We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at Oeooers Beach Club” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #16 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Middlesex, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at Oeooers Beach Club”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2008

Very attractive setting close to the town centre.

We arrived on Christmas day straight from flying in from the UK. Were pleased to find IGA stores open en route from Cairns to buy basic provisions.

The room, though attractive and very modern, was severely lacking useful storage (one cupboard was kept locked - it was storage for the apartment owners). Peppers is not a hotel as such - as far as I now understand many of the rooms/apartments are privately owned and then let out to holiday-makers).

Also there was no lift to our floor . Not a major problem if you are able-bodied but a bit unexpected and sometimes an effort when carrying a lot of stuff after a day out.

Good breakfast but irritating that the restaurant was too small to accommodate many guests for dinner. When the heavens opened (and they did!) we tried booking an evening meal but wiyth the very limited capacity they were fully booked. We never did manage to eat there.

Wished we had booked an apartment rather than a spa room and then we would have had cooking facilities and more space.

The pool was beautiful and never overcrowded .

The staff except whoever answered the phone when I tried to book a meal were polite, helpful and friendly.

The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows.

All in all a good place to stay.

  • Liked — the pool
  • Disliked — not enough convenient storage space
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    172
    49
    14
    7
See reviews for
108
301
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Stayed in Peppers Beach Club at the beginning of December. It was really lovely. The staff were excellent, they gave us plenty of help recommending things to do and places to go! The room was clean and comfortable, with a large balcony over looking the pool. A newspaper was delivered every morning to the room, which was a nice touch. The only negative point that I would say was that the breakfast was a little dried up as it was left under the heaters too long. We spent a few days by the pool and rest of the time exploring the local area, i.e. the Daintrees and Cape tribulation. The Hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes walk to the town centre and 5 minutes walk to four mile beach.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2007

Just back from a trip in Australia which started off with 4 days staying at teh Beach club in Port Douglas. We thought this hotel wa sgreat. Rooms were really spacious and modern. We had a one bed suite which had two big balconies from which you could walk directly to the pool area, which you can see from the photos was gorgeous with white sand beach around it.

Rooms had a fully equipped kitchen and off the bedroom hidden behind a wardrobe door was a washing machine & dryer. Really handy while on a long trip away. The rooms had everything you could possible need.

Staff and service were great. Really friendly,courteous and helpful. Food at breakfast was great. Good choice. Lunch menu was nice too. Didnt eat dinner there so cant comment on that.

This hotel was of a great standard and luxurious without any stuffiness. situated around teh corner from Macrosan st and all its shops, bars and restaurants so very convenient. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Liked — Very Modern & clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

Location, Location, Location

If you want 5 Star Accommodation close to the town centre there is nowhere better than this, believe me. Other resorts in the area are quite some distance from the town if walking !!!

Pros;
Excellent 5 Star Accommodation ( we even had a very large plasma and surround system in the room)
Excellent Service
Fantastic Pool
PD Centre 2 minutes walk / 4 Mile Beach 5 mins walk

Cons; ( nowhere is perfect!)
people claiming sun beds with towels then going out for the day!
people hanging towels over the balcony to dry - with a laundry in the room why? not fitting of a 5 Star resort
restaurant needs to be bigger ( breakfast was a bun fight some mornings)

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

Stayed in this hotel at the beginning of a 3-week holiday. Stayed in Port Douglas for 6 nights and loved it, very relaxing place, with lots of trips to do.

As for the hotel, stunning pool! Ruined by the total lack of sun loungers. If you manage to get a lounger its wonderful. The poolside bar is good, and stocks a lot. The service all though very friendly is slow! And very frustrating. Regular pool towels provided.

We stayed in a spa suite, which for the two of us was a perfect size. The spa is a needless extra. Only had one once, took so long to fill and I felt guilty about wasting the water. Our particular view was awful, but to be honest spent little time sitting on balcony. Room on the whole was great, bathroom nice too. Had daily news papers which was a nice touch but we declined to take as we never read them, left them out side the room and we had to request it be removed the following day, when they just put the next one there also. Had to ring a couple of times to ask for the complimentary tea and coffee to be replaced. Were never supplied with clean cups so had to ring for them.

Breakfast was nice and the service friendly and personal again slow.

On the whole apart from frustratingly slow service and lack of sum beds, I would most definitively stay there again. Beautiful rooms, great pool, just ask for a nice view when you book.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Pool and slow service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment with our 12 week old baby for 3 nights spa suite on the last night as the one bedroom was already booked out. First impressions of the resort were very good - it looked like one of the nicer places in Port Douglas - many other resorts had quite a tired look about them. The location was great - a short walk from the town centre and the beach.

The one bedroom aprtment was great value for money - it was huge and we were very pleasantly surprised. It was perfect for us with the baby as we had so much stuff with us and there was extra room for a cot. There were kitchen and BBQ facilities so you could make your own food. The kitchen was a bit sparsely equipped i.e. I could not find any cutting knives for vegetables and fruit. Also the hot water in the bathroom was very sporadic and sometimes it took a good ten minutes of running the shower (and wasting water!) to get anything hotter than luke warm to come out. The biggest downside to the one bedder was that it was on the second level and we had to carry the stroller up and down the stairs.

The spa suite was in a great location right by the gorgeous sandy pool but it was tiny and really only suitable for couples. The pool was fantastic especially for kids. There was a bit of a lack of shade by the pool, you had to be early to get one of the cabanas.

We ate at the restaurant one night. It is in a lovely location next to the pool. The mains were pretty good but the desserts were a letdown. For example, caramelised banana was raw (still with skins!) and served with some caramel sauce - not caramelised at all! The lunch menu was good - especially the hot chips - beer battered heaven!

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and really couldn't be faulted. I would definitely stay here again

  • Liked — The beautiful pool and the spacious one bedroom apartment
  • Disliked — The lack of hot water and kitchen utensils
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

Hotel is stunning, open air reception, lots of glass and chrome, very nice.

Spa Room was lovely, small but perfectly formed. We were a bit spoilt with large rooms in Sydney and Uluru. Nice comfy kingsize bed, large lcd tv and dvd player. Fridge and tea/coffee facilities, iron and ironing board. Aircon and a ceiling fan. Large modern bathroom with wet room and plenty of towels, nice toiletries and a good hairdryer.

Balcony housed a double spa bath, two armchairs and a little table, great for a glass of wine in the evening. We had a Penthouse Spa room with a great view of the pool.

The Pool- well….. On one side a man-made beach banked into the pool and on the other were apartments with private access to the pool. Cabanas and beds, but not a lot, so you needed to be quick in the morning. Breakfast was good with the usual hot and continental selections and eggs cooked to order. Lunch menu was good if limited, but potions are large, so you could share.

The hotel is in a great location a few minutes walk to four mile beach and to Macossan street. Vast range of restaurants, ice cream shops, boutiques, souvenirs shops, ATMs etc. and a Coles supermarket. Would recommend the Court House Hotel (right at the end of Macrossan St) their lamb shank is to die for. Wendys ice cream shop also does a superb Strawberry milkshake and really cheap internet access.

Great hotel, superb position. Great for a nice laid back break. Don’t hesitate.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas

Address: 20-22 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club, Port Douglas combines beautifully appointed accommodation, luxury facilities and easy access to the magical Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest, making it the perfect holiday getaway.The resort is set amongst calming water features and lush gardens filled with tropical flowers and palms, creating a relaxed and inviting atmosphere. The resort offers beautifully appointed spa suites and one, two and three bedroom suites, some complete with private swim-up pool decks. All rooms feature free WIFI (up to 500MB) and free movies for all guests, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, balcony, bathrobes, cable/pay TV, CD player, daily housekeeping service, direct dial telephone/data port/voice mail, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron and board. Kitchen facilities are available in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom suites includes dishwasher, stovetop/oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, coffee/tea making facilities, cookware and tableware. Washer/dryer (available only in 1, 2 & 3 bedroom apartments).The resort features a serene lagoon pool with sundeck and spa, fitness centre, concierge and tour desk making access to a range of exciting reef and rainforest experiences easy. If pampering is what you seek, a visit to the Exclusive Spa is a must or hire a bike and make your way to Four Mile Beach. In the evening there is an array of dining experiences awaiting you. The resort's signature restaurant, Sublime Bar & Grill serves some of the best cuisine you'll find in the region and uses the freshest ingredients to create a savoured contemporary Australian menu. The restaurant is located on the ground floor overlooking the stunning lagoon pool. Enjoy breakfast daily from 7.00am - 10.30am, lunch from 12pm - 4pm and dinner from 6.00pm - 8.30pm closed Thursday nights.The resort is the perfect base from which to experience all this amazing region has to offer. Port Douglas offers an abundance of exciting activities with the rainforest and the reef close by. Experience the Flames of the Forest live stage and dinner experience, welcome the day with a hot air balloon adventure, explore the Daintree World Heritage listed national park by 4WD and take a helicopter ride out over the Great Barrier Reef. Crocodile farms, Skyrail and white water rafting are just a few more adventures on offer.Combining a tranquil Tropical North Queensland setting with five-star resort facilities and professional service, this resort in the heart of Port Douglas is the perfect setting for your next getaway. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card transactions at the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Port Douglas
Peppers Beach Hotel Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.