We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quality and service. Book for your honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Save Saved
You added Saltwater Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Cairns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, quality and service. Book for your honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We first stayed at Saltwater 2 years ago and it was great. We booked our wedding party into Mantra Heritage because Saltwater doesn't have any 1 bedroom apartments but cancelled our Mantra booking after a bad pre-wedding stay there, preferring to spend more than risk another mishap. As a confessed bridezilla with family travelling from overseas, I wanted the accommodation to be of high standard but most of all CLEAN.
Thank New Zealand for John and Carolyn! They were pleasant and helpful when we booked the accommodation (didn't roll their eyes at my neurotic bridezilla requests). 3 months later when we arrived in Port Douglas, just married, they had upgraded us free to the best apartment with the largest balcony, which the whole family enjoyed over the next 3 days. The 4 apartments we'd booked were all properly clean, not spit and polish. One of the shadier apartments smelt musty when initially entered, but once the windows are opened it was fine. We live in Cairns and musty damp smell is normal when windows are closed - it's the Tropics!!
I've read other reviews of Saltwater whinging about beach towels - if $5 is too much, you can buy 2 new towels from Target over the road for $15 and launder yourself. If that is the main complaint, it goes to show there's not much to complain about.
Central location, clean and bright, quiet (we didn't hear other guests very much but there's a little noise from the pub which you don't hear unless you're on the balcony). Yes it's a bit pricey but the apartments are classy and well equipped and you get what you pay for - quality and good service. John and Carolyn were lovely people and after our Mantra experience, we would only stay at Saltwater now because they've spoilt us for anywhere else. Many thanks.

Room Tip: All are great, the differences between them are slight..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your great review. We appreciate all feed back and it is always good to here that you have enjoyed your stay in Port Douglas and Saltwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    49
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
101
70
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zephyr Cove, NV
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were 3 friends who thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Saltwater Apts. The 2 bedroom, 2 bath apt is very spacious; it is nicely furnished with a fully stocked kitchen and the apt has a washer, dryer. Since Port Douglas restaurants were a pit pricey we cooked some wonderful meals in the apts. John and Carolyn were always there to help out with great suggestions on where to go and what to do and helped with making reservations. I HIGHLY recommmend these apts, it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Great that you enjoyed your holiday in Port Douglas and that you enjoyed Saltwater.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Saltwater in late November. We wanted to stay in the heart of Port Douglas.
We were within 200 meters of the pubs, clubs and Restaurants. Down the stairs from our room and we were in the middle of Macrossan street. The room was what we wantd, it was quiet at night time as our rooms faced Macrossan street. Never heard anything coming form the street.
The only thing that i didn't like was the pool. Very sterile area, a few chairs and a few potted plants. The pool was very small and as i said very sterile and with no imagination. If you had kids they would find this very boring compared to other accommodations that has shaded trees with comfortable chairs around it.
Would definetly stay again even though the pool was a shocker.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Owner at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Regarding the pool area, the pool is "suspended" [that is, not in the ground] and as such, having trees or unpotted plants doesn't work very well. There are 3 shade sails to compensate for the lack of trees giving guests the options of sun or shade. The photos of the pool on our website should be adequate for guests to determine whether or not it is right for their family.

Thank you again.

John & Carolyne
Owner/ Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Family of 5 travelling from UK had a lovely 6 night stay in the Saltwater apartments. We stayed in a two bedroomed two bathroomed apartment which was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and exceptionally quiet. John & Carolyn were very helpful and organised in advance two day trips and gave us some very useful local recommendations for restaurants and things to do. The apartment was very central so good for browsing around town, 5 mins walk to the beach and 8min walk to the marina - really great location. The pool, although not very big, was ideal for the children (ages 7 to 11) and they enjoyed a cooling swim every day. Pool was nicely shaded so great for reading a book poolside.

We really enjoyed our stay and it suited perfectly our requirements of a central but quiet apartment close to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Owner at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just got finish with a 4 day stay in the 2 bedroom penthouse apartment. The location is in the middle of town close to everything. John and carolyne booked all of our excursions and dining reservations and I highly recommend you letting them do all your bookings. They really know what they are doing. We did the karranda railroad, sky rail and a day trip snorkeling and because of their knowledge we had a great days. Even let us know where to watch the fireworks. Definitely go above and beyond to make sure your stay is a fabulous one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Owner at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Many thanks for your review.

We do encourage our guests to take the uncertainty out of booking tours etc as we have personal experience with virtually all options in Port Douglas and we are totally independent of all operators.

Again, many thanks for the review.

John & Carolyne
Owner/ Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Yes, I agree with the other reviewers that it it is a good place to stay. John has been specially helpful and provided a personal touch and guidance in planning the trip.
It should be clearly considered as a convenient and comfortable place to stay - being close to facilities: supermarket, restaurants etc.
However, my personal viewpoint is that the "luxury" attribute perhaps is a bit misnomer. Also, one should be aware that there is no lift or elevator but one has to use stairs. I believe the management must have mentioned this on their website. If it is there, it appears to be not easily visible and should be made more visible -- as it could be an important issue for many.

I am not aware of the tarriff but I believe it would be same as some of the resorts which would be more luxurious than this. They would have more open space around, I imagine.
At the end, it depends on travellers what they are looking for.

Room Tip: If you are looking for convenience - this is good one. check for the comparative pricing though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Owner at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback.

As with most accommodation houses in Port Douglas, there is no lift at Saltwater and we are very careful to ensure that guests are aware of this before they book whether it be on line or by phone. All websites that Saltwater is listed on have this fact well documented however this fact may not always be passed on by the person who made the booking to others in the travelling party.

We have looked at many alternaitves to put in a lift/ dumb waiter in but to retrofit one is too expensive.

As for the writer's comments on luxury or not, we will let the readers judge for themselves by reading other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just recently stayed for the 4th time at the Saltwater Luxury apartments in Port Douglas. I must say that the service and apartments are second to none, highly recommend for anyone whether it be singles, couples or families, the location is the main drawcard. Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your great review. It was a pleasure having you as a guest at Saltwater and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltwater Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.