We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booker
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and decided to stay 5 nights to relax before having our first child in December. Overall we thought the stay was ok, unfortunately there were a few things which could have been better. I don't quite understand the layout of the pool; there is a fabulous lofty, breezy entrance where the reception, restaurant and bar are located which looks out over the pool, however to get to your room you basically exit the place and walk around the entire complex on a paved driveway rather than on a path around the pool. On the first night I thought the bed had not been made properly and on examining in the morning the bottom sheet was not tucked in because it was way too short. Bare mattress on your feet where numerous others have had there's is not entirely what I look for in a five star resort. On leaving a note for housekeeping I thought the issue would be fixed. No. In fact I received the note back pointing out that my request could not be fulfilled because the sheet was too short. I was aware of this fact (obviously). The Pullman has very large labels on its mattresses which state that they are specially made for the resort. My humble suggestion is if you pay the money for the mattresses then buy sheets to match. I wasn't quite aware that such a thing as zip together king mattresses exist; interesting concept but not the most comfortable. Lastly the $5 lamp shade was quite obviously and extensively torn (possibly made from some form of paper substitute) however $5 was not spent to replace it. The housekeeping staff need to be educated as to how their wages get paid. Parking is unclear and we had issues getting our car out due to people parking in the driveways. Front office staff were great, spa was really good size, spa treatments were really good.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying in a king studio - not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay with us. It's disappointing that the resort did not meet your expectations in a few areas. But we are glad that you enjoyed your holiday overall (especially our service and spa treatments!).

The pool is in the centre of the Resort to allow rooms to overlook it and also some Apartments to have swimout access from their patios. This means that a poolside path is not possible. We apologise that this wasn't explained clearly upon check-in to avoid any confusion.

We are happy to have recently received our brand new Pullman beds. The matching manchester is on the way. We regret that you were unable to experience both at the same time. Alongside the new beds, we are replacing lamp shades in every apartment - a big undertaking as you can imagine with almost 700 shades to do. We will investigate alternatives to avoid a reoccurrence of your experiences.

We regret that you had difficulties accessing your vehicle. We endeavour to advise all guests to keep driveways clear so that everyone can enjoy their time at the Resort.

Thank you for taking the time to bring these areas to our attention. We take onboard all constructive comments to ensure our facilities and service levels are continually improving. We hope that you will return to the resort in the future to enjoy both our new linen and lampshades in the future - perhaps in a Swimout Room to fully enjoy the lagoon pool also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    274
    115
    29
    18
See reviews for
263
482
18
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I spent a romantic weekend away at Pullman Sea Temple Resort & Spa and was very impressed by this spot. We had a pool access room which meant we were able to spend the afternoon laying by our own private section of the enormous swimming pool reading our books and relaxing. The pool is outstanding, the best resort pool I have ever seen anywhere in the world. The service was good. Reception staff were chatty and welcoming. I would stay here again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
We hope you return to stay with us again! Your weekend does sound romantic - thank you for sharing your review.

Our Swimout Apartments are very popular and so is our 3000m2 lagoon-style pool. We are thrilled that you rate it so highly!

We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were in a 2 bedroom/bathroom swim out self contained apartment. Spacious, clean, loads of room for families. Beach access great and has a children's pool. Staff very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is recommended.

Room Tip: An apartment near the pool bar would be quieter than reception end Reception end also deeper end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at the Resort. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in 186, a swim up room, for 6 nights. Very spacious, clean, great service, food & beautiful outlook. Full kitchen if you want to eat in or restaurant very good. Lovely walk or hire bikes it ride into town. Thoroughly recommend. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The swim up room is well worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! We are happy you loved your holiday with us - thank you for sharing your review.

That's a great tip about the Swimout Apartments - they are very popular with their direct lagoon access from the patio.

We look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I would like to say a big Thank you to the staff at the Sea Temple Port Douglas. What was a great trip ended up being a fabulous unforgettable one, thanks to the efficiency and kindness of the staff.

Family friendly, fabulous rooms, close to the beach and clean.

I would highly reccommend to anyone and will def. be back again.

Room Tip: Both the two bedroom villas and the luxury Villas were the way to go. I would reccommend that you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
What a great review! Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us. We are glad to hear you loved it.

We always love it when our guests want to come back, again and again - see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

On the weekend of the 30th August - 1 September I went with my family and my prtner to stay at the Pullman Se Temple Resort, it was all I had been told and more! The staff were wonderful and the rooms were to say the least FANSTASTIC. We were there to celevrate my 50th Birthday and to be married. Elise McLaren from the Pullman, was wonderful in assisting us through out the planning for the whole weekend on such short notice and our Wedding Celebrant Natasha Kollosche from Port Douglas was EXCELLENT! I would recommend the Pullman Sea Temple at Port Douglas to anyone for that special week/weekend away or for a special occassion, in fact there were another 2 weddings at the hotel the weekend we were there. I would also throroughly recommend Natasha Kollosche as a wedding celebrant if you are looking for one in Port Douglas, again with short notice everything was perfect!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding and happy 50th birthday! We are thrilled that you chose our Resort to celebrate two very special occasions.

Thank you for sharing your review of your time at the Resort. We will pass on your kind words to both Elise and Natasha.

We wish you well for your life together and hope to see you again - perhaps for your first wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

i recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with private plunge pool with 2 other friends. the resort is nice but left us wondering how on earth it received its 5 star rating. the main pool is very nice and impressive when you walk into the resort. it is very big, looks clean and circumvents most of the hotel rooms around the resort that have a swim up option. however, the rooms itself are very simple with cheap fixtures and fittings. they are also not very well kept - our clean feet would be dirty after a few foot steps around the room which you would not expect just moments after checking into a 'clean' room. the accommodation in terms of design and decor is quite simple but i realise this is to compliment the tropical Queensland climate. we arrived late on friday night so the only dining option available was room service as the hotel restaurant, Aqua, stopped serving at 9.30pm. we ordered most of the items off the room service menu as it did not have a very exhaustive (or imaginative) list of food items to choose from. the food arrived quite promptly given the quantity of our order which was a nice surprise. however when the food arrived we were not impressed. the presentation of the food was very poor and what you would expect perhaps from a 24 hour road house diner on the side of a highway in the middle of nowhere, not at a luxury 5 star resort with prices to match. the chips and wedges were served in a floppy cardboard container, as were the stir fried vegetables and rice. the sauces were stacked in plastic containers one on top of each other similar to how you would find condiments at a fish and chips shop, and our cocktails that we ordered were served in paper milkshake containers with gimmicky palm tree clip art. the room service presentation was woeful, off putting, and disgraceful for a 5 star resort. the taste of the food was ok but we were starving and ready to eat anything at this stage. the chips were warm at best and soggy. the breakfast buffet is limited in choice and presentation very simple and lacklustre. since we were on holiday we decided to each order a bloody mary at breakfast but alas, the bar only opens at 10am (it was about 9.30am when we inquired about the cocktails). so we instead ordered an espresso each which we were later on charged over $4 each for and were not told it would be an extra cost outside the normal breakfast menu which was disappointing. we spent most of the day by the main pool ordering cocktails which were lovely, and then spent some time in our own pool. we ordered an ice bucket for our champagne and waited a long time for it (a whole bottles worth) before having to call them again to remind them to bring it in time for our next bottle. for a recently built, 5 star resort, it was not overly impressive and given its locality 5km out of town, it doesn't really give me a reason to revisit.

Room Tip: swim up rooms close to reception offer limited privacy. apartments with private plunge pools are loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for providing a thorough review of your stay with us. We are very disappointed to hear that the Resort did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate the time you have taken to bring to our attention the areas that you feel were lacking in 5 star service. We take all constructive comments on board to ensure our service levels are continually improving. Your issues will be addressed with our dedicated team to prevent future occurrences.

We regret that you will not be returning to the resort however should you change your mind, we look forward to giving you a more pleasant experience, one that suits our 5 star level.

We hope that you enjoyed your time in Port Douglas outside of the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.