We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricy but very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    249
    107
    26
    18
See reviews for
254
428
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

The Sea Temple in Port Douglas was quite a find and very reasonable for all that you received. We had a swim in/swim out room w/a kitchen and laundry facilities. The staff couldn't have been nicer. We had a family, but I'd probably recommend for everyone. If you do get a swim in/swim out I would opt for one more off the beaten track as people could be swimming by your place all day and it wouldn't be that private. We had a nice alcove and plenty of privacy. The staff helped us book day trips and they were very knowledgeable and VERY pleasant. The family loved the gigantic pool.

  • Liked — The gigantic pool
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was all good!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

The Sea Temple is absolutely fantastic. My wife and I stayed there for 9 nights to celebrate our 5th Wedding Anniversary. We booked a studio apartment with spa via the mirvac hotels website, even Flight Centre couldn't match the price we got on the net.

The resort is relatively new and the appartments are very comfortable with modern furniture and fittings. The spa was absolutely fantastic as is the lagoon pool which is absolutely stunning and great for swimming or just floating around in the shade of a palm tree.

The restaurant is rather pricey, breakfast $28 per head and mains ranging between $28 - $35 and to be honest the quality was a little hit and miss. We had dinner there on the first night my wife had the tagine and I had the steak on paris mash and a chocolate souffle for dessert absolutely fantastic couldn' t fault it in any way, then on another night I had the prawn with chorizo sausage and my wife had the pesto pasta and it was well below par. Maybe we got a different chef that night who knows. We had room service a couple of times and we weren't very impressed with that either.

Our recommendation, head into town. We bought a 7 day bus pass with Coral Reef Coaches, the drivers for this company were great very friendly and helpful and there was one chap who had you in stitches as he reeled off his repertoire of jokes.

For brekky head to Java Blue best eggs you've ever tasted (see the article by the door) and definitely the best coffee in town. The cost of dining here was half of what it would have cost us had we eaten at the hotel.

Reccommended restaurants in town Michael Angelos fantastic pasta and pizza with a pizza chef from Tuscany, Zinc quality food and stylish surrounds ( try the macadamia encrusted barramundi), On The Inlet probably the freshest seafood I'v ever had go early and see the feeding of George the groper he's huge!!! Try the Mexican kitchen excellent chilli con carne and try their vanilla rice milk drink it's awesome and the Beach Shack it's a short walk from the resort. I won't deny that dining out in Port Douglas is pricey but that is to be expected as it is still a fairly remote location. We generally found though that the quality and standard of offerings were really good so you really felt you were getting value for your money.

As for tours we only did the Daintree Rainforest through Tony's Tours. Great tour Tony was really informative, we saw heaps he answered all our questions and more and provided a great lunch.

So all in all our reccommendation is DO stay at Sea Temple Resort & Spa buy yourself a bus pass and do breakfast and dinner on the main strip, you'll love it!

  • Liked — Lagoon pool
  • Disliked — Price and quality of food at hotel restaurant
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

My wife and I have just returned from a three week trip taking in Singapore, Port Douglas, Sydney and Melbourne. As it was my wife's 40th birthday we decided to push the boat out and stay at 4 and 5 star hotels. We chose the Sea Temple as our Hotel in Port Douglas.
Port Douglas is a fantastic location and the Sea Temple is a beautiful, well located resort with great facilities.
However, the staff and service are quite a different story and we were very disappointed with this aspect.
On arrival, (after a long flight and transfer) we waited to be dealt with by reception staff and were advised that our room wasn't ready. The porter who took our luggage to our room made unwelcome jokes about our origins in Essex, which continued throughout our stay.
Staff around the hotel did not acknowledge or greet us and the service we received when we ate in the hotel restaurant was comical - We heard our bottle of champagne being opened, but the open bottle was brought to the table, rather than being opened in front of us. The champagne was then served in standard white wine glasses, not champagne flutes.
Staff were consistently surly and indifferent towards us.
The above represents a small sample of how the staff and service continually failed to meet our expectations. I am very well aware that all of these issues sound like whingeing and individually, they are minor, but cumulatively, they gave a clear signal that the staff really don't care. Additionally, the hotel appeared to be run by junior staff, there was never any evidence of any management presence.
We stayed in three other similarly rated hotels during our trip and all aspects of the service at these other locations was exceptional and I couldn't fault them.
Personally, I would certainly avoid staying in any Sea Temple resorts in the future – Great facilities, but the staff and service are lousy.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrandera
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Temple Port Douglas for 7 nights late Feb/early Jan. We could not have been happier with the quailty of the rooms and resort surrounds. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with plunge pool, which was just perfect for us, plenty of room and it looked out over the beautiful golf course. Pool temperature was fantastic.
We both had spa treatments which we thought were great.
Biggest disssapointment however was the food. Buffet breakfast was just ok, room service just ok, but the evening meal we had at the restaurant was a disgrace. We stood around for 10 mins before we were given a table, it then was 15 mins before our order was taken, our drinks took another 15 mins to arrive after that and our meal an hour, which when it did come was cold. Not what you expect when you are paying in excess of $30 for a main course. Would I stay at this resort again, YES, would I order food from there again, NO WAY! The quailty of the restaurants in town was so fantastic, I wouldn't waste money eating at Sea Temple! Would highly reccomend the restaurants Salsa, Nautilius, The Beach Shack and On The Inlet.

  • Liked — Size of rooms and quality of furnishings
  • Disliked — Food.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

One word. Perfect. This place really is perfect. We booked a studio and were upgraded free to a 2 bedroom penthouse with a roof top terract that is over 1000 s.f. The terract includes loung chairs, a private jacuzzi, sink, and bbq gas grill.

The interior of the apartments are like a W hotel. The kitchen is amazing with Bosch appliances. The washer and dryer's are very handy. The interior decorating, from fabric choices to lamps to pillow are very well done.

The hotel staff is extremely helpful. You get the feeling they are locals and take great pride in not only the resort but the area of Port Douglas itself. They are very knowledgeable of the area as well as the various recreational companies that offer outings.

The pool area is somthing to see. It is just amazing.

This hotel opened in May of 2006 and seems to be in just the right phase. It is virtually brand new and all of the kinks have had time to be worked out.

The garage's are a nice touch to be able to keep your car cool during the day.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.