We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment, awesome location, fantastic staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Save Saved
You added Saltwater Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great apartment, awesome location, fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our family had the pleasure of staying here for 5 nights in November. The apartment was clean, spacious, and well equipped. The location couldn't be beat and the staff were more than accommodating. This is now my third trip to Port Douglas and will be back at Saltwater the next time I'm in town.

In addition to the great service John & Carolyne provided, they even went the extra mile by mailing me two very important items I had forgotten in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks you for your great review. It was a pleasure having you stay at Saltwater and to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    49
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
104
71
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in January this year as part of our tour of Australia. The apartments have an excellent location right in the centre making it very convenient for the restaurants and shops as well as the supermarket. The apartments are very spacious and clean. The service from the the managers on site was friendly, with a good local knowledge of trips etc.
We very much enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in staying there in the future if we visit this area of Australia again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your great review. Lets hope you can return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We really loved this apartment and Port Douglas for our fourth stop on our Australian trip. We stayed here four nights and were wishing we had booked longer! Carolyn and John booked all of our tours and airport shuttle for us prior to our arrival so all we had to do was enjoy! The apartment was huge - lots of room and two bedrooms with 2 1/2 baths. We loved the shower! We also enjoyed cooking a few of our meals in the well-equipped kitchen. The apartments are located right in the heart of Port Douglas so everything is easy access including the Coles grocery store across the street and the beach is just a short walk. These were a great value. Carolyn and John were so helpful. You can contact them directly for rates at info@saltwaterportdouglas.com.au. If we return to this area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your great review. Lets hope that you can return again soon to Saltwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

John and Carolyn were friendly and extremely helpful. saltwater apartments beautifully appointed with modern furniture and appliances. everything we needed and straight on main street with supermarket across the road. Easy walk to beautiful beach, restaurants and shops. Professional bus service from airport. CLEANEST place we have ever stayed and excellent value for money. we have been twice, last time extended our stay because we didn't want to leave! (Only negative is port Douglas council leaf blowers early each morning, about which Carolyn has a petition going:) We hope to go again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your great review. You will have to return to Port Douglas again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Saltwater Apartments for 4 nights in the second week of January 2013. We organised the accommodation and our trips to the reef and Daintree in advance (as advised). The apartment was massive. There were two of us in the two-bedroom apartment and there was tons of space - open-plan living/dining/kitchen area, large master bedroom with open en suite bathroom (circular spa bath) and large twin bedroom with en suite bathroom (with shower), plus a long narrow terrace the width of the apartment. We found the location, on the main shopping street of Port Douglas, to suit us perfectly. We didn't hire a car and we were able to walk to the marina (from where the reef excursions depart), the restaurants in the town, the large Coles supermarket and the beach (which has a protective net in one area against jellyfish).

Really couldn't fault the place - we had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your review. You obviously really enjoyed your stay at Saltwater.
Hopefully you will be able tpo return to Port Douglas and enjoy Saltwater again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We first stayed at Saltwater 2 years ago and it was great. We booked our wedding party into Mantra Heritage because Saltwater doesn't have any 1 bedroom apartments but cancelled our Mantra booking after a bad pre-wedding stay there, preferring to spend more than risk another mishap. As a confessed bridezilla with family travelling from overseas, I wanted the accommodation to be of high standard but most of all CLEAN.
Thank New Zealand for John and Carolyn! They were pleasant and helpful when we booked the accommodation (didn't roll their eyes at my neurotic bridezilla requests). 3 months later when we arrived in Port Douglas, just married, they had upgraded us free to the best apartment with the largest balcony, which the whole family enjoyed over the next 3 days. The 4 apartments we'd booked were all properly clean, not spit and polish. One of the shadier apartments smelt musty when initially entered, but once the windows are opened it was fine. We live in Cairns and musty damp smell is normal when windows are closed - it's the Tropics!!
I've read other reviews of Saltwater whinging about beach towels - if $5 is too much, you can buy 2 new towels from Target over the road for $15 and launder yourself. If that is the main complaint, it goes to show there's not much to complain about.
Central location, clean and bright, quiet (we didn't hear other guests very much but there's a little noise from the pub which you don't hear unless you're on the balcony). Yes it's a bit pricey but the apartments are classy and well equipped and you get what you pay for - quality and good service. John and Carolyn were lovely people and after our Mantra experience, we would only stay at Saltwater now because they've spoilt us for anywhere else. Many thanks.

Room Tip: All are great, the differences between them are slight..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your great review. We appreciate all feed back and it is always good to here that you have enjoyed your stay in Port Douglas and Saltwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyr Cove, NV
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were 3 friends who thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Saltwater Apts. The 2 bedroom, 2 bath apt is very spacious; it is nicely furnished with a fully stocked kitchen and the apt has a washer, dryer. Since Port Douglas restaurants were a pit pricey we cooked some wonderful meals in the apts. John and Carolyn were always there to help out with great suggestions on where to go and what to do and helped with making reservations. I HIGHLY recommmend these apts, it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Great that you enjoyed your holiday in Port Douglas and that you enjoyed Saltwater.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#13 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltwater Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.