We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here here for Anzac day weekend we checked in Wednesday night with the kids we hadn't eaten yet. As it was almost 9pm reception advised us to go down to diner straight away the chef was more than happy to cook for us even though they just closed. The pool is stunning the Kid's love it we ate in the restaurant for breakfast both mornings Thursday and friday the same chef who cooked for us the night before " Daniel" just wanted to say thankyou for going out of your way to help us with making fruit yoghurt for us and making things we requested you smiled at us and where more than happy to help. Overall the resort was brilliant we where so impressed with the chef and his service to us by the way that diner you cooked as on Thursday night was beautiful thankyou once again will be back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    306
    180
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
117
313
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The girlfriend and I stayed here for a few nights while we got our dive tickets. The resort is very well laid out with a beautiful beach style pool in the middle with most the rooms overlooking it. The entrance into the resort is beautiful and feels very luxurious. The rooms are modern and tasteful. The rooms were services daily and were very well kept. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The location was very close to the Main Street and I would say it would be one of if not the best resort in port Douglas

That said there are some negative points to note.

The resort seemed to be advertised as a couples retreat. This is only somewhat true due to that our stay was coupled with the continuous noise of screaming children in the beach pool. What looks luxurious on arrival soon becomes the sandy inhabitants of children during daylight hours. If you have kids you'll love it. If you are looking for a romantic spot just be prepared for noise.

With this in mind the spa rooms are not able to be fully utilized. The spa baths are located on the balcony overlooking (and in full view of) the pool although there are blinds directly behind the spa if one was to stand up even slightly then they would still be in full view of the pool. The continuous sound of children mixed with the exceptionally loud spa bath pump and public nature of the spa meant that we did not use it extensively as we had hoped to due to that it was not very relaxing.

We tried room service one night ( during restaurant hours) it was very overpriced and very very poor quality.

Breakfast each day was included in our room price. Breakfast was exceptional. Fresh simple and well priced the hot breakfast options too were good and quality.

We had dinner at the restaurant once and this was the most disappointing dinner we have had out in FNQ to date. I will leave this review for the restaurant itself and not the resort.

Overall still a great spot. We will defiantly be staying here more often.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at Peppers Beach Club in mid April for 5 nights for our wedding/honeymoon and it was the best 5 nights ever! The 2 bed dual key apartment was amazing - it had everything you wanted plus some fantastic extra touches that made it really special. Firstly, we arrived to a bottle of champagne and welcome card congratulating us on our marriage. They also had lovely music playing when we arrived in the apartment so that made you feel very welcome. The apartment we stayed in was 223/224 which was stunning and overlooked the lagoon pool. We would definitely stay request that one again. The apartment is a dual key in that it is made up of a spa hotel room and fully self contained apartment. We had our 2 kids with us and it was so ideal for them also, plenty of space and an amazing and huge lagoon pool with a beach on one side was perfect for them to play and swim for hours. One of my favourite things about the place was the coffee machines in the room - so convenient. The standout though was the service from Heather the Events Co-ordinator - as I was getting married in Port Douglas and having my honeymoon at peppers Heather looked after us and made sure we had everything organised and really put in a lot of effort to make sure everything was perfect for us...Even when we sat down to have dinner at the lovely restaurant on-site, Heather had organised a lovely candle with flowers to come to our table. Heather was absolutely fantastic every step of the way and offered us great advice on wedding suppliers. Thank you so much Heather you really made our stay wonderful! I would recommend Peppers for couples and families, it is ideal for both. We will definitely be back, this is the best place to stay in Port Douglas - perfect central location, absolute luxury and exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the best place I have stayed at so far in Port Douglas. The centre piece of the resort is the pool, big and just like being on the beach, it's so kid friendly with it's gradual slop to deeper water. It's easy to keep an eye on the kids while you read a book... It's exactly like the pictures show. The rooms are great, we stayed in a one bedroom suite, lots of space for the two of us (left the kids at home, and the resort is still ideal). Staff were fantastic, from the welcome on arrival, to getting drinks from the bar to getting you room serviced. We will be back with the whole family.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mantalking,

Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your recent stay with. I cannot wait to pass on your comments to the team.

We agree that our pool is pretty amazing and I am very lucky to have the team that we have at the resort.

We look forward to welcoming the whole family back next time, please make sure that you contact us direct at the resort to organise the next stay.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here 7 nights over easter with our 7 year old.From the time of check in to leaving everything was awesome. The check in man (Kevin I think) was so helpful as we arrived early & our room was not ready,not a problem grab some towles & go for a swim. Wow what a swimming pool! We lazied around the pool all week, cooked on our in room bbq, swam up to the pool bar, all the kids made friends, it was a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Kia ora jaffajames,

We trust that you had a safe trip home across the ditch. I really enjoyed reading your post and have already passed it on the team.

I believe that you may have been greeted by Gavin – who is just fantastic. Glad to hear that he was able to look after you on your early arrival.

The beach lagoon is great for kids, making friends and building sand castles. We had some amazing weather over Easter which was perfect for lazing around the pool.

All of our one bedroom apartments have an electric BBQ on the balcony which is a great hit with our guests.

Reading your other post in Port Douglas – The Wildlife Habitat is great for kids (and the big kids as well). The Surf Club just a short walk towards the beach is a great spot for dinner.

Thank you again for the post and being a Senior Contributor makes it that little bit extra special for us.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were only here for two nights, but really enjoyed our stay. This is a very clean, bright, and cheerful looking hotel surrounded by beautiful trees and other vegetation. The large swimming pool within is built like a beach with a sandy slanted beach-like entry side with many beach chairs. On the other side of the swimming pool is the restaurant and bar. Our room had an balcony overlooking the swimming pool with a whirlpool bath. We has dinner one night and breakfast 2 mornings in the hotel restaurant. Food was well prepared and good, although we thought the menu was confusing. We walked about 2 block to the beach one evening for dinner. A beautiful walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear gsully1,

I just wanted to drop a quick line to say thank you for taking the time to post regarding your recent stay with us.

I cannot wait to pass on your comments to not only our housekeeping team regarding your feedback about cleanliness, but to our gardener, Damon work very hard to keep our gardens looking as good as they do.

Our restaurant, Sublime Bar and Grill is located right on pool level and is a great way to start the day with a nice relaxing breakfast.

We trust that you had a safe journey back home to Knoxville, Tennessee and we look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Beach Club.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in a spa room which over looked the pool with our own spa bath. Room was luxurious and sand/ beach style pool was great. We ate in the hotel restaurant which overlooked the pool on our first night. Food was tapas style so small portions. We had the recommended number but were still hungry - very tasty but very very expensive and would not recommend eating here- much better restaurants elsewhere. Hotel in v close proximity to the beach and town so ideal location. Would definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear KatLouise1985,

Thank you for your post regarding your recent stay with us.

Great to hear that you loved our rooms and our lagoon pool – both are pretty special with a big WOW factor.

Thank you for your candid comments regarding our restaurant, we have taken the feedback on board and gone back to the drawing board with our food concept. Please watch this space…
Your are spot we are so lucky to be this close to the beach only a block away and a 5 minute stroll into town.

Thank you again and we will look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Beach Club.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway.The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments).The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00am - 10.30am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00pm - 8.30pm closed Thursday nights.The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer.Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.