We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly management!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Saltwater Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WIFI + Beach Towel
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Toronto
2 reviews
“Great location and friendly management!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have now stayed at the Saltwater apartments twice in the last few months and have enjoyed both visits very much. The apartments are very clean and quiet and in a fantastic location. They are also great value especially given the central location on Macrossan street with restaurants and cafes all around as well as Coles directly across the road. John and Carolyne are fantastic as well. They are friendly and have great recommendations for tours and restaurants. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Port Douglas and highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for your great review.

It's great to know that guests enjoy Saltwater so much that they make return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    51
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
107
74
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We recently visited Port Douglas for a second time, and as there were 5 of us in our group decided on the Saltwater Apartments.
They were in a fabulous location and very easy to locate, with parking available underneath.
On arrival we were met by John, despite us arriving quite late, to be pleasantly informed we had been upgraded to the penthouse apartment.
It was absolutley stunning with three great bedrooms and a huge balcony that went all the across and down the side of the apartment. John was an excellent host providing lots of information for our stay. The pool at the aparments was ideal and we had it to ourselves most of the time.
A fantastic holiday in Port Douglas and I cant wait to go back and stay at the Saltwater. I am a travel agent in the UK and will be recommending this to all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thanks for the great review.
Hopefully one day you will be able to return to Saltwater and enjoy a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The old Real Estate adage holds true for Saltwater. The location on the corner of Macrossan and Grant is perfect for the tourist in Port Douglas, especially with a family of 5 and 3 little ones needing prams/strollers/bags etc. We walked everywhere, and easily. Coles is practically across the road, it really was perfect.

So if I were reading this, I'd then wonder if the big plus of the location is let down by a dump that calls itself luxury as places in Port Douglas are prone to do. Well, I don't think Saltwater does at all. The apartment we had (the 2 bedroom penthouse) was excellent. Loads of room for all 5 of us, and all the facilities we could ever want from this type of accommodation. Our balcony was massive, with a table for 4 and 2 banana lounges. But we could see the other balconies were very modest as other reviewers have noted. If you're staying a week or so, I'd highly recommend trying to cut a deal to get the penthouse as we did, as the extra outside room was perfectly shaded late in the afternoon and was the ideal place to eat (we never once ate inside).

The pool was maintained perfectly, and John, the manager, was on hand for and with everything. Nothing seemed a problem for him. The best illustration of this was the email we got a couple of weeks before we arrived. John had noticed we were there for Melbourne Cup week and gave us a list of fmaily friendly functions he could book us in too, or, alternatively, because Cup day is so busy with functions, he could book us out to the reef which would be quieter. I think that's pretty good, and it set the tone for our stay.

To try and be balanced, I have tried to think of some negatives, and I have, but they are really quite minor compared to the overall place and the location, so here goes:

- Rubbish removal was to communal bins that were housed in a room in the garage to quarantine the smell, which the room did brilliantly, but when you were in that room, sheesh!
- Lots of stairs. It was hard lugging the pram up and down them, so if you're not that fit and you have prams/strollers, you might want to think about this as it was an effort and we're relatively fit.

Pretty pathetic, but then if I were to be more critical I would be being ridiculous.

I would definately book Saltwater again, and have recommended it privately a few times as well. If you want any more information or have any specific questions, message me.

Room Tip: The Penthouses have excellent balconies if you're travelling in numbers, but for couples the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Many thanks for the positive comments for Saltwater but as the author felt it necessary to post a couple of negatives [albeit minor in nature according to the author] our responses are as follows:

Rubbish smell: A couple of unfortunate attributes of the tropics are the heat and humidity which can cause the best wrapped food scraps to "go off" within an hour. The rubbish skips at Saltwater get emptied daily at around 7 am so if anyone puts rubbish out after that [containing things like prawn heads, fish etc], there are up to 24 hours for odours to generate. The skips and the room itself are also hosed out & disinfected regulary, but there is always the risk that potentially odorous rubbish is put out just after the cleaning has occured. Several "deodorising machines" have been trialled in the room but none were very affective. As the author stated, this was a minor negative, so hopefully, other readers will view this the same.

Stairs: As is commonplace in Queensland, buildings of fewer than 3 levels do not have to have a lift installed and Saltwater is no exception. We are very conscious of this to the extent that this fact is clearly denoted on the Saltwater website and also on the various sites on which we advertise. We are also proactive with people that telephone or email enquiries regarding them being OK with stairs. Also to offset this inconvenience, John & Carolyne usually assist in carrying guests bags up the stairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This property is in the ideal location for discovering Port Douglas. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. The rooms are smart and clean, although like some of the other travellers have commented, the ensuite toilet in the main bedroom is VERY open plan! Also, the balcony is very small, so as we had another couple with us we were unable to use the balcony all at the same time. Other than that these apartments are very good and we would stay here again. Also a great Italian restaurant in the same complex, I forget the exact name but it was Bella....something!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for your review and your comments regarding the ensuite bathroom and balcony. We do have our floor plans on our website so that guests can choose which type of apartment they would like. There is a second separate bathroom in the apartment if needed. The balconies on some of the apartments are resonably small but if you open the sliders out completely it gives you more room.
There are other apartments with larger balconies.
If there had been a problem at the time and we were aware of it we may have been able to move you to a different apartment.
It sounds as though you did enjoy your holiday and we would really like to see you back at Saltwater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed as a couple in a 2bdrm apartment, so naturally there was plenty of space to spread out. The Apartment was modern and immaculately clean, and John talked us through the ins-and-outs of the Apartment, and Port Douglas in general. His recommendations for eating and sightseeing were spot-on. I was happy i had booked an in-town apartment rather than one of the larger resorts out of town, as being walking distance to shops, pubs and restaurants was a great benefit. Getting around in a shuttle bus would have made things that bit more difficult!The location had the potential to be noisy, but we didn't find street-noise to be a problem at all. Altogether great hosts, a lovely apartment and fantastic location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thanks for your review of Saltwater.
It sounds like you really enjoyed staying at Saltwater and Port Douglas.
It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we hope to see you at Saltwater again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

These apartments are spacious and clean, fitted out with everything you will need for your stay. The hosts are lovely and the location unbeatable.

Saltwater is in the heart of Port Douglas: there's restaurants, bars, and supermarkets meters away. The beach is at the end of the street, as is the Marina where many day trips leave from.

John was a formidable host, from showing us around the room on arrival to recommending trips and tours to take. Because of his help, we discovered a few things about Port Douglas we wouldn't have otherwise.

I will happily stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you foryour review of Saltwater.

We enjoyed having you as a guest and can tell that you really enjoyed your holiday at Saltwater.

Your comments regarding location are important to us as this gives future guests great information for their visit to Port Douglas.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Booked a 3 bed apartment in August 2010. Big, spacious apartments furnished to a high standard. Very clean and modern. Great location - 5 min walk to the beach and lots of restaurants nearby. Pool small but had a fantastic view and normally had it to ourselves.

Owner was very good in recommending trips - we hired a car and visited the Daintree rainforest one day and did a Croc boat cruise. Tip - Go early to avoid the wait at the Ferry crossing.

Would definately recommend Saltwater.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warac, Manager at Saltwater Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for your review of Saltwater.

Saltwater is certainly ideally located and your comments will be helpful to other guests.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saltwater Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwater Luxury Apartments

Address: 30 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saltwater Luxury Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located in the heart of Port Douglas; easy walk to all restaurants, bars, the beach & shops. air conditioned luxury self contained apartments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saltwater Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Hotel Port Douglas
Saltwater Luxury Apartments Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltwater Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.