We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding....from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #17 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney
1 review
“Outstanding....from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend with my partner. From check-in to check-out, the 5 night stay was seamless.

Hotel itself is perfectly located within walking distance to town and the beach. Other luxury hotels in the Port are a much further distance out and mean you need either a car or to catch the bus service every day. The Beach Club is in an ideal spot.

We booked a Lagoon Room with our own private deck into the swimming pool. Again, perfect. It meant you were out of you apartment and in the pool within 2 seconds....and your private deck means you don't need to worry about sun loungers being snapped up by other guests.

Breakfast was included but only Continental. Very nice....but just yogurts, cereals, fruit and toast. Would have been nice to see some cheeses and continental meats. You can pay for a hot breakfast...but we didn't. The hotel General Manager even made himself available at every breakfast time and talked to all the guests....a great gesture which you don't see much in other places.

Staff....all amazing.

Pool...amazing.


I would highly recommend to anyone...especially if you are looking for a great quality, clean, quiet break.

Room Tip: Go for the Lagoon room....it's worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    162
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
100
279
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here with my partner, we are both 25. The staff were excellent and very friendly. The room was very clean with good sized bathroom. The bedroom was a little small but most of our time was spent outside. The pool was spectacular as was having a bar next to it. You were able to order drinks from the bar, and they would be bought out to you in the pool.

Breakfast was a little basic compared to other places, but the food was a higher quality.

Other comments have complained about kids in the pool, however we thought this made the place better. Having children and families around lightens the place up so we it didnt bother us. Only problem with the pool was the lack of lounges but they wouldn't be able to fit anymore in. The spa on the balcony was excellent and the palm trees provide good privacy.

At night time the paths around the place are lighted by torches with looked awesome.

Overall this one of the best places i have stayed, however the price did match the quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room or you might end up facing the road. Pool access rooms let you have your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time in PD but not our last...love love love this place. Peppers is an awesome place to stay, 300m approx to the main street (maccrossan street) and about the same to the beach.

Unfortunately we leave Thursday 31/10/13 :-( but my wife and I want to share our 10 nights experience to help you book your trip.

We had 5 nights in a 1 bedroom suite (second floor) excellent room, big, self contained facilities (didn't use them much) pool view with the best balcony BBQ which we used several times for lunch.

The last half of our stay was spent in a lagoon deluxe pontoon room (direct pool access) love love loved it! Same room essentially as the first but with our own deck, banana lounges and pool access. Yes as per a previous review this deck area was often shaded (palm trees/position) but when we wanted sun (and the wife and I love sunbaking) we used common area lounges, the man made beach or the best method was to use one of the blow up lilos and float around the very large and awesome pool. The best thing was when too much sun was had we could retire to our own lounges, read, sleep and have direct access to our room for refreshments etc.

Staff excellent, Pool excellent, accomodation excellent, location excellent.

We plan to come back next October with friends to celebrate the wife's 40th so we checked out a lot of other resorts during this stay! Peppers beach club is where we will be next year without question!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week at the resort.. It is modern with beautiful pool area , clean, close to town and the beach with everything you really need for a relaxing holiday.. Staff are professional and very helpful.
We had a beautiful experience and will return to this resort again !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights this week in connecting rooms 205-6. The room was a one bedroom apartment with a connecting spa room that gave you a two bedroom apartment feel. The rooms were tastefully furnished in beige tones with a fully self contained kitchen, a large two seater sofa and an armchair, dining table with 4 chairs, small laundry and 3 balconies (all facing the pool). All the appliances were new and in perfect working order.

The rooms were exceptionally clean upon arrival and were serviced daily. My only gripe about housekeeping was that they didn't do a vacuum at all the entire stay therefore there was sand on the floors the entire time we were there.
We had requested a cot and this was already set up when we arrived and made up with clean sheets ($40 extra charge for the entire stay for the cot). Beds were very comfortable and sheets clean and crisp. The bathrooms (2) very clean and the showers had excellent water pressure (non existent these days in hotels, so that was a welcome surprise!)

The pool is fabulous. It's the highlight of the resort. Perfect for children and adults alike. The sun loungers are comfortably padded, there are tables to rest your cocktails and snacks on and there is (albeit sporadic) poolside service. If the wait is too long for poolside service, the bar and cafe is right at the pool and you are able to order there and someone brings it to you. Fantastic.
The pool itself is cleaned twice daily (absolutely necessary given there are lots of children who may have "accidents" in the pool!).

The grounds are really pretty with lots of tropical plants and trees and are well maintained. Front desk is open and airy. Concierge available along with bellman/porter to help with luggage.

Basement parking (very steep gradient but manageable even in our tiny rented vehicle) with each room or apartment allocated its own parking space. Lifts as well as stairs to rooms.

We stayed on the north side of the resort and would highly reccomended this side as the south side gets very little sun (obviously). The apartments with their own poolside decks are on the south side only and unless you want to be in the shade all day don't book these (the entire time we were there no-one seemed to use their decks and sun loungers on the south side, they were empty all day and no-one else can use them as they are exclusively for those rooms and you can't get to them unless you swim there).
I would imagine that in peak season there would be a battle to attain a sun lounger as there aren't that many (maybe 20-25) and people seem to like "reserving" them by throwing a towel, hat, room key, anything at all really, very early in the morning then not returning to sit on them for hours.
People that complain in other reviews that the children are too noisy and disturbing are being ridiculous - its so relaxing by the pool even with the noise of kids having fun! (note I do not have children!)
Breakfast was the usual spread you would find at most resorts. I didn't have breakfast included in my stay so I paid $35 per person for breakfast. Expensive.
My rooms cost $730.00 per night. Yes, you read that correctly. $730.00 a night. You would think at that price I was staying at 5th Avenue in New York but its only Port Douglas!
The staff I came across were pleasant enough but nothing to rave about either. Nevertheless I don't go on holiday to meet good staff I go on holiday to relax in clean and beautifully surroundings and that's what I got here. I will return to Peppers because of this.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here after the Pullman Sea temple double booked us but we were incredibly happy they did.

It is a beautiful resort, the pool is incredible. Large sand lagoon (about 50m's I think) perfectly position to get the best out of the sun.
Staff are friendly, hotel is located in a great position (MUCH better than Pullmans) close to the main street and right next to the beach.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND, it was perfect.

The only thing that was a little frustrating (and Im not sure how the hotel would fix this) was people reserving all the day beds from 7am in the morning on their way to breakfast. They then left there towels on them all day. The hotel asks guests not to do this so we didn't, but then we missed out on a daybed almost every day. It was school holidays though and the hotel was full. I would recommend getting one of the few rooms with the swim up private balcony if you can.

Will return to this hotel on every trip to Port Douglas, it was incredible.

Room Tip: Swim up private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Went as a family and booked a 2 bed apartment overlooking the pool (recommended) with a kitchen so we could be independent with our meals when we wanted. Facilities were excellent, well looked after and very modern and clean, great central location to beach , shops etc, always very clean and staff attentive with wonderful customer service and attention to detail. Good secure off-street parking.
Excellent for a family as the beautiful central pool is half shallow with its sandy beach , great for little ones to swim and play, and other half great 50m length for some adult swimming. Excellent seating around pool for watching little ones or for just sitting back and having a nice cool cocktail by the pool.
Laundry and Kitchen facilities in apartment were excellent, with all you would need for cooking (perhaps just a couple of extra bowls for mixing but can get by) a decent meal for family night in, or room service from the restaurant was avail too with a basic little kids menu if needed. Restaurant had delicious food and good service, expensive but worth it, very yummy , probably little to expensive to eat there every night.
Main bedroom just lacked some basket drawers in cupboard for us to put our clothes etc away but certainly lots of hanging space. (Nothing that would put us off staying here though).
Gym is small with a few pieces of equipment but is well maintained and does have good aircon and tv, but with fantastic beaches would rather get out and exercise in the beautiful outdoors anyway.
Would recommend for family friendly, not for romantic couple but still wonderful central facilities and looking forward to a future stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas
Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway.The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments).The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00am - 10.30am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00pm - 8.30pm closed Thursday nights.The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer.Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.