We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Save Saved
You added Saltwater Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Can't fault it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Your perfect holidays lodgings await at Saltwater. My sister and i spent 3 nights here last week and are already keen to return. John and Carolyn are charming and keen to assist guests in any way they can. The apartments are very clean, stylish, stocked with lots of appliances etc and are huge! The location is ideal. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for your great review.

Sounds as though you really enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to your return to Saltwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    45
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
94
69
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My family of five stayed at Saltwater in Port Douglas in September 2012 for six nights. Our two-bedroom/two-bathroom apartment was adequate for our family, and the location could not have been better. Saltwater is literally in the middle of town with shops, restaurants and grocery immediately outside the door. (One day, I went to Coles three times!) The beach and parks were only a short walk down the street, too. Our kids enjoyed the pool, though I would have liked a veranda with a bit more view to enjoy while our infant son was napping in the afternoons. The best thing about Saltwater is the management, John and Carolyn. They helped us plan our days perfectly to suit our family. They had been to most of the places we chose to visit, and could give us their first-hand experiences and knowledge of the best ways and times to see it all. They even had the name of a wonderful babysitter who looked after our three boys while we had a romantic dinner just down the road. Our sitter even taught our kids a new game, and tidied up the apartment before we arrived home after dinner.

Room Tip: Try to book a rainforest view, to keep out street noise and get more of a view from the veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
What a great review. You have had a great holiday in Port Douglas and being able to have a little time out on your own was obviously great for you.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Advertised as '5 star', these apartments were not bad but certainly more functional than luxury. However they were clean with all the required facilities and two bathrooms was a bonus although the ensuite was truly that - actually in the main bedroom so no privacy at all!
These are NOT serviced and if you run out of anything including toilet paper you have to buy it form the nearby Coles.
On the plus side Internet was only $20 a week but was very slow and patchy.
If you want a no thrills stay in a clean central location these are fine but if you are looking for luxury then choose one of the rsorts

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for your review. We appreciate all feed back.

We realise that some guests do not understand the concept of non serviced apartments even though it is clearly stated on our website. Most accommodation in Port Douglas is non serviced.
A simple question to us at reception and we would have happily explained the concept.

Saltwater apartments are non serviced apartments. We do supply a starter kit of dishwashing liquid, dishwasher powder, Face tissues and at least 4 toilet rolls.
Non serviced apartments are able to keep the cost of the stay down as they don't have the added cleaning costs that a hotel has. This is why you would have received a good discount at Saltwater.

The layout of the apartment is something that can't be changed but we have been very careful to show on our website photo's, webcam, and video of the interior of the apartments.
If the person is not happhy with the layout we are sure they would not have booked at Saltwater.

Communication is a great thing and if we are told or asked about any perceived or real problem we will always endeavour to solve it for a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed there for 5 nights and highly recommend Saltwater! It's centrally located, with a supermarket just 2 minutes away and plenty of shops and cafes/restaurants nearby (we had a toddler with us so this was perfect). The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the kitchen and dining/living area are complete and well-equipped. There was even complimentary ice cream in the freezer!

John and Carolyn are the friendliest, most helpful hosts. They helped us plan our tours during our stay and provided very personal and useful advice.

All in all, we felt very at home and had an excellent time during our holiday! We'd definitely pick Saltwater over any other hotels in the area the next time we go to port Douglas again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for this great review.

It was a pleasure having you stay and enjoy Saltwater and Port Douglas.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We recently stayed at the Saltwater Luxury Apartments in Port Douglas and had a wonderful relaxing time.
It’s right in the centre of town, so you can lock your car away in the free secure car park and walk down the stairs to fantastic restaurants, coffee shops, pubs and supermarkets.
The room we stayed in was clean and spacious with high ceilings, a large living area (big screen TV!), large bedroom with spa and his and hers vanities.
The managers John and Carolyne are incredibly friendly and really make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble.
I would definitely recommend Saltwater to anyone wanting to experience the best of Port Douglas.
We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for this great review.

You obviously had a wonderful time In Port Douglas and it was our pleasure to have you as our guests at Saltwater.

Lets hope we see you back at Saltwater soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Saltwater Apartments. A major plus is the excellent location: on the corner of Macrossan St, surrounded by cafes, restaurants and shops, and only a very short walk to the marina (from where the reef and Low Isles tours embark) as well as the beautiful seafront park, jetty and lookout.
The apartment itself was clean, comfortable and spacious, and also quiet given its central location. The pool is relatively small, but we had an enjoyable swim and the water was a perfect temperature for those who don't like it too cold!
On the negative side, be aware that this is a difficult property to access for those with mobility issues - there is no lift, and approximately 20 steps to climb from the first to the second floor.
Another possible concern may be the fact that in one of the bedrooms in our apartment, the bath and toilet area was open plan - fine if you're travelling with intimates, but perhaps not suitable for some. We did however have a second bathroom/toilet with a normal closing door - so it wasn't really an issue.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thanks for your review. We are more than happy that you did enjoy your stay at Saltwater.

We do say on our website that Saltwater like most holiday apartments in Port Douglas is a walk up building and does not have a lift. Thanks for pointing this out for other guests.

We try to make sure everyone enjoys their holiday and it sounds like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed a Saltwater Luxury Apartments recently and we were very disappointed. The apartment was very well appointed but the view from our apartment was over roof tops and the balcony was very small and you couldn't sit on it. Unlike the photos on their web site.
There are too many rules ie you can't use the washing machine after 8pm, you must take all rubbish out of the unit before departure (isn't this the usual), all towels must be placed on the side of the bath and all dishes must be put in the dishwasher which is to be turned on before departure (isn't this always the case when vacating a property). We received a note in the door, the night prior to departure requesting that all this to be done before departure, which we found very humilating.
We won't stay there again as for the price there are much better properties in Port Douglas for the same price, or cheaper.

Room Tip: Not apartment 10 as the view is of the roof tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
This response is very disappointing. Taking each point raised in turn.

The view from all of the apartments on the top level is a spectacular panorama of the mountains and none are impeded by any part of the roof. The apartment that this guest stayed in does have part of the roof visible from the balcony but so do all of the others and none of our previous 8000 guests have ever said this spoilt the view.

The balconies on these apartments are 5 metres wide and 1 m deep and have 2 chairs on them- plenty of room for a couple [as these guests were] to sit outside enjoying the view and sunsets.

As for the rules, we have developed the content of the apartment compendiums over the years in response to numerous questions asked by previous guests, in an attempt to give our guests as much information as possible. No previous guest has ever commented on the content of the compendiums.

This guest makes the point that it is usual for her to put out the rubbish and put the used towels in the bath on departure without being told, which is great. Alas, not everyone is a model guest in this regard and the departure notes were developed to make it easy for departing guests. In 9 years & over 8000 guests using the departure notes, this is only the second time anyone has taken offence at it.

We trust that readers of this posting will read the numerous other comments made by many very happy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas
Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltwater Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.