We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Peppers for a week in August 2013. The hotel is very nice and is very close both to the beach and the main street. It has a lovely pool with sandy beach. I suspect it could be overcrowded in peak season as there are not many lounges for guests' use, but there were no problems at the time we went there. The property seems to be kids friendly (although we didn't travel with the kids). The staff were super friendly and nothing was too much effort for them! We felt very welcomed.
On the down side, the continental breakfast was very average and not up to 5* standard. There wasn't much variety (especially of fruit, what you'd expect in QLD) and fruit juices weren't fresh. The upgrades to cooked options were reasonably priced. Housekeeping wasn't too good too. They never removed empty bottles of shampoo or shower gel (even though we were leaving them on the floor) and when they ran out of both shampoo and shower gel they didn't offer any replacements. This was a let down as we only found out after coming back from the beach. You would expect some sort of solution from local shop from 5* hotel. Anyway we had a very pleasant and relaxing stay and would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you book a spa room overlooking the pool, get the upper floor as the ground floor rooms aren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    188
    55
    16
    8
See reviews for
119
326
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Came with parents and the three kids. Had a Three Bedroom Apartment which was fantastic and gave us plenty of space. The point of difference i found was the staff, they were so friendly and helpful and exceeded my expectations. The huge pool was great for the kids and was located close to the beach and also the main street, but was still very quiet. Great Ressort.

I highly recommend and we will definitely be going back again.

Room Tip: All roms seemed to be brilliant, especially to ones with their own plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We, a couple of recently- turned seniors were looking for a comfortable place to stay in Port Douglas after a bad experience in Port Douglas last year, due to a very uncomfortable bed. However, it was not just a very comfortable bed that made this 8 night stay so memorable! The balcony of our apartment overlooked the magnificent beach pool area, from which we could watch families enjoying themselves, as we also did, wishing our young grandchildren were there to enjoy the beach pool with us. The staff were pleasant at all times and we liked the relaxed atmosphere. The location was perfect, being easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach and surf club where we enjoyed many lunches. We hope we can return next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As a couple of "seniors" we stayed at Peppers for 9 nights in July 2013. We were very courteously received and taken to our penthouse suite by the Concierge Gavin. The suite has a wonderful outlook over the pool. We had full cooking facilites including a dishwasher and a lovely barbeque on the balcony. There was even a washing machine and dryer. The bathroom was well appointed but we were a little disappointed that there was no bath. Also the tiles in the shower were quite slippery, so I think some grab rails are warranted. However we asked for and received from housekeeping a rubberised bath mat which helped some. The place is extremely clean and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Our accommodation was not in the main building but in a wing with a lift. For anyone even slightly disabled I would suggest a room on the ground floor in the main building would be preferable, saving a walk via 2 pool gates to get to the wing. Peppers is about 5 minutes stroll to the beach where this is a little cafe serving breakfast and lunch. We would happily stay at Peppers again if we had a car, but without one, we would probably look for something closer to the shops, restaurants and the marina. All the staff were charming and helpful. Special mention for Gavin the Concierge who looked after us very well. Our thanks and best wishes to you all.

Room Tip: Our penthouse suite was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear SydneyMidge,

Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your recent stay with us.

All of our one, two and three bedrooms are self-contained, even with a BBQ on the balcony as you mentioned. Sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed about no bath - there are no baths in any of the rooms.

Good to hear that Housekeeping was able to assist you with the non-slip mat for the shower. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our housekeeping team regarding your feedback in the cleanliness.

Thank you for the amazing feedback regarding the 'Charming Staff' - though in particular Gavin in Concierge - He is a true asset to our team and our guests.

Please ensure that you contact the resort direct (portdouglas@peppers.com.au) on your next visit so that we can look after you as return guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager - Peppers Bach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Amazing! We had the spa suite which has a spa on the balcony overlooking the beachy pool area! Gym, pool,spa, laundry services and secure under covered car parking. Room service is also available but they have a restaurant aswell. Literally a hop skip and jump to the famous 4mile beach which is absolutely stunning! Me and my hubby walked from the motel everywhere it's in a great location!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Peppers for 9 days in August. It was absolutely brilliant. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor, which was fully self contained with a full kitchen and a bbq on the balcony. Ideal for cooking up a couple of snags and enjoying a beer while taking in the fantastic views overlooking the pool. We had continental breakfast as part of our deal, which was really good with a great selection of food available. If I was to be picky, the only fault I could find was that the beds in both rooms were in fact only king single beds pushed together, instead of a true king sized bed. This was the only disappointing part of an otherwise awesome holiday. This was one of the best and most relaxing holidays we have ever had, only made better by the wonderful staff, who were there at any time to answer any question or recommend what to do or where to eat or whatever. Brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear nick,

Just a quick note to say thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Karl our Executive Chef has been working hard to improve our Breakfast offering and he will be chuffed to read your comments.

It is always great to read comment regarding the 'wonderful staff' - I cannot wait to share your post with them.

Please make sure that you contact the resort direct (portdouglas@peppers.com.au) on your next visit so that we can look after you.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager - Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My in-laws stayed here, so this is just a review of the times we joined them with our young kids. Their room was a penthouse, but no lift meant they had to climb 3 flights of stairs. Their well equipped room overlooked the pool. The swim up rooms looked better though, especially with a family. The beach style pool was the best thing I saw at the resort. Approx 50m long with sand covering the ground for most of it. So perfect for the kids! Location is also great, walking distant to centre of port Douglas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear scos,

Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your recent stay with us.

We agree we are lucky to have such an amazing lagoon pool; for families to relax around during the days. The kids and the big kids love our pool.

We do have lifts at the resort though do not service all rooms; we try to make this as clear as we can at point of booking and make every attempt to fulfil our guests requests.

Hope you had a safe trip back to Perth and we look forward to welcoming you and your in-laws back to Peppers Beach Club.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager - Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway.The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments).The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00am - 10.30am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00pm - 8.30pm closed Thursday nights.The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer.Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.