We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unmet expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“unmet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

i recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with private plunge pool with 2 other friends. the resort is nice but left us wondering how on earth it received its 5 star rating. the main pool is very nice and impressive when you walk into the resort. it is very big, looks clean and circumvents most of the hotel rooms around the resort that have a swim up option. however, the rooms itself are very simple with cheap fixtures and fittings. they are also not very well kept - our clean feet would be dirty after a few foot steps around the room which you would not expect just moments after checking into a 'clean' room. the accommodation in terms of design and decor is quite simple but i realise this is to compliment the tropical Queensland climate. we arrived late on friday night so the only dining option available was room service as the hotel restaurant, Aqua, stopped serving at 9.30pm. we ordered most of the items off the room service menu as it did not have a very exhaustive (or imaginative) list of food items to choose from. the food arrived quite promptly given the quantity of our order which was a nice surprise. however when the food arrived we were not impressed. the presentation of the food was very poor and what you would expect perhaps from a 24 hour road house diner on the side of a highway in the middle of nowhere, not at a luxury 5 star resort with prices to match. the chips and wedges were served in a floppy cardboard container, as were the stir fried vegetables and rice. the sauces were stacked in plastic containers one on top of each other similar to how you would find condiments at a fish and chips shop, and our cocktails that we ordered were served in paper milkshake containers with gimmicky palm tree clip art. the room service presentation was woeful, off putting, and disgraceful for a 5 star resort. the taste of the food was ok but we were starving and ready to eat anything at this stage. the chips were warm at best and soggy. the breakfast buffet is limited in choice and presentation very simple and lacklustre. since we were on holiday we decided to each order a bloody mary at breakfast but alas, the bar only opens at 10am (it was about 9.30am when we inquired about the cocktails). so we instead ordered an espresso each which we were later on charged over $4 each for and were not told it would be an extra cost outside the normal breakfast menu which was disappointing. we spent most of the day by the main pool ordering cocktails which were lovely, and then spent some time in our own pool. we ordered an ice bucket for our champagne and waited a long time for it (a whole bottles worth) before having to call them again to remind them to bring it in time for our next bottle. for a recently built, 5 star resort, it was not overly impressive and given its locality 5km out of town, it doesn't really give me a reason to revisit.

Room Tip: swim up rooms close to reception offer limited privacy. apartments with private plunge pools are loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for providing a thorough review of your stay with us. We are very disappointed to hear that the Resort did not meet your expectations.

We appreciate the time you have taken to bring to our attention the areas that you feel were lacking in 5 star service. We take all constructive comments on board to ensure our service levels are continually improving. Your issues will be addressed with our dedicated team to prevent future occurrences.

We regret that you will not be returning to the resort however should you change your mind, we look forward to giving you a more pleasant experience, one that suits our 5 star level.

We hope that you enjoyed your time in Port Douglas outside of the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    247
    106
    26
    18
See reviews for
254
423
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed there for a long weekend and absolutley loved it.
Massive thanks to Courtney in the restaurant, she really went the extra mile!!
Sam on reception really looked after us aswell!
Highly reccommend this resort to my friends and family.

The resort is a little bit out of town but hire a car and problem solved!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you found us 'amazing'!

We shall pass on your kind comments to Courtney and Sam who will be thrilled that you were impressed with their service.

We are located a little way out of Port Douglas but it's great to hear that using a hire car was so easy for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed three nights in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was fine and well equipped for 4 ppl and cleanliness of the apartment was acceptable.

On arrival the Manager checked us in. He was friendly enough and asked if we were part of the Le Club Accorhotels program which I advised him I was a Platinum member and gave him my membership details.

Overall our experience was average considering the price paid. The swimming pools were massive. However they were extremely cold.

It was extremely disappointing to not receive any benefits from their own loyalty program.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at the Resort. We appreciate the feedback you have provided on your time with us.

We are always happy to host a Le Club member. The main benefit that you receive from being a Le Club Platinum member are the points earned upon checkout. For every Euro spent you receive 4 points to be redeemed at any Accor property or with a variety of airline frequent flyer programs. We are pleased to advise that these points will automatically be added to your account after your stay. We hope that this information improves your view of your stay with us.

Our lagoon-style pool is our best feature and the focal point of the Resort. We regret that you were unable to enjoy this due to the temperature at the time of your stay.

We hope to see you back at the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Penthouse Apartment, being the 2 of us we only paid for 1bedroom. Good value for 7 night $2250. The term Penthouse does not match my expectations for size and quality, more the Apartment. Compact living area, small bathroom with shower over bath. Shallow pillow top mattress very hard bed. Furnished balcony & a roof top terrace with 2 sun lounges, outdoor setting & jacuzzi. A fantastic terrace space, but is void of character & decoration.
The deal excluded housekeeping & breakfast . The resort pool is huge and very clean.
A well maintained resort with quality car accommodation, & nice gardens. You will need a car as the town is a few minutes drive away. we noticed many young families here. Our Apartment was Lagoon view c block, facing the pool & with a direct " view" of the other apartments. If you want a view & peace & quiet don't choose this area. They have a Golf links view block with private plunge pool which looked quieter.
Overall a good value stay considering hotel rooms at a 4 or 5 star can start at $250 per night.
Not a luxurious stay but it was price reflective.

Room Tip: Swim out apartments - direct pool access beach & Golf links view apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately you were not a guest of Pullman Resort, but rather of a private operator. For daily housekeeping, full use of chargebacks, including restaurant and Vie Spa, we recommend guests book through www.accorhotels.com. I’m glad you enjoyed the resort and hope you return to visit us again in Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in a 1 Bedroom Penthouse. We thought it was very nice at first then the ants were EVERYWHERE. We called the front desk and they told us to get the bug spray out of the cabinet and spray...well I guess enough said. Breakfast was supposed to be included but they said they couldn't find our name on the list despite my showing the confirmation to the front desk.

Room Tip: They do have rooms close to the water and with beach access but no one offered that information desp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your holiday at the Resort.

We do have a lot of wildlife in Far North Queensland and unfortunately it extends to the little creatures as well as the exciting crocs and cuddly koalas. We hope that you were able to make use of the bug spray that is provided in every Apartment to combat this.

We are disappointed to hear that you experienced difficulty at breakfast time and hope this didn't detract from enjoying your time in Port Douglas.

You are right, we do have Swimout Apartments with direct lagoon access available at the Resort and would be delighted to book one for you should you choose to stay with us again. They are a very popular room type so availability can be limited. We don't, however, have rooms with direct beach access. The resort is alongside beautiful Four Mile Beach with several pathways to the beach for all guests to use.

We hope to see you again at the Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

For the price you pay to stay at the Pullman Port Douglas what I received was way way below that. The restaurant and buffet breakfast is absolutely disgusting - the buffet breakfast was covered in bugs every morning and foods that were meant to be cold were warm and foods that were meant to be hot were cold. The staff were unfriendly and un-welcoming. I ordered chips as I was laying by the pool for lunch and it took them over an hour to bring them out to me not to mention the rooms were filthy and bug ridden and my fridge was full on little ants. The bed sheets were extremely itchy and not comfortable at all. Overall I am extremely disappointed and will never be staying here or recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are very disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. The housekeeping and food & beverage issues that you have raised are unacceptable and we will investigate what you have brought to our attention.

We appreciate constructive feedback as we are always intent on improving our level of service and the facilities that we offer.

We regret that you felt unwelcome at the Resort and were very unhappy with your stay.

We do hope that you enjoyed your time spent in Port Douglas outside of the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bd swimour apartment , which was fantastic and safe for our little one . because we had an apartment we were able to stock our fridge with snacks , wine and breakfast foods which was a great savings . we still enjoyed cocktails and fine dining. The apartment was very spacious and clean. A great family friendly venue

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at the Resort. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us so much.

Our Apartments are fully self contained - it's great that you were able to make full use of that whilst still spoiling yourselves in AQUA Restaurant or the Pool Bar! That's great planning.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.