt/doona/blanket???) which was very strange, there were only two towels in the bathroom with no spares to be found anywhere, the room didn't have any curtain/blinds, just shutter doors that allow sunlight to come flooding into the room first thing in the morning, and main doors to enter rooms would slam shut, meaning that at all hours of the night we would wake up startled when our neighbours returned to their rooms with a loud bang. To top it off, on the morning of departure, a house keeper came barging into our room at 9am (no warning, no knock on the door), when we had clearly not checked out yet and should not have been expected to yet as check-out time is 10am. Sure, we understand that accidents happen - but perhaps an apology would have been nice.

The location is great, close by to the beach and not far from the main street, the bed was comfortable, and the pool looked very inviting.

Sadly though, the negatives far outweigh the positives, and we won't be staying there when we next return to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you LoueeLouaah for providing feedback on your stay which is appreciated as it helps us to identify areas in need of attention to improve the overall guest experience. I am very sorry to learn that the room did not meet your expectaton and I have passed your feedback onto the relevant Managers to address. My sincere apologies for the room attendants actions. This has been addressed with all of the staff members to ensure they follow the standard procedures. We are committed to improving standards and do hope that you will visit again sometime.
Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway.The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments).The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00am - 10.30am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00pm - 8.30pm closed Thursday nights.The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer.Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.