We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Brekkie
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed In a 2 bed penthouse and it was amazing with a private rooftop spa and BBQ area. Was very clean and well keep, staff were all so friendly and helpfull. This is a place I can't wait to return one day and visit the reef again was a awesome day out with quick sliver tours

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    226
    101
    26
    17
See reviews for
239
392
14
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

what a blissful getaway. I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. Its a big property spread out with space and not feeling like you are on top of others. The feature of the hotel is the pool - its massive and I mean its a massive lagoon that snakes its way around the hotel. There are rooms that open directly on to it and some have a grassy area before the pool. I stayed in a 1 bedroom penthouse and the rooftop is the size of the actual apartment... had a big spa, webber bbq and sun lounger so i didnt have to leave... except to go to the pool! Breakfast was great with a lovely fresh buffet. Lunch was good, but dinner was amazing and the sommelier was very knowledgeable. I never made it to the pool bar (hey the rooftop was just too good!)

The resort had a great feeling around it, staff were professional but not snooty - you cant help but feel relaxed when you hear and see everybody having fun.

Room Tip: swim out rooms are great, but that also means the noise from the pool and kids playing travels into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked a 6 night honeymoon from the 25/11/12 at the Sea Temple on a recommendation and were blown away by the whole experience. We searched different websites for best prices but ended up ringing the hotel reservations directly and negotiated a 2 bedroom penthouse apartment for $299pn. It initially didn't include full buffet breakfast but after a little nudge they threw it in too. The night before we left I noticed the hotel website had the same room advertised for $239pn. I phoned up and asked if we could have the same rate given the big difference. This was done without issue saving us over $400 straight away! The hotel was amazing and looks exactly as it does in the photos on the website. I have never encountered staff who are so attentive and happy to help in whatever way possible. On our last night we booked a sunset cruise and had purchased a return ticket on the local bus (which we would definitely NOT recommend). After waiting 45mins for the bus and talking with hotel staff, the friendly lady behind the desk decided to drive us the 15min journey to the marina herself! Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: We had a 2 bed apartment overlooking the pool which was very quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisbech
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Sea Temple for 5 nights from 18 November 2012.

It is situated about 10 minutes by shuttle bus (not free) from the centre of Port Douglas. The accommodation comprises a number of two-storey blocks clustered around a very large pool which occupies the centre of the facility. The design is attractive and the landscaped areas both hard and soft are particularly attractive.

Some of the apartments appear to be privately owned and many of them have patios directly abutting onto the pool itself. This produces the most inconvenient layout. To get from our room to the public areas, and indeed to get to and from the pool terrace required a detour around a perimeter service road.

The pool is lovely and very large - beautiful to swim in. The hotel is popular with families and the limited pool terrace space makes it difficult to avoid being crowded in and this lack of space is rather surprising in a hotel of this rating. The pool bar did not open until 1145 and this is somewhat inconvenient when temperatures reach 30 degrees at 09:00 hours.

Our room was modern and well equipped although a certain amount of floor space had been sacrificed to the provision of a large spa bath. The bathroom was very clean and smar, twin basins, lovely tiled floor, but I must say I prefer bathrooms to have doors.

In our case the garden view was of a timy courtyard garden area abutting the rear elevations of the adjoining blocks. Not an attractive area for sitting out in.

Standards of service are very high and the reception team in particular were most obliging on more than one occasion to sort out various problems for us.

Whilst we stayed, a conference for about 30 people took over parts of the restaurant for lunches and dinners and at these times ordinary guests suffered limitations on the available space and staffing resources seemed stretched, as the service became susceptible to variability in quality and reliability. It is not clear why paying guests should suffer for the hotel's apparent failure to engage additional resources to ensure that standards of service were not compromised.

The hotel has one restaurant. Of all the places we dined in Australia, this was the best. The chef is superbly creative and the food and wines simply divine. My recollection of the enterprising combination of flavours will remain with me for a long time.

Room Tip: Try to get a Pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I finished our honeymoon in Port Douglas. We had been recommended the Sea Temple, but on staying there would not recommend it to others. We were so dissapointed. We had one of the swim out rooms but they chose to position us in the kids section (and new we were on our honeymoon) of the pool, where we had kids jumping on our day beds, using our balcony and screaming outside our room - not really the relaxing environment we had witnessed everywhere else on our honeymoon. My husband went to use the gym on a couple of occasions and was unable to as there were young kids in there just playing on the epuipment. Sea Temple is located so far from town and is really quite painful having to stop at all of the other resorts to get to and from there as it is the furthest one out - shuttle isn't included either. We were so dissapointed and had such great expectations but would never stay there again and would not recommend it to others (unless you have kids). There were also no sun beds available and we had to lay on the grass as the parents with kids came out in the mornings and reserved them all. There were 8 sun beds to service of 20 apartments with up to 4 people in each in that area of the complex - very frustrating. No shops or restaurants within easy walk - 50 minute walk to town centre. Room also had a very wet/damp smell.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask not to be anywhere need the shallow end of the pool if you don't want kids scr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Stunning resort with amazing pool and great room service and food. Best buffet breakfast that I have ever experienced. Highly recommend. We stayed for three nights after the total solar eclipse festival and was a fantastic way to wind down from the festival. Wish we had more time to stay here, but we had a long drive back to Melbourne. Will definitely come back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Sea Temple Resort for 6 days, and we loved every minute of it. From the first minute we got there, the staff were (genuinely) very friendly and more than helpful. I booked a Penthouse Suite which was a two level, apartment style room, with a massive upstairs space with a spa and bbq/dining area. When I booked the room (Wotif), it stated it was a 1 bedroom, queen bed arrangement, but upon entering the room, was surprised it was a two bedroom king/queen setup which was even better. We were put in the "Golfview" side of the resort, as the desk attendant said it was quieter. And she was right. The room was exceptionally clean, the beds, and pillows, were very comfortable and all the furniture etc was comfortable and very stylish with an Oriental theme throughout. The room had a full kitchen setup and conveniently, a washer and dryer tucked away in a cupboard. Being close to the pool may be better for some, and the resort boasts "swim out" rooms, where you can literally walk out your door into the pool, but it isn't as quiet due to kids etc in the pool, but the Golfview rooms are maybe a 1 minute stroll to the pool which is ample. Now for the pool... Stunning! It is a massive saltwater, could be mistaken for freshwater, lagoon pool, that spans almost the entire resort. The entire resort is very modern and Oriental themed and looks really good. The in house Aqua restaurant was very good. From the buffet breakfast to the fantastic dinners, it's well worth a look. They also offer room service 24hours if you feel that way inclined. My friend took advantage of the in house Mii Spa treatments and had nothing but praise about it. If you have a car, there is parking right outside your rooms, which is very handy. Room service comes everyday to refresh your room with new towels etc if you need it. You can walk to Four Mile Beach in a minute or two from the resort, but as we went in November, it was full of stingers, so didn't take advantage of the proximity to the beach, other than to have a walk. I can't think of any bad points about this resort. Maybe the only downside is that, the shower in the room was over the bath, which Im not a fan of, but that in no way detracts anything from what was a fantastic stay at a fantastic resort. I would recommend Sea Temple to anyone. 5*'s!

Room Tip: Golfview rooms are quiter but Lagoon rooms are on the pools edge but also would be less quiet. Penth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.