We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Resort in Australia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favourite Resort in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My Husband and I celebrated our 2nd wedding anniversary at the Sea Temple. Wow, what a fabulous place! We are well travelled and have stayed in many of the top spectacular establishments throughout the world, but as far as Australia goes, this place is simply the best. We had originally booked a Spa Suite, as lovely as it was, we, with the help of Nathan at front desk, upgraded to a 2 bedroom penthouse and are so glad we did. I won't go on about all the wonderful things, hopefully you'll see for yourselves, I can just say it was an amazing weekend and we are desperate to go back. I highly recommend either a 2 bed penthouse or swim up, you'll not be disappointed. The staff are fabulous, in particular Nathan for making our weekend so great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Happy anniversary! Thank you for allowing us to help you celebrate, we are glad you enjoyed your stay during this very happy time for you.

We are thrilled with your comments and will pass them onto our dedicated team especially our Front Office Manager, Nathan.

We do hope that you will return to the Resort again soon - don't wait until next year's anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    248
    107
    26
    18
See reviews for
254
427
16
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I just finished our 4 night stay in room 277 (1 bedroom suite) at the Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa. This was the first hotel on our journey through the gold cost and we both agree it was very enjoyable. The hotel is just a 10-15 minute drive from the main shops and restaurants in Port Douglas, so we would suggest renting a car or taking the free shuttle to town. You could walk, run or rent a bicycle if you wanted, as the roads are fairly wide and there are walking paths along the main roads.

As we were there at the end of August (2013), the hotel was quiet and peaceful. There were couples and families with small children, but the noise wasn't bad at all. The pool was gigantic and clean, (we saw them cleaning it) and there were plenty of chairs within distance of the bar. The beach was nearby with several different paths easily marked and light at night. You can't beat the view from 4 mile beach - it truly is beautiful and in August it's warm enough to sit out with no one in eye sight.. It can get windy into the afternoon, but other than that it’s very enjoyable.

Our room was very nice and clean. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite (room 277) that didn't overlook the pool, but had a nice veranda shaded by a few trees. From what we could see, no rooms or villas had ocean views, rather just pool views or views of trees.. We used the big Jacuzzi tub which was clean and comfortable, and the shower had great water pressure. The room didn't really show much wear and tear overall. The housekeeping staff did a good job cleaning every day, but they could have done a slightly better job of sweeping and wiping down.. Overall it was a great stay and fairly reasonable. If your looking for something that is super romantic, this might not be for you, but it is a great hotel and from what we heard around town, it is definitely nicer than hotels like the Marriott etc..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding! We are thrilled that you allowed us to help celebrate this special occasion.

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review of your stay with us.

We appreciate the feedback you have provided on our Housekeeping team and we will pass your comment on to continually improve our service at the Resort.

We hope that the remainder of your travels along the East Coast were just as enjoyable as your time in Port Douglas and that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The Pullman overall lacked character is very big with what seemed like hundreds of rooms and is therefore quite impersonal.

The positives are that you can walk to the beach, the pool is nice and some of the staff we encountered understood the concept of service.

The negatives were unfortunately many! Housekeeping was poor and inconsistent. We found a fishing hook in our bedroom on arrival - not something we wanted our toddler to come across! The cleaning lacked attention to detail, beds were made poorly and sometimes dishes were cleaned poorly and sometimes not cleaned and put in dishwasher. Upon leaving I found a syringe under the bed amongst other things including a thick layer of dust. Unacceptable!

The cot we were given for our toddler broke as she stood inside holding onto the the railing. Fortunately she fell into the cot and not out.

We ate at the restaurant for breakfast once and ordered room service for dinner a couple of times and the meals were poor and tasteless - what you would expect in a cheap bistro made by people who do not respect or appreciate food. I recommend eating out as there are some great eateries in town.

The Pullman is quite a way from town. We had a car so were able to head into or out of town easily but again there are plenty of nice places to stay closer to town.

The rooms were dark, badly designed with few windows to the living area.

We were overall very disappointed and would not recommend the Pullman to anyone travelling to Port Douglas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Resort.

We appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback on the areas that you feel the resort is not up to standard. The housekeeping issues that you have raised were addressed immediately with our team to ensure that they are not repeated.

We regret that you were not impressed with the food served in AQUA Restaurant, however we can assure you that our Executive Chef and his team are very passionate about every meal that they serve to our guests.

Our location in Port Douglas and the size of the Resort add to the seclusion and tranquil atmosphere. It is a shame that you did not feel this as welcoming, we will endeavour to rectify this.

We hope that the next time you return to Port Douglas you enjoy your stay a little more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Spent the week at the Sea Temple for a work conference. Great rooms and amenities, food was ok not great. Loved the chilled out relaxed feel to it.
Many floor level rooms have direct access to pool from the balcony. Overall a great place for a family holiday. Definitely would recommend staying at the Sea Temple.
Walking access to the beach and can walk to town along the beach but that is a lengthy 1hr. Walk

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Resort. Even though you stayed for business reasons, we are glad that you were able to relax.

The walk into Port Douglas along Four Mile Beach is definitely a highlight of our location and we recommend it as well.

We look forward to seeing you back at the resort - perhaps purely for leisure purposes next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place is excellent in every way. The rooms, service, and views are fantastic. We just wished we stayed for more than just a night! We came here using a groupon voucher and it was definitely worth it. Next time we would stay for at least 3 nights. Tip - Make use of the pool in the afternoons because the water is warmer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
One night is never enough is it?! We wish you could have stayed longer as well to enjoy all of the facilities at the Resort.

That's a great tip about our lagoon-style pool - we hope you spent your afternoon there.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were fortunate to have a two bedroomed penthouse apartment facing the pool. On the rooftop we had a spa, barbecuing facilities and chez lounge chairs with ample shade.
The apartment was well fitted with all the amenities that one could wish for, including two TV's.

The pool and the surrounding tropical gardens were especially beautiful and only a five minute walk to an outstanding beach.

It all sounds too good to be true--trust me, this was heaven!!

The restaurant was top class and worth every penny.

The property is situated 4 Kms. from the village centre and my advice is hire a car so that one can enjoy the heritage sights in that area, namely the Daintree Rain Forest

Port Douglas is also the springboard to the Great Barrier Reef -another world heritage sight.

Room Tip: Facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are happy to hear that you were impressed with our Resort. Thank you for shaing your review of stay with us.

The Penthouse Apartments are popular for the additional space they offer on the rooftop. We hope you made great use of the private spa!

Thank you for providing a tip to our future guests in regards to hiring a car. We can offer this at the Resort or there is a local shuttle bus that stops at the Resort entrance every half and hour.

We hope to see you at the Resort again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ok. Here's the low down. SeaTemple is gorgeous, luxurious and tropical. It's the perfect place for couples or families and is large enough not to feel crowded. Theres a lovely little path from the resort down to the beach- which is relatively secluded down that end. The location is great - close to the habitat and little shopping area and you can catch the local bus to and from the Main Street. The rooms are sufficiently spacious with full service kitchen and laundry ( very handy for staying for more than a few days). The rooms are either lower level apartments or level 2 with a roof top balcony. We were on the lower level which was fine for us as it was easy access in and out. BUT here's a few things you should know:
1. There is minimal privacy. There are no block out blinds from the main living area onto the "outside", eg paths and pool areas. It's odd. There's a full see through shade but take a walk through the resort at night and every room is open to see into. We found this slightly disturbing. If you were on an upper level it's a bit better as the people walking along the paths can't see directly in. 2. The pool is stunning but cold. COLD. 3. Some local real estate agents 'own' and rent out the apartments ( eg Belle Properties) DO NOT rent through these guys. She is not helpful and uses the excuse "it's separate from the resort" for any queries. Other agents may be fine but not Belle Properties. So if you can get over the privacy issue and COLD pool I'd highly recommend it. Just go in with eyes open ( and blinds!). That said, we will go back... As we know what to expect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin D, General Manager at Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for providing your review of your stay at the Resort. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be back.

We regret that you felt there was a lack of privacy throughout the resort, we will take this comment onboard for any future refurbishments.

We are lucky that we can enjoy such beautiful winter weather in Far North Queensland however this does mean that pools and beaches are a tad cooler than in summer time.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.