We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total privacy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Flamingo

Save Saved
You added Pink Flamingo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pink Flamingo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Total privacy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I came to Port Douglas and stayed at the Pink Flamingo with my 18yo daughter, and her boyfriend, so that we could catch up with my husband who was coming down from Port Moresby. The villa I had was very private, with its own courtyard (including hammock and outside bath) and was beautifully presented. My daughter stayed in the Studio, so did not have the hammock or outside bath, but did enjoy a nice (semi-private) outside area. (I could physically lock people out of our courtyard, my daughter couldn't.)

We both loved the privacy and peacefulness. Having no children around, particularly in the pool area, was bliss. You could swim 24 hours of the day, as long as you were quiet of a nighttime. We felt as if we had the place to ourselves, even though I believe the resort was quite full. Walking back from 4 mile beach one day, we cut through the Sheraton Mirage, and all of us commented that there was no privacy there as we were walking outside everyone's rooms and would have been able to see in if their curtains were open. We had the better deal - no-one could do that to us at the Pink Flamingo!
The only problem was mosquitoes (nothing to do with Pink Flamingo), so I strongly suggest you use the insect repellent and mossie coils provided as part of the service.
The pool was just the right temperature (felt cool at first, but was just right) to have a game of pool volley ball (or at least throw the ball at someone) of a night, or just float around on the beanbag boats during the day.
Only drawback was that you had to go to the pool area to get WiFi.
Had a great time and would be more than happy to go back again or recommend to friends.
Absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: Villas had private courtyard that you could shut, and lock, everyone out so you could have an outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    62
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
281
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Highly recommended. The hosts are very helpful when you need help, and otherwise leave you alone - perfect! I like the no kids policy - for us the weather was crap, but I imagine lounging around the pool without any kids around would be sweet. The garden villa room was excellent value and a very nice place to hang out. Clean as well. We'll go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We just spent several days here and wished that we could have stayed longer. From the moment you drive through the gates, you are welcomed into a wonderful peaceful spot that is amazing. The plants and flowers are wonderful, the pool area is great, and the activity building has everything you want, including two large boxes of DVD.s However, the real draw here is the room area. It is large and spacious with soft colors, a kitchenette, and huge tiles shower. The outdoor tub and shower is fantastic, complete with a candelabra and more plants. Gigi was marvelous at welcoming us and answering our questions. Super location on the way into town. Make sure you visit 4 mile beach, a short walk away, and the downtown area which is really neat. Plus, this is the best spot to explore the outer Great Barrier Reef. Would love to return here someday. Oh, you can get wif fi by the pool and the reception area. Who cars about the room?

Room Tip: Definitely pick a room with the outdoor tub/shower combination.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We loved the Pink Flamingo - such a gorgeous location, incredible gardens, the rooms are lovely with very cool outdoor showers. We had a car and drove into Port Douglas most evenings but it is also possible to walk. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeebud West
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I, both enjoyed our stay at the Pink Flamingo Resort and would come back again.
The outside bath and shower was a highlight and the little extras that come with the room make it perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Pink Flamingo is totally unique, very clean, has everything you need,there is attention to small detail which makes a lot of difference. The outdoor bath is a must, especially at night looking up at the stars. Being able to take ones pets is an added bonus. Gigi and Andrea are
great hosts, we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

It was our second stay here. We love the extra touches like bicycles, a pool table, DVD library, plunger coffee, beach towels and sarongs. It's child free and the pool is slightly heated so there's nothing to do but relax. The mozzies were pretty bad outside our studio room but coils and repellant were supplied. Other hotels might be cheaper but you truly feel at peace and well looked after here. Minimum 2 nights stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo Offers a unique blend of:v Open plan room layouts and colourful decor.v Lush tropical gardens, heated pool and private garden courtyards.v Incense, candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment.With just 10 Private Villas and 2 Studios, Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pink Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.