We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booker
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Brush Creek, Tennessee
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Accommodations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We loved this property! The staff was very friendly, helpful, and always looking for ways to make your stay more enjoyable. The pool was magnificent and just the right temp to keep you cool on a hot day. Our room was a penthouse suite, which featured 2 bedrooms, a full kitchen/bar, washer/dryer, living area and bathroom on one level, and a BBQ area with seating for four and hot tub spa on the roof terrace. My only complaint was that the bathroom was a little small for two people getting ready at the same time. The restaurant was decent quality and the wait staff was very nice. Although not on the beach, the resort had private access to 4-mile beach it was nice it visit as well. The resort was very tranquil and tucked away inside the rainforest. According to the locals, this was done by design as no buildings are made taller the tree canopy to preserve the rainforest feel. I would definitely come back for a visit.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your review! We're so glad that you loved our resort.

We are 'tucked away', that's a great way to describe it. We hope it added to your relaxation levels whilst you were staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    275
    115
    29
    18
See reviews for
263
483
18
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We recently spent some time at the Pullman Sea Temple Resorts at Palm Cove and Port Douglas. My father had recently died and we needed somewhere quiet to rest and recover a little. We booked a studio room at Port Douglas and it proved to be less than quiet. It was tucked away on the ground floor with no view other than another apartment's wall and a couple of plants. The side windows looked out onto a series of linen storage garages where staff came and went. The scraping noise (from upstair apartment's furniture) and the slamming of doors in the wing our room was in was quite frustrating at times. This property has garages/car parking areas at every block of room/apartments. Sounds convenient but actually means there is traffic moving around and I felt it detracted from the peaceful/relaxed environment that could be here.There was a large American conference in progress during our visit and this event dominated lobby and surrounding communal areas. The loud music at one of their dinner's was quite obtrusive in the restaurant where we dined. However the surrounds are stunning and the huge pool is quite amazing. Many rooms did have direct access to the pool (many don't too). The restaurant (and it's menu) is quite outstanding. The staff were amazingly attentive, caring and polite and the food was fabulous. The fruit platter (room service and lunch menu only) was great. Be very careful taking the walking path to the beach (we were literally attacked by hoards of mosquitoes) - whilst this is outside the hotel's domain it is something to be careful of if venturing out. The room itself was a mixed bag. The bathroom was huge with a beautiful spa bath. However the bedroom area was quite small with no comfortable chair/lounge to relax on. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The small freezer compartment in the bar fridge had a broken door which meant that our food/drink items in the fridge froze and were therefore damaged. There was no bathroom string line on which to dry bathers or small items. This property is a bit too far from shops for walking. Our stay at this property was a bit of a mixed bag for us but I would certainly be prepared to try again.

Room Tip: Not sure whether this property gives you the option to choose location of Studio Rooms but I suspect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay with us. We're glad we were able to provide some highlights during your time here. We're sorry to hear of your recent bereavement.

We appreciate the feedback you have shared on the noise you experienced during your stay. We regret that this impacted on your relaxation time.

We look forward to your return visit so that we can create a better Pullman experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and we really enjoyed it. We were originally booked into a one bedroom penthouse apartment with a spa on the roof however we needed to chage the dates for our travel and there were no available rooms of this type so we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment with a private plunge pool. I was very happy with the room itself, we only had access to one of the bedrooms but that was fine The only downside was that the shower was over the bath and the bath was quite deep making it a bit of an athletic activity to get into have a bath or a shower. Also the exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work so we were fogging up the mirror every time we used the bath/shower.
Apart from this one small thing which was annoying our time here was great!
We did not use the resteraunt or the breakfast option which seemed a little highly priced but did have a cocktail at the pool bar which was expensive but yummy.
The grounds are amazing and we spent alot of our time at our apartment in our pool. We had a bbq and outdoor eating area in our apartment so used them one night which was handy.
I would reccomend staying here for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Two bedroom apartment with plunge pool is huge and would be great for a family travelling together
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Resort. We're happy that you loved it. We're glad that we could accommodate you in a great room type after your change of dates.

We appreciate the feedback that you have provided about the set up of the bathroom and the exhaust fan.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Another great Accor property - from the time we checked in 'til the time we checked out it was perfect and thoroughly enjoyable. Upgrade on check in - to room with a roof top spa for after dark enjoyment. Lunch by the pool and oh those wonderful cocktails by the pool. The room was like an apartment withn two bedrooms two bathrooms kitchen etc. The staff were excellent, food and drink highest quality and breakfast quite enjoyable. Certainly recommend this chain and hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with spa are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of your time here. We appreciate your recommendation.

We're glad you liked your penthouse apartment with the spa on the rooftop - it's a great bonus.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated my 40th bday here during off season. Due to weather conditions & low occupancy, somedays the pool bar was closed, minimal staff were seen around the grounds & some conflicting advice was given by F&B staff and Reception..but overall it was a clean & enjoyable stay. The walkway from resort to beach was great & we met some lovers celebrating Valentines day with some wine, fishing rods & the sunset along this local strip!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. Happy birthday! We're glad that you enjoyed your time at the resort.

You are right, our pool bar is closed due to inclement weather and being in the tropics it can happen at this time of year.

We look forward to seeing you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in December 2013 with our 17month old son. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apt facing the lagoon.. We were actually upgraded from a 1 bedroom, we greatly appreciated this extra space and loved the 2 bed apt! It had a rooftop terrace with BBQ and spa, this was excellent for night time BBQ's and a dip in the spa while out son was sleeping soundly. It is a really easy place to stay with kids. The pool has a really large shallow area which is great for toddlers.
The area is a bit if of town so having a car was a must for us , but we didn't mind this as we did a few day trips to the daintree, mossman gorge, palm cove
etc...
This is our 3rd visit to the area and we would definitely stay here again! Loved it. :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your stay with us in December. We're so glad that you and your family had a great time in Port Douglas.

That's a great tip about hiring a car to explore the beautiful delights of Far North Queensland.

We look forward to seeing you on your 4th visit to Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

My partner and I love Port Douglas because it is so peaceful and relaxing. We tried something new by staying at the Pullman and we weren't disappointed. I would recommend getting the penthouse apartment because you have the private spa on the roof. The only thing was that there was so much space up there you could fit a pool easily! Facilities are great, everything is well maintained. The only thing it is lacking is either private pools or a separate adults only pool because swimming around in the pool together with kids hitting around balls and things was not so relaxing.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting the penthouse apartment because you have the private spa on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments in your review. We are glad that we didn't disappoint you on your return trip to Port Douglas.

Our Penthouse Apartments do feature a little extra space on top with the rooftop terrace. We wish we could put a pool up there - great idea!

Our Plunge Pool rooms feature their own private plunge pool and are located on the ground floor. We'd love for you to return to try this room type for a bit more relaxing time in the water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.