We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love love love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here after the Pullman Sea temple double booked us but we were incredibly happy they did.

It is a beautiful resort, the pool is incredible. Large sand lagoon (about 50m's I think) perfectly position to get the best out of the sun.
Staff are friendly, hotel is located in a great position (MUCH better than Pullmans) close to the main street and right next to the beach.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND, it was perfect.

The only thing that was a little frustrating (and Im not sure how the hotel would fix this) was people reserving all the day beds from 7am in the morning on their way to breakfast. They then left there towels on them all day. The hotel asks guests not to do this so we didn't, but then we missed out on a daybed almost every day. It was school holidays though and the hotel was full. I would recommend getting one of the few rooms with the swim up private balcony if you can.

Will return to this hotel on every trip to Port Douglas, it was incredible.

Room Tip: Swim up private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    188
    55
    16
    8
See reviews for
119
325
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Went as a family and booked a 2 bed apartment overlooking the pool (recommended) with a kitchen so we could be independent with our meals when we wanted. Facilities were excellent, well looked after and very modern and clean, great central location to beach , shops etc, always very clean and staff attentive with wonderful customer service and attention to detail. Good secure off-street parking.
Excellent for a family as the beautiful central pool is half shallow with its sandy beach , great for little ones to swim and play, and other half great 50m length for some adult swimming. Excellent seating around pool for watching little ones or for just sitting back and having a nice cool cocktail by the pool.
Laundry and Kitchen facilities in apartment were excellent, with all you would need for cooking (perhaps just a couple of extra bowls for mixing but can get by) a decent meal for family night in, or room service from the restaurant was avail too with a basic little kids menu if needed. Restaurant had delicious food and good service, expensive but worth it, very yummy , probably little to expensive to eat there every night.
Main bedroom just lacked some basket drawers in cupboard for us to put our clothes etc away but certainly lots of hanging space. (Nothing that would put us off staying here though).
Gym is small with a few pieces of equipment but is well maintained and does have good aircon and tv, but with fantastic beaches would rather get out and exercise in the beautiful outdoors anyway.
Would recommend for family friendly, not for romantic couple but still wonderful central facilities and looking forward to a future stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We are a couple in our early 30’s and booked Peppers for a few of days of quiet relaxation at the end of our Queensland holiday. We didn’t realise (our mistake) that Peppers promote the Port Douglas Beach Club as one of their Family Escape destinations. This meant that the pool side area with sandy beach was pretty busy every day with children splashing, digging and playing. We thought it was a lovely resort and clearly a great place for families, just not quite what we were looking for!

The resort best bits

* The resort is well maintained, clean and tidy
* Lovely pool with sand beach on one edge
* Despite the number of children we saw during the day our room was pleasantly quiet in the evening, no crying babies!
* The resort is located very close to the centre of Port Douglas, only a 5 minute walk to restaurants, cafes and shops so no need for a car
* Friendly and helpful staff with tour desk next to reception

Things to keep in mind

* The hotel is located on a street corner and rooms either look inward to the pool or out to the street. We had an outward looking room which meant sitting on the balcony or in the spa bath was accompanied by general street noise (cars, trucks etc) and was not very private.
* Our room was quite dark and didn’t get a lot of natural light

Overall Peppers was just not quite what we were looking for but this was due to us not doing our research, in hindsight you couldn't ask for much more from a resort so close to the town centre. We stayed in a fantastic B&B out in Daintree village the night before and if you are looking for total quiet with stunning views (and don't mind driving) then we would recommend something like this more out of town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at Peppers for one night on our way out of Port Douglas. The service we received was exceptional, room service was fast and the meals were delicious! The rooms were great, however we had two single beds zipped into one and the balcony isn't very private. Highly recommend for families as it seemed to be very child friendly :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

A honest resort, I feel the children noise comment is not really the children out of control, but the theatre affect of the pool area enhances the noise, but yes will admit for a romantic couple... Probably not the place for you!! Staff were professional and couldn't do enough ... Will be back with kids next time!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very comfortable, perfectly positioned a short walk from the beach or Macrossan street. No complaints here. Staff are welcoming, rooms are clean and spacious, kitchen well-appointed & the in-room washing machine & dryer very useful. This is one of my favourite hotels. The pool does get quite noisy with kids and a massive improvement to the hotel would be to develop the palm tree area behind the end sun loungers to create a quiet adult-only sun lounger relaxation area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very good location close to 4 mile beach and town centre.Best hotel swimming pool I have ever experienced.Sandy beach and shallow water for children and long deep pool for adults to have a good swim.
Rooms good but some rooms on level 3 do not have lift access.
You have to pay for wifi access and ther is a surcharge if you wish to pay your account by credit card.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway.The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments).The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00am - 10.30am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00pm - 8.30pm closed Thursday nights.The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer.Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.