We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Our Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreamcatcher Apartments Port Douglas

Save Saved
You added Dreamcatcher Apartments Port Douglas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreamcatcher Apartments Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 - 28 Reef Street | P.O. Box 470, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AUD139 (AUD)
Ranked #30 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved Our Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My girlfriend had to attend a conference at The Sea Temple Spa & Resort, but she did want to stay at the resort. We found the Dreamcatcher Apartments on the vouchers and stayed for a week. The location was excellent and so quiet! (no kids running around the pool) The beach is at the end of the a very short road and there is a small pub/restaurant across the road, which was a lifesaver when you arrive at night after a long flight. There is a shuttle bus that runs every 15 minutes back into Cairns which picks-up & drops you off right outside the apartments. The apartments are clean and spacious. John (owner) made us feel right at home and Rosemary (onsite manager) were welcoming and so obliging, nothing was a problem. We will be back in the future. Thanks Dreamcatcher!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for 5 nights to celebrate my 30th birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The apartments are impeccably maintained, nicely decorated and well equipped. The wifi doesn't really work outside the reception area but that didn't bother us and as mentioned its a 5 min drive from the centre of Port Douglas so having your own car (which we did) makes it much easier to get around. We only met Rosemary who was lovely and great at recommending reef cruises and restaurants and even checked various weather forecasts for us so we could pick the best day for a cruise to reduce the chance of seasickness! Nothing was too much to ask. Highly recommended and if we are lucky enough to go back to Port Douglas we wouldn't hesitate to book this place again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed at Dreamcatcher for 3 nights mid August. 1bdrm apartment was lovely. Tastefully decorated with all mod cons supplied. Location is a 1 minute walk to the beach. Very quiet, even with a pub across the road:-).

It's about a 5 min drive to the centre of town but there is a free bus that goes past the front door every 20 mins if you don't want to drive or don't have a car.

You will enjoy your stay there, we did.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

One week was not enough! Will definitely go back for another visit the apartments were well care for and the people we came across Rosemary and John were very obliging. DVD player wasn't working so John dropped a new one in real quickly for us without an issue. Rooms were clean and airy, nothing you need to take as it is all there for you. Loved the beautiful bird calls we got to wake up to, absolute paradise!

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartments are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

2 wks was not enough. Well managed, clean, quiet, helpful staff, bright and right on the bus pick up. Near to town but so much better than being in the noise of town. Not new but well kept with TLC. The decor was fun and welcoming. The pool was the best and John and Annie great about helping us to get around the area which is very special. So much to see and do. The breakfast with the birds at feeding time was better than expected. Dain Tree area in easy driving range and the beach right down the street. Port Douglas was a fun place with good food, friendly people and the best place for experiencing the reef.

Room Tip: We liked our studio which was near the back and was upstairs- very quiet. All seemed to be good cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had a wonderful week staying here with friendly and helpful hosts and a 2 minute walk to Four Mile Beach. It's great to stay in this residential area, away from the really touristy parts yet a short drive to the town centre. The apartment was of a high standard with everything we needed and the pool area was beautiful --it just needed a Ulysses butterfly to visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie Traveller
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Was so pleased with our choice of accommodation on our recent visit to Port Douglas! These apartments are big, ideally located literally a minute's walk to the quiet end of Four Mile Beach and their eclectic funky building style really sets them apart. Owner operators and hosts Annie and John are so welcoming and I particularly loved the thoughtful touches I noticed like the many candles they have put out (including spare ones in the kitchen cupboards - big bonus points there!) and the full set of quality toiletries in the bathroom. Couldn't fault it - will be back for sure.

Room Tip: I loved room 205 - quiet and carpark directly underneath the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dreamcatcher Apartments Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreamcatcher Apartments Port Douglas

Address: 26 - 28 Reef Street | P.O. Box 470, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreamcatcher Apartments Port Douglas 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dreamcatcher Apartments Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreamcatcher Apartments Port Douglas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.