We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic at Port Douglas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magic at Port Douglas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Recently we spent a surprise birthday weekend at Peppers and loved every moment from check in to the very reluctant check out. Special mention must be made of the amazing service we received when we walked into the foyer (not to mention the very welcome upgrade). The lagoon pool with beach is brilliant for lap swimming or just floating around in. The kids loved it. Happy hour well worth waiting for too with appropriate suggestions for Australia Day. Elizabeth in Housekeeping deserves special mention for her outstanding help. We'll be back again soon....

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    180
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
117
313
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

What a wonderful place this is...let me start at the beginning my travel agent booked this for us and then we had to change the dates because our daughter and son in law decided to come with us...I rang to find out if we had rooms on the ground floor on the Saturday before and that is when i knew that we had out of all the places my hubby and I have been in Pt Douglas we had finally found THE SPOT..what sealed the deal for me?...the Staff???..yes the beautiful and extraordinary Nyra she went above and beyond for us...and made a holiday into something that still makes me smile...when we arrived she was there to greet us with the wonderfully helpful Scott ready to take our bags...she was worried someone had booked our room out accidentally that morning...ok she took us to our room for the night OMG it was amazing and there was a bottle of Champers there for us waiting for my birthday...The next day we went to our room (they moved us) we had gone to Mossman Gorge our rooms had the wow factor i was worried after reading some reviews...rooms were amazing....We arrived on the 25th January Australia day weekend there where people everywhere kids laughing with parents...after reading many people complaining about the little ones in the pool i was worried about the noise what noise??? during the day everyone was laughing and having fun and then at night after eight quiet...then not until after nine in morning.... my daughter and i took great advantage of the swim up bar area and the food and cocktails where just wonderful...then after the long weekend we experienced the opposite not many people very quiet and just as wonderful...what a holiday i will remember this as a wonderful family time in a beautiful place with amazing staff for all of my life thank you Peppers Port Douglas

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the bottom floor if possible as it is only a short trip to the pool but for older peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival, the room was very neat and tidy! We got the spa room (basic room) for a great rate. The location of our rooms was very awkward as we had to exit the resort through the restaurant which was uncomfortable at times because we kept getting asked if we wanted a table.

Loved the location was this resort. Walking distance to the beach and Main Street ps for shopping and restaurants. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

My negative would be that one morning our cleaning service was very poor. Our bed was very poorly made and the pillows weren't even put neatly just chucked on the bed (some leaning out some laying down). The floor was covered in sand and were filthy with suss white stuff in the grout of the tiles that weren't there before, only meaning they weren't cleaned. We decided not to comment as we were vacating the next morning anyway but did make me frustrated that I wasn't done to the beautiful standard that was done previously. And that's my one guilty pleasure when holidaying...not having to make my bed! Also the mini bar was not restocked during this particular clean.

Overall a good stay. I enjoyed having a cocktail delivered to the pool but remember happy hour is from 4 to 5pm. Keep this in mind as they are quite pricey. Would have enjoyed this stay if the room was cleaned to expectations. However, I did enjoy the atmosphere of the resort and loved the location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weipa, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas from 19 to 24 January 2014.

We would like to note the following:

a) Bar staff were excellent. Delicious cocktails and extremely prompt room service for ice.

b) We stayed on an 'Eco Rate' meaning no daily room cleaning etc. Despite this we had staff knocking on the door from 9am every morning asking to clean our room. Despite continuing to say no and explaing why, the invasions to privacy occurred every day of our stay.

c) Beds were awful. Our "king bed" was two (2) single beds pushed together with an almost non-existent mattress topper to cover this. Mattress was also very hard, pillows old and uncomfortable. In a five (5) star resort I would expect luxurious bedding...

d) The female staff member responsible for the mini bars attended our room twice in the six (6) day stay. The first time she was tolerable... The second time she pushed my partner aside as she stormed into the room and rudely assessed our minibar. We had not used anything and advised her of such - this was disregarded. We asked this staff member if she could please ask house keeping to bring some toilet paper - to which she agreed. This never eventuated.

e) I found a small handful (in total) of dried noodles on the bench tops when we arrived - unsure if they were wiped down after the previous stay.

f) The breakfast was not a buffet but rather a continental spread with the option of one dish from the menu.

g) The pool had the "black spot" fungus growing in it. This was not a huge concern and the pool was otherwise lovely.

h) The kitchen was very well equipped.

Room Tip: Definitely get one of the ground floor rooms with the private swim up pontoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in a one bedroom spa room. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Beautiful resort and pool area, close to the beach and main street, staff were very friendly and helpful, would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile


Make no mistake this is a very pretty hotel with a gorgeous swimming pool. The rooms are modern and perfect. The staff are excellent.

The main problem is the restaurant; there isn't one. A small poolside area acts as a dining area for all meals. Dinners are BBQs. Breakfasts are continental or on upgrade hot; it's just ok. But for the Peppers brand which boasts food, this is lacking. Eggs are thrown onto a plate no decoration; it is quite easy to add parsley for decoration or a slice of lemon. For a brand which boasts Pepper food trails as per a sign on the reception desk the restaurant and food is boringly presented.

The chefs in Australia are well paid compared with Asian countries; yet the Peppers chef doesn't add parsely or lemon slice for decoration; the chef seemed flustered.

Let me relate my recent experience in a 3 star Balinese hotel. Scrambled egg came with a parsely and lemon as decoration, the plate was presented to the diner with a smile and "enjoy your meal". Australian chefs are being paid far more by comparison yet are, by the experience at Peppers Port Douglas, very lacking in style.

The casual dining area needs to be decorated at night; poolside tables and chairs do not suffice; the chairs at night need to be cushioned and covered and the tables decorated.

Peppers are a high quality brand; this is shameful.

As I said, the property is lovely, the staff are helpful but the restaurant is very poor.




  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed for four nights in a Lagoon suite. Just step out the door and into a beautiful 50 meter salt water pool with a beach. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The suite was also very well appointed and comfortable with pillow top mattress and excellent self contained facilities. The inclusive continental breakfast was also very good. Additional breakfast options are available. Beach and shops all very close with underground parking also available, I will come here on my next trip to Port Douglas. Highly recommended

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway.The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments).The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00am - 10.30am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00pm - 8.30pm closed Thursday nights.The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer.Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.