We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous pool and apartment!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booker
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Gorgeous pool and apartment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom two bath swim-out apartment. It was beautiful! And more than adequate for my husband, our 6month old baby and I.
We didn't have much problem with the noise from the pool, as it was during winter and not school holidays, so were able to enjoy our time lazing on the lounge chair by the pool at the back of our apartment. We loved the convenience of swimming directly from our apartment. And ours was located right in the middle of the length of the pool, so was fantastic, but have noticed some other swim-out apartments not located as ideally. Especially for the premium you pay for a swim out, definitely request to be located along the length/body of the pool, otherwise you could book elsewhere for cheaper price.

Room Tip: Ask to be located along the length/main body of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    275
    115
    29
    18
See reviews for
263
483
18
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We just returned from a family vactaion in Australia. We booked the Sea Temple after having stayed at the Mirage 18 years ago and learning it had not been renovated since! The Sea Temple exceeded our expectations. We had a 2 bedroom apartment and it was fantastic to be able to spread out as our children are 13 and 10. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job and the grounds were beautiful. The staff was friendly and the beach was less than a 2 minute walk. The price was beyond reasonable as you would expect to pay triple in the Caribbean for a room such as this. Port Douglas has certainly grown up over the past 18 years. What a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We booked in a studio spa suite for 3 nights as our good friends chose to get married in Port Douglas, which we thought was a sensational idea; with the reception held at the Sea Temple.

The resort is absolutely spectacular, with the pool set as the central feature and the rooms constructed around it. And what a pool it is, outstanding. The food (breakfast and dinner) was excellent quality with the various language barriers providing some genuine amusement. The service at the pool bar was friendly and the staff generally very polite and helpful. And the catering for the reception was superb!

It's a very short stroll to the beach, which is great for a morning run etc. An I'm not a golfer, but even i was tempted by the spectacular looking golf course. However.... it is quite a distance (~5 km) to the main st of Port Douglas - not really a problem as there is a courtesy bus that does a regular circuit.

In summary, should have stayed longer to make the most of the great facilities.

Room Tip: Allow AT LEAST 1 day to spend lounging around the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have just returned from a family holiday in Port Douglas and the Sea Temple was fantastic. We booked through a Qantas package and then upgraded through the hotel to a swim up room. We chose a swim up since I thought it would help when the younger kids were napping and the older one needed to be supervised while swimming and it did work out that way sometimes.

Having read various reviews on Trip Advisor we knew that the Sea Temple was a way out of town and this suited us fine. With three kids, 5yo, 2yo and 8mths, unless we were in a hotel in the dead centre of town we were always going to hire a car. It's less than a 10 minute drive into town and we used the car everyday so it was definitely worth us hiring one. The beach is just a 2 min walk away down a lovely path through the rainforest so we were able to pop over to the beach easily. The beach itself was sometimes very windy so it was just a quick play in the sand or the shallows and then back to the hotel for a swim. But when it wasn't windy the beach was brilliant, especially at low tide, with plenty of shallows for the kids to walk through. There are also trees that provide some shade on the beach so a good place for everyone.

We had a two-bedroom (1 with a tv), two-bathroom (1 with a bath) apartment which felt very luxorious. The living space was one big room facing the pool and tropical surrounds - which gave it a lovely relaxing feel, even when doing the washing :) It had a european laundry, a full kitchen (had everything we needed) with a dining table, a sitting room with a tv, verandah with a day bed and then a pool gate with two loungers by the edge of the pool. Every thing looked pretty new, clean and was in working order. The dishes fairy, aka daily housekeeping/cleaning, was blissful and made it much more of a holiday. Only drawback with the room was that the TV didn't have ABC2 with all the kids shows, which we did miss when we were very tired and needed a break. Luckily the hotel has kids DVDs which you can borrow - this was very lucky. Next time I'd remember to bring some DVDs.

The resort was very well maintained (we saw lots of cleaning and gardening going on) and the pool is spectactular. Although a little on the cool side (I don't think I've come across a warm pool in QLD) it was lovely once you were in and I had many beautiful swims around the lagoon, especially in the evening. There was always a few people, including a few kids, enjoying the pool and there were lots of loungers for people without a swim up apartment. The spa was very popular with our kids because with the bubbles off it was like a warm pool. We visited the hotel restaurant twice, once for breakfast and once for dinner. Both delicious and coped well with the kids. We dined the rest of the time in town which was a little cheaper. We also enjoyed room service a couple of times which was great. The only teeny issue we had with the resort was that the under cover parking spots were a little tight and it was easier to just park in the visitor parking, although the car got a bit hot.

People at the front desk were lovely and helpful in booking tours etc. We also hired toys and equipment from Baby Equipment Hire which was great. Overall a lovely resort that we would recommend if your budget allows.

Room Tip: Being winter it was nice having a room that faced north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We were expecting five star accommodation based on the price we paid and the promotional material we looked at. The saving grace was the pool which our kids loved. The food was HORRIBLE. The service was not even average, they have no sense of meeting expectations for what you pay to stay here! I would say there are quite a few better places to stay in Port Douglas that are actually five star!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in August 2011 in a one bedroomed penthouse appartment. We had a reasonable deal, and felt the whole stay was well worth the price. The appartment was spotless, well equiped and very spacious. There is a large rooftop area with barbeque and spa which we didn't use it at all, but the appartment was large enough for us to spread out. It was serviced daily with an abundance of fresh towels and toiletries etc. The kitchen area was fully equiped for cooking for six. Short walk to the huge pool area. The staff at Reception were friendly and efficient. We ate once at the inhouse restaurant, but didn't go back as Port Douglas has such a good choice of eating places. The beach is a short stroll away, very clean. When choosing an appartment to stay, you may want to avoid the "swim in" appartments that can be very public and noisy when children are using the pool. We had a car for our stay, not really a good choice if you are relying on taxis and shuttles.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

It was a top rate resort, we are very fussy and this was a fantastic place, lovely pool leading off from our door wrapping right around the Hotel with a lovely poolside bar.
It was everything you want for a relaxing Holiday and the Spa was really great too.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with the pool right off the Balcany worth the extra money,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: Mitre St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa is a five star resort located on Four Mile Beach, Tropical North Queensland - gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Daintree Rainforest. This spacious retreat features a range of Port Douglas accommodation styles, situated around one of the largest lagoon pools in the Southern Hemisphere. Enjoy modern Australian dining in AQUA Restaurant, an invigorating spa treatment in Vie Spa, or a tropical refreshment whilst taking in the spectacular views at the Pool Bar. At Pullman Resort Port Douglas, our friendly team can organise your tours and activities, from rainforest tours to Great Barrier Reef day trips. With the latest wireless technology, Pullman luxury accommodation in Port Douglas will keep you perfectly connected in room and throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Port Douglas
Sea Temple Port Douglas
Sea Temple Resort Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.