We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay , but $$” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good place to stay , but $$”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 1 week at Peppers. Enjoyed the 2 bedroom suite. The pool is very nice ( good temperature., sandy area for the kids). Great staff

BUT-- quite a few things that let the place down.
1. The breakfast is pathetic for a place that you pay $500/ night.
Couple of fruit juice options ( not fresh either). Few basic pastries. No 'real' bread variety options
'Canned like fruit' in a bowl to choose!
Sloppy tasting muesli

And then insulting me to pay extra $10 for few hot options!
2. In this technology age, does it really hurt the hotel business to offer free wifi ?( like a lot of 5 star hotels do , that change less per night then peppers? )

3 . The gym is really sub standard for a place like this. . One basic treadmill, one basic elliptical , etc


We enjoyed our stay despite these issues. We just waived our breakfast option ( we paid for) and ate in town at a few good joints ( origin coffee, the larder, bookstore coffee place )

Peppers, you really need to improve the breakfast you offer( the resort is very good otherwise)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    180
    55
    16
    7
See reviews for
117
315
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel from a one off 24 hour sale on the peppers website. Stayed for three nights in an Eco spa suite with views of the pool. A bargain at $130 a night.

We arrived at 12pm and were welcome by very helpful staff at our front desk, it was great to hear that our room was ready early as we were quite tired.(6 am flight is something else..)

This place really is luxury, it's like an idyllic paradise, the pool is amazing and so large. Hotel was very quite, the week before Easter, I suppose.

All the extra little touches were really appreciated, and you could not get me out of the spa bath on the balcony. There was a king bed with a flat screen tv, this definitely didn't feel like a cheap room.

The room looked right out on to the lagoon a wonderful site. With the air con the room was always the perfect temperature.

The only thing I can fault the room on is that I could not get the fan to work in the bathroom! It got very steamy esp with the humidity. This coupled with the Eco room (no room service) made for some soggy towels!

It was not a big problem and didn't hinder our stay too much I new what Eco entailed when I booked. If I was staying longer however I would recommend book a room with service included.

The restaurant by the pool is divine and I really enjoyed dinner here! Something a little bit different but delicious, my boyfriend and I can't stop raving about it.


Loved my stay can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Hayler08mate,

Just a quick note to say thank you for the great feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We agree, the pool area is quite extraordinary and being able to sit in Sublime Bar and Grill for
breakfast, lunch and dinner at pool level is just magical.

We cannot wait to welcome you back, make sure that you contact the resort direct to organsie your next stay.

Kind regards,
Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for our 10 year wedding anniversary and were very happy with the facilities and service. The staff were absolutely delightful, helpful and very informative about Port Douglas, its restaurants and main attractions. At the time of our stay, their restaurant was out of action and yet they still tried to provide gluten free meals for me for breakfast and lunch. Our room was clean and comfortable with a fantastic little terrace that faced the magnificant pool. The pool at Peppers is the real main attraction of this hotel. We spent most our days just lazing around the pool and floating on one of the many noodles provided. The pool is heated and has a great little sandy area for kids and is a brilliant alternative to the beach, which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We walked each day and night into town, which is one of the reason we stayed here. This luxurious hotel is well placed to provide great service, local knowledge, access to the beach and quick walk to Macrossan Street with no need for a car. Thank you for a very special stay and great introduction to Port Douglas, we will be back with the kids!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Helen G,

Thank you for taking the time to post regarding your recent stay with us.

Firstly congratulations your 10th wedding anniversary! I hope that you got a little welcome gift.

We are lucky to be situated so close to the main street of Port Douglas and only one block back from the beach. I see that you took advantage of this and dined at some amazing restaurant in town. I only wish our restaurant was open during your stay so that you would have been able to experience our new menu.

I cannot wait to pass on your comments to the team RE “the staff were absolutely delightful”. I am sure that they will be as chuffed as I am to read your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back with the kids for your 11th wedding anniversary next year.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I want to say that I didn't actually stay here but I want to just complement the service the staff here provide.

My partner and I stayed at their competitors resort across the rd. We approached Peppers resort as we saw a tour bus stop out the front of Peppers and wanted to require about its services. The gentleman we approached (Glen I think) went over and above to help us organise a tour to the danitree rainforest. He actually advised not going on the bus and hiring our own car (so he wasn't even making and money out of his kindness). He furthermore went and got us a map and talked us through the best route to get there and where he recommends us to stop (his valuable local's knowledge).

I seriously can't thank him enought. I email the resort telling them this but didn't recieve a reply :(

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear MissMelissaLeigh,

I was delighted to read your comments regarding your experience with our concierge team member, thank you for taking the time to write your post.

I am happy to report that a senior member of management nominated Gavin for employee of the month after they witnessed this and I am proud to say that he won.

At Peppers “We are all about you” and our concierge team are very knowledgeable of all the great operators and amazing tours that are on offer.

You mentioned that you sent through an email – it never made it to me; happy for you to resend it directly to me jeremy.nordkamp@peppers.com.au.

If you are coming back up to Port Douglas make sure that you drop us a line.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at peppers for 8 nights and we loved it lagoon suite we stayed in was fantastic well maintained and clean. Beautiful pool and the resort is in a great position. The staff were very friendly and helpful with any request they were a credit to the hotel. We stay there each year and will be back next march. Would recommend. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hi Jeremy198200,

I wanted to drop you a quick line to say thank you for taking the time to post regarding your stay with us.

We have a great team here and I will make sure that I pass on your great feedback to them.

Reading your other reviews of Port Douglas, I would have to agree great Mexican at Tortillas Cocina Mexicana.

See you in March 2014

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager – Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is our second stay at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas. The staff are always very welcoming and accommodating.

The rooms are great, the pool was wonderful, the cocktail of the Day a Champagne Julep delicious.

Being down season it was extraordinarily quiet and peaceful. I have been there in July Holiday and the pool was busy and loungers full however it was still relatively quiet for the number of guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
classy78
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you want somewhere close to the main street, quiet enough to just sit by the pool and drink cocktails and amazing food then I would have to say this is the place to stay. The pool has it's own beach and you can swim up (near the bar) and order drinks & food etc. My advice would be to grab a bottle of vodka from the local shops and make them a little bit more lethal and and also save a bit on room service charges that can add up at $15-$18 each unless its the cocktail of the day @ $20 for two. Soft shell crab is some of the best i've ever had and the food at all the restaurants in Port Douglas was amazing. Having said that we could have gone to Mexico for longer and paid less with a all inclusive resort that I will always compare to any holiday I ever have for the rest of my life! Customer service by all the staff, concierge and at the cafe was very helpful and would question if $500 a night was worth it for the swim out room but after all you only have a honeymoon once :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear classy78,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for allowing us to be part of your honeymoon.

I have to agree that the ‘Soft Shell Crab’ is pretty special and I do have a soft spot for it. We also agree that there are some amazing restaurants in town and with the main street only being a 5 minute walk away; it is perfect for our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back on your 1st wedding anniversary.

I look forward to passing your feedback on to the team

Kind regards,

Jeremy Nordkamp
General Manager - Peppers Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway.The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments).The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00am - 10.30am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00pm - 8.30pm closed Thursday nights.The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer.Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.