We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
1 review
“A fantastic resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom penthouse apartment which had good sized rooms that are clean and modern. The pool is huge and easily accessed. The private jacuzzi is a nice touch. For a relaxing getaway there is no need to leave the resort. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: A north facing room that opens on to the pool sees more of the sun on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent holiday at the Resort. It's lovely to hear that you thought we were 'fantastic'!

That's a great tip about booking a Swimout Apartment to enjoy direct access into the lagoon-style pool. Any requests for a North facing room to take advantage of the sun on the balcony are welcome and we will do our best to accommodate at the time of booking (although this may only be popular during winter as shade is more sought after during summer/wet season).

We look forward to you returning to the Resort as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    248
    107
    26
    18
See reviews for
254
427
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Our family holiday was enjoyed by both the adults & teenagers. The swimout apartment was amazing and the pool made our time even more enjoyable. We would definitely return again. Location you really need a car but you didn't feel like you were crowded. The pool bar was handy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at the Resort. It's great to hear that everyone was happy with the holiday.

Our Swimout Apartments are very popular - we're glad you agree they are fantastic.

We are located a little way outside of Port Douglas but you are right, this does add to our seclusion and tranquility. We are happy to arrange hire cars or we suggest jumping on the local shuttle bus to get into town.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This resort is fantastic! We stayed in a 2 bedroom penthouse apartment and it was so comfortable we felt like we were at home. The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly, the restaurant is great and the pool is unbelievable! We have already planned to come back next September and are keeping our eyes open for a good deal. I will definitely be recommending this resort!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Wow - thank you for your very happy review! We are glad that you felt 'at home' during your stay with us. We very much appreciate your recommendation.

We always have plenty of special offers available so make sure to take advantage of one of these. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Sea Temple for 5 nights from the 3rd September. We booked through Expedia & got an excellent rate for the studio apartment. We arrived on our 25th Wedding Anniversary & not long after check in a bottle of champagne was delivered to our room with a lovely card. The apartment was perfect with a generous sized spa & comfortable king bed. We ate at the Aqua restaurant on our first night & once again they had a glass of champagne each on the house. The service & setting were lovely & the food was reasonably priced & good quality. The weather during our stay wasn't great so unfortunately the pool was too cold however it was o.k to sit on the deckchairs & relax. The resort is clean & modern & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends. Shuttle from the resort is handy or a 5 minute drive to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary! Thank you for your review of your stay and also for allowing us to help you celebrate your special occasion.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to seeing you back at the Resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying in a 3 bedroom private villa at this resort and for the first time ever, I can say that the web photos made it look smaller than it is in real life. It's essentially a beautiful, well appointed house with a private pool, garden and BBQ area including outdoor dining and two car spaces. Both the beach and the lagoon pool are a 100m stroll away. The resort is also beautiful, the jewel being the huge resort pool. It is a 5 minute drive to town, so it isn't a central location. The bonus is that you can have the beach to yourself as it is nowhere near as crowded as the beach closer to the Main Street. We feel like we are in a stunning private villa in a 5 star resort in Bali..with all the benefits of being in Australia. I haven't been to the day spa yet...but will today as we leave this place tomorrow after 6 wonderful nights.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We hope you loved your trip to the Vie Spa as much as you have enjoyed the rest of your stay at the Resort. Thank you for providing your review.

Our 3 Bedroom Beachside Villas have everything you need - you're right it's like a holiday home but with Hotel service. We are happy that your stay with us was so wonderful.

We look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Firstly the good: the service was professional, attentive and very friendly. Rooms are large and well appointed with comfortable beds and good bathrooms. Furnishings are practical rather than elegant but very adequate for a comfortable stay. The pool is large and quite shallow - this means that it is warm and safe for kids. Kitchen is well appointed with good appliances for those who want to prepare their own meals.

The not so good. the layout is awkward (see comments on rooms). Because the ground floor rooms have access to the pool, to get from front reception to the pool requires walking through the car park. The dinner menu is limited and the frequency of weddings is a bit intrusive. Being close to the pool made the room noisy and we could hear conversations of the people on their balcony below us.

Hard to understand why the resort was designed in this style - feels like timeshare rather then a purpose designed resort??

IN DETAIL

Dinning - Breakfast
We were there in school holidays plus they had wedding groups so and breakfast was a feeding frenzy, food ran out faster then staff could replenish it, staff were stresses, coffee was slow and difficult to order. Food was OK, standard range of fruit, cereals, breads, hot food
Dinning - Dinner
Food and service very good but the range was very limited so after 2 nights could not eat here again. Lovely dinning room on the pool

(HINT: Check before you go if they are hosting weddings and choose your room very carefully)

Room Tip: Think carefully about your room as not all rooms are equal at Pullman's Sea Temple. Getting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your time at the Resort. We appreciate the time you have taken to share this. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall - especially the accommodation rooms and lagoon-style pool.

We are disappointed that you felt let down in a few areas such as the Resort layout and the weddings we host. You are correct in your 'room tip'; we have several room types all with different features (direct lagoon access, private plunge pools or rooftop spas). Thank you for encouraging future guests to choose the room type dependant on their specific needs. It will definitely help in ensuring everyone enjoys their stay with us.

We will share your feedback on the breakfast service in Aqua Restaurant with our team to ensure improvements are made. We always appreciate receiving constructive comments to make sure our service levels are continually improving.

We hope to see you back at the resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and decided to stay 5 nights to relax before having our first child in December. Overall we thought the stay was ok, unfortunately there were a few things which could have been better. I don't quite understand the layout of the pool; there is a fabulous lofty, breezy entrance where the reception, restaurant and bar are located which looks out over the pool, however to get to your room you basically exit the place and walk around the entire complex on a paved driveway rather than on a path around the pool. On the first night I thought the bed had not been made properly and on examining in the morning the bottom sheet was not tucked in because it was way too short. Bare mattress on your feet where numerous others have had there's is not entirely what I look for in a five star resort. On leaving a note for housekeeping I thought the issue would be fixed. No. In fact I received the note back pointing out that my request could not be fulfilled because the sheet was too short. I was aware of this fact (obviously). The Pullman has very large labels on its mattresses which state that they are specially made for the resort. My humble suggestion is if you pay the money for the mattresses then buy sheets to match. I wasn't quite aware that such a thing as zip together king mattresses exist; interesting concept but not the most comfortable. Lastly the $5 lamp shade was quite obviously and extensively torn (possibly made from some form of paper substitute) however $5 was not spent to replace it. The housekeeping staff need to be educated as to how their wages get paid. Parking is unclear and we had issues getting our car out due to people parking in the driveways. Front office staff were great, spa was really good size, spa treatments were really good.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying in a king studio - not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay with us. It's disappointing that the resort did not meet your expectations in a few areas. But we are glad that you enjoyed your holiday overall (especially our service and spa treatments!).

The pool is in the centre of the Resort to allow rooms to overlook it and also some Apartments to have swimout access from their patios. This means that a poolside path is not possible. We apologise that this wasn't explained clearly upon check-in to avoid any confusion.

We are happy to have recently received our brand new Pullman beds. The matching manchester is on the way. We regret that you were unable to experience both at the same time. Alongside the new beds, we are replacing lamp shades in every apartment - a big undertaking as you can imagine with almost 700 shades to do. We will investigate alternatives to avoid a reoccurrence of your experiences.

We regret that you had difficulties accessing your vehicle. We endeavour to advise all guests to keep driveways clear so that everyone can enjoy their time at the Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to bring these areas to our attention. We take onboard all constructive comments to ensure our facilities and service levels are continually improving. We hope that you will return to the resort in the future to enjoy both our new linen and lampshades in the future - perhaps in a Swimout Room to fully enjoy the lagoon pool also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.