We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over promises, under delivers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Manly
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over promises, under delivers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Beach Club for ten days with my fiancé. We are lucky enough to consider ourselves frequent luxury travellers. I have never felt compelled to write a review but I feel strongly the need to manage your expectations.
On the surface it looks great the pool is beautiful.
1. Reception & front desk staff are rude, walk by reception they avoid eye contact. After settling a ten day bill (thousands) never received a thank you for your stay. Or acknowledgement/appreciation for my business like Peppers is actually the only resort to stay in.
2. To access half of the hotel rooms is like navigating a rabbit warren.
3. TV crackled picture was fuzzy
4. Shower water temperature was inconsistent and got scolding hot out of no where - dangerous.
5. No block out blinds beautiful shutters but sleeping at night was like some left the light on and come sunrise the room was bright.

The hotel is average best, no way 5 stars. I attempted to bring some issues to the attention of the front desk but I knew it was falling on deaf ears so I didn't waste my energy getting frustrated by their response. Ironically 8 years ago I stayed at the Mantra Port Sea and I would say that experience was better than Peppers.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    187
    55
    16
    8
See reviews for
119
322
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel is beautiful with a great pool and comfortable rooms with amenities. The best part is the location—walking distance to the beach and to Macrossen Street, where all the restaurants and shops are located. We walked there every night, had dinner and an ice cream and enjoyed the tropical ambiance. Port Douglas is a great place to visit and see the reef and Peppers is a great place to stay while there. It really felt like we were in paradise!
Tropical Heritage Cairns – clean and serviceable
We stayed here for one night when we had a very early 7AM flight out of Cairns. We just needed somewhere to sleep. The hotel was actually pretty nice – clean, good parking, laundry facilities (which we used), and safe location. The lady at the front desk was very accommodating, even fronting us some change for the washing machine (which we paid back later) and telling us how to let ourselves out in the morning since we were leaving before the staff was to arrive. If you are looking for an exotic tropical vacation, you will probably want to try something a little fancier, but if you need a decent hotel for a night or two, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you Pasadena for taking the time to review your stay. Great to note you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will visit again sometime. Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

At $250.00 per night, we would have expected something a little nicer… But perhaps alarm bells should have been going off when a hotel is self-rated as being 5-star standard accommodation...

We stayed in a spa room on the first floor. Immediately upon walking into the room, we were hit by a waft of bleach and damp. We didn't have to look hard to keep finding signs that the room was quite run down - rust/dirt/chips in the plaster inside and outside the room, particularly in the bathroom and around the spa located outside on the balcony. The television was the smallest we have ever seen in a resort style hotel, we couldn't access the "free wi-fi", the hair dryer was broken, there was just a top sheet on the bed (no quilt/doona/blanket???) which was very strange, there were only two towels in the bathroom with no spares to be found anywhere, the room didn't have any curtain/blinds, just shutter doors that allow sunlight to come flooding into the room first thing in the morning, and main doors to enter rooms would slam shut, meaning that at all hours of the night we would wake up startled when our neighbours returned to their rooms with a loud bang. To top it off, on the morning of departure, a house keeper came barging into our room at 9am (no warning, no knock on the door), when we had clearly not checked out yet and should not have been expected to yet as check-out time is 10am. Sure, we understand that accidents happen - but perhaps an apology would have been nice.

The location is great, close by to the beach and not far from the main street, the bed was comfortable, and the pool looked very inviting.

Sadly though, the negatives far outweigh the positives, and we won't be staying there when we next return to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you LoueeLouaah for providing feedback on your stay which is appreciated as it helps us to identify areas in need of attention to improve the overall guest experience. I am very sorry to learn that the room did not meet your expectaton and I have passed your feedback onto the relevant Managers to address. My sincere apologies for the room attendants actions. This has been addressed with all of the staff members to ensure they follow the standard procedures. We are committed to improving standards and do hope that you will visit again sometime.
Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had 3 nights here in a "spa" room on the third level which faced the pool. The bed was comfortable, but the room was not able to be made fully dark because of the shutters used as shades to the windows. Parking is free, but the wifi is not anywhere in the hotel (why not guys?). Breakfast is expensive & I'd recommend eating out in port douglas itself. Only 2 min walk to Four Mile Beach & 5 min walk to the main drag, so the location is a winner.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hello mdhAustralia. Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. Note your comments on the shutters and advise we are in the process of sourcing blinds that will alleviate this. With regards to the Wifi this is complimentary. If you had problems logging on Receptions would certainly been able to assist you with this. Our location is definately perfect being one block from the main street and beach. We do hope you to have the opportunity to welcome back again. Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our family of 6 is staying here at the Peppers Beach Club right now. The property itself is attractive from the street and the pool area is very nice...upon arriving I was excited to see our rooms and due to other travelers recommending the 3 bedroom plunge pool suites for a family we requested exactly that. Our rooms are #133 & 134. Unfortunately our unit faces the street and our bedrooms overlook a trailer park. The plunge pool is not appetizing in the least as it looks slightly dirty and not appealing. When we first arrived I asked if there were any other rooms available but the hotel is fully booked. I can't speak for any other rooms as I haven't seen them but our individual bedrooms are 3 star at best. They are small, cramped and again...overlook a trailer park as well as smelling musty if the ceiling fans aren't on. On the positive side, the kitchen/living area is nice and spacious. The location to the town is great...that is definitely a positive but I wouldn't recommend Peppers if you are expecting luxury...i think the rooms need a major overhaul. We came directly from The Beach Club on Hamilton Island (no affiliation) which was AMAZING so it was quite a contrast.

Room Tip: Request rooms with access to the pool or corner units facing Davidson street. Request rooms way from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hello NancyDR2014, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I am sorry to learn the location of the room was not to your liking. With regards to the plunge pool this is cleaned and tested regularly to ensure it is up to standard. As we have experienced windy days it is possible that debri from the surronds may have fallen into the pool. It is a great location as you highlight just a block from the town centre and beach. Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Cocktails were amazing, Location fantastic, rooms were spacious but the cleaning staff were a bit slack, left coffee cups dirty for 2 days, did not replace coffee pods etc etc.... The bed was made shockingly also....
But food and restaurant nice.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you Janmick04 for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Great to note that overall you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for brining the housekeeping issues to our attention and I advise this has been addressed with the relevant staff and retraining is being undertaken to ensure they are up to the required high standard. I am very sorry that this impacted on your stay. We do hope you will visit again sometime. Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Overall, Peppers is a great place for a holiday. We booked Room 124 which is one of the Swim up rooms. It is managed by Belle Property Group. You pay a bit extra for the prime location. Unfortunately as Belle manage this separately it does have its issues. Firstly, your room does not get serviced regardless of the length of your stay. We contacted Belle and said they could arrange a service for $130 extra! A lot for a bedding change and some toilet paper. it is also a bit more difficult to arrange room service. Some of the Peppers staff don't like you to take cocktails/food back to your room. You also can't room charge anything. You need to leave your credit card with them. The staff we dealt with were great though. The room itself was nice and the resort is a good place. We have a 2 year old and it was a good place to bring your kids. For some reason, nearly every day the lawns were being mowed, hedges trimmed, blower/vac being used. So for a good 2 hours each day you have that sort of noise to deal with. It would be good if they had maintenance performed at a time which is not prime for guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Dave

If you book with Peppers Beach Club you will have access to all of the facilities. It is a great location and a fantastic pool area. Hopefully you will stay with us when you next visit. Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway.The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments).The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00am - 10.30am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00pm - 8.30pm closed Thursday nights.The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer.Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.