We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavour explosion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rasa

Rasa
Port Douglas Road, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
7 4099 1855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 98 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Cuisines: Asian fusion
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Flavour explosion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I love eating. I love food with great flavours. I appreciate a restaurant with a chiiled atmosphere. I also like dining with my kids. So Rasa was able to meet me on every point.

The subtle flavours that the chef weaved into the food and the mixture of textures and colours made it a feast for the senses. With the large semi-outdoor seating area with just enough light to make it feel laid-back but still smart makes Rasa a really great place to eat. The staff were even kind enough to comp us an extra dessert - thanks guys, it was great.

My only gripe: the kids' fried rice was overly sweet and gluggy. But the whole family is still raving about the meal and I'm sure we'll come again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    14
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best food in Port Douglas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Having dined in several of the restaurants in PD I must say Rasa is by far the most memorable. From the delicious sliders to the slow cooked beef, flavours and texture were amazing. Service was friendly without being intrusive. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River Region, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Dined at Rasa while on holidays with my partner and can't fault a single thing! The presentation of each course, the flavors and textures, the friendly and informative staff and the beautiful garden surroundings make this restaurant experience perfect in every way. Would definitely return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service, flavours and atmosphere make Rasa a "Must visit".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Dining at Rasa is always a treat and one that has yet to disappoint! The Beef Cheek and the Som Tum salad are delicious and I love hearing what inventive dish the chef has come up with for the fish of the day. Getting a table close to the pool gives such a relaxing and peaceful touch to our dinner. Rasa has quickly become one of our favorite places to dine in Port Douglas!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous five course meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We dined as a family at Rasa and thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful dishes that were served for the five course degustation menu. Standouts were the pork belly and the chocolate brulee. The amuse bouche was a lovely start with pops of salmon caviar amongst the avocado soup. Chrissy, our waitress provided excellent, friendly service and made us feel welcome.
We enjoyed the experience so much we returned the next evening for dessert. Could be improved with the addition of a dessert wine to finish the meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rasa also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Rasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.