We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and child friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luxurious and child friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at peppers beach club port Douglas. We were very pleased with the friendliness and professionalism of the staff (always greeting us around the hotel grounds, holding doors open for us). They also accommodated for our little infant travelling with us by giving us a quiet, spacious penthouse room overlooking the pool but far enough away that she wasn't woken by the other little kids enjoying themselves. Even though we booked a one bedroom hotel room, ours was extremely spacious with a full kitchen and dining area, a separate full laundry and a chaise room in addition to our bedroom. We were very impressed! They even offered to order a baby bath for us when we came ill equipped.

Just a side note, if you are keen for a special night out we loved Harrison's. Even though they are a fine food restaurant, they accommodated for us with our 9 week old providing ample room near our table for our pram, moving us to a quiter area of the restaurant and even setting up a change table for us! The food was a little expensive but well worth it as it was just amazing! We went twice in one day once we discovered it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Ally4685,

I would just like to say thank you for your great feedback regarding your stay with us.

Fantastic! To hear that your daughter had an amazing stay, this usually means that Mum and Dad also enjoy their stay. Our one bedroom apartments are very spacious and we can organise most things for little ones – just enquire when booking.

I would have to agree – Harrisons is amazing. It is a fantastic alternative to our in house restaurant Sublime Bar and Grill.
.
We would love to hear more feedback on your experience, so that we can learn what we needed to do to receive 5 star rating. If you would like to contact me directly at the resort on 07 4087 100 or portdouglas@peppers.com.au

Ally4685, thank you again for the great feedback and please contact us directly at the resort to organise your next visit as a return Pepper’s guest.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    201
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
131
342
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Very well equipped. Room/s need a thorough deep clean with dry cleaning of upholstery or replacement. The rooms should be cleaned thoroughly for each new arrival. Room daily make ups sketchy. I never saw a manager or supervisor around while we were there to monitor. Great product but lacking in care and attention.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Anniechamp,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Peppers Beach Club.
Please accept my apologies for the shortfalls that you have mentioned in the cleanliness of your room.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you personally so that I can obtain the finer details of your stay dates and room number, so that we can investigate and prevent any further impact.

One a positive note it was great to read that our team were friendly and took good care of you.

Please feel free to contact me on 07 4087 1000 or via portdouglas@peppers.com.au.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Trip Advisor needs a category between average and really good, because that's what Peppers Port Douglas is - good. The facilities are great, lovely beach pool, restaurant, excellent location. The room was a bit of a letdown though. Poorly designed and the cleaning was not good enough - thick layers of dust on the door shutters and shelves, and the bathroom could have used a good scour. We booked the eco-package (no need for new towels or servicing for only 3 nights) but it seems that meant we were relegated to the only part of the hotel without a lift, and we were on the third floor and had to navigate around the building to get to the pool. We are young and fit, so we could handle the stairs, but there was no warning of it prior to booking, so make sure if you can't handle three long flights of stairs you get a ground floor room, or are in a part of the resort with lifts!

Room Tip: Check your room has a lift or is on the ground floor - some rooms are accessible only via stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear KateHendo,

Thank you for the post regarding your recent stay with us.

Firstly please accept my apologies RE: your comments around the quality of housekeeping; I have passed on your feedback to our housekeeping manager to review with the team.

You are correct in saying that not all of our rooms have lift access – Our website makes mention that the lifts to not service all rooms and that requests can be made at point of reservation. We are always happy to fulfil requests where ever possible.

KateHendo, please free contact me direct on 07 4087 1000 or portdouglas@peppers.com.au so that I can learn more of your visit, room number, stay dates and how you booked. It will also give me the opportunity to apologise personally for the shortfalls that you experienced.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We only had 1 night at Peppers Beach Club but it's a nice resort.

Staff were helpful and friendly, the pool area is beautiful with a man made beach and deck chairs around it. Unfortunately it was raining the day we were there so we didn't get to enjoy the pool.

We stayed in a deluxe spa suite on the ground floor with a gate leading straight to the pool area. The room was really nice and modern, it had a very comfy bed, coffee machine, bar fridge etc. The door to the bathroom had come off the hinge, so that was a bit annoying that it wasn't checked beforehand and the spa outside wasn't squeaky clean however overall the room was lovely. Could hear a bit of noise from people outside the pool area and the balcony next door but nothing major.

We didn't get to try the restaurant or use the gymnasium, but they do have all the facilities you would need. Location is also fantastic with a very short walk to the main street (5-10mins) and an even shorter walk to the beach. There is also free underground car parking available.

Overall it was a nice stay, just wish we were there for longer to enjoy that incredible pool area!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here in the lead up to our wedding and for our first night as a married couple. We had a lovely surprise in our hotel room when we checked in - champagne and a lovely handwritten note. We actually ended up switching rooms the next day (as it smelt like mould from the wet season - thank you to reception for making this super easy). The room was a Penthouse, facing the pool - stunning! A lot of our guests stayed here too and I know they had a ball. The pool was fabulous, as was the pool bar. Great location, we walked to Four Mile Beach and also Macrosson Street several times. Will be back for sure. Thank you for making our wedding memorable!

Room Tip: Penthouse stay for a large room, facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I checked in to this magnificent resort and enjoyed what it had to offer. It is well situated, nice and quiet from road noise and our apartment (116) on the ground floor, overlooking the magnificent pool, was spacious and well equipped. The pool here is the best pool ever with white sand going out into the water, ideal for small children as it doesn't get deep too quickly. The only gripe we had was the breakfast here, very small basic selection and cooked menu usually took half an hour or more to be served. The place should be able to afford an urn instead of luke warm pump water dispensers for tea and coffee. On a couple of occasions our name was not on the breakfast list which was annoying and lacked organisation. The breakfast is not befitting that of a "five star hotel". Also a few more umbrellas for patrons might be a great investment in comfort when it is pelting with rain.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Peppers was simply fabulous. Great rooms, fabulous service, close to the town and beach, but isolated enough to be it's own sanctuary. The pool is wonderful and relaxing, the rooms spacious and well appointed. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway. The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments). The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00Am - 10.00Am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00Pm - 8.30Pm. The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer. Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.