We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pink Flamingo to your Saves list
Pink Flamingo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic, highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The Pink Flamingo is totally unique, very clean, has everything you need,there is attention to small detail which makes a lot of difference. The outdoor bath is a must, especially at night looking up at the stars. Being able to take ones pets is an added bonus. Gigi and Andrea are
great hosts, we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    69
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
296
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

It was our second stay here. We love the extra touches like bicycles, a pool table, DVD library, plunger coffee, beach towels and sarongs. It's child free and the pool is slightly heated so there's nothing to do but relax. The mozzies were pretty bad outside our studio room but coils and repellant were supplied. Other hotels might be cheaper but you truly feel at peace and well looked after here. Minimum 2 nights stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Warm welcoming, Gigi and Andrea are very helpful managers.
Beautiful and quiet place. Nice swimming pool.
One of the very best hotel where we ever went ant the price is very reasonable.

I hope we will come back in this gem !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We can't wait to go back and stay here again! The Pink Flamingo has left a lasting impression with us - from the unique and luxurious accommodation to the impeccable customer service we received, this is the place you want to stay at in Port Douglas. Managers Gigi and Andrea had fantastic local knowledge and made us feel completely safe when Cyclone Ita came along to but a dampener on our holiday. Having a huge selection of free DVDs, stunning resort-style pool and a pool table to use at our leisure completed the package. Our villa was beautiful and comfortable and the outdoor bath (which came with bath salts, candles and mosquito coils) was a total treat. You could even wheel the TV over to the door on its trolley and watch movies from the bath.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a private villa with an outdoor bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

It is an act of pure selflessness to rave about this place; the inclination is to say nothing and save it for one's self. The Pink Flamingo hits all the right notes: privacy, independence, availability, beauty, luxury, and respect. This is a truly special place and somehow I will figure out a way to go back,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a very quirky establishment, bright colours and feeling very much as if it had been carved out of the jungle. There was a beautiful swimming pool and the walk to your room involved passing concrete urns full of small fish whilst negotiating lizards and butterflies. Our room was very large with an ample bed and an internal shower that would have accommodated a small herd of wildebeest.

The current owners have obviously stuck to their principles and developed a very unique place to stay.

Both the beach and town are within walking distance, 20 mins to the town 10 to the beach. I would recommend the Chinese restaurant a few mins walk away generous, excellent quality food.

I liked the place my wife was unsure.

The receptionist was extremely helpful – faultless.

I would draw your attention that up until a few years ago this was a Gay & lesbian only establishment and is certainly still very popular with gays of all shapes and sizes. Canoodling males listening to Kylie by the pool may or may not be ‘your thing’ – so it’s wise to bear this in mind.

Room Tip: I would draw your attention that up until a few years ago this was a Gay & lesbian only establ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

From the first moment I spoke to Marita on the phone I knew it was going to be great and it did not disappoint. She was so lovely, professional and helped me book great trips around port Douglas. I am already planning my next trip back and will definitely stay here again!! Thanks for a great vacation!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo Offers a unique blend of:v Open plan room layouts and colourful decor.V Lush tropical gardens, heated pool and private garden courtyards.V Incense, candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment.With just 10 Private Villas and 2 Studios, Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pink Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.