We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pink Flamingo to your Saves list
Pink Flamingo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Have just had 4 great days at the Pink Flamingo. Our unit was spacious consisting of a generous courtyard which included an outdoor shower and tub. Inside was a dining/ kitchen area with full kitchen incl microwave, new fridge/freezer and hot plates. Tv, DVD, CD player and a big comfy bench seat for watching tv. Then a separate bedroom, generous in size and toilet/shower bathroom off that. Overhead fans and AC kept the place well ventilated.
Although not new, the accomm was all in very good condition and well cleaned. Brightly painted with a fresh decor, the place was very easy to relax in and around. A lot of attention has been paid to those little things that make your stay as enjoyable as possible like cans of mozzie spray, well equipped kitchen and actually sharp cutting knives. Sounds silly but indicates the level of attention to detail here to make everything work for an enjoyable stay.
Our hosts were very friendly and helpful in offering advice for local attractions and recommendations.
The site has a huge heated outdoor pool, surrounded by immaculate and beautiful tropical gardens. It was a delight being woken by the many bird varieties that live here too.
Just a 5 min walk to Carlito Pizzas, a bottle store and Chinese restaurant. Coffee can be bought at the cake shop next to these. 20 min walk to PD town shops/ bars, and just 10 min walk to famous 4 mile beach, so great location all round.
Would recommend the PF to fellow travellers if you want a quality and quiet change from the hussle and bussle of hotels and noisy kids in gorgeous tropical bush surrounding.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    73
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
330
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

It is refreshing to stay at a hotel that is unique in appearance. The bright colours and quirky furnishings are fun and welcoming. The hotel itself is about a 20 minute walk from Port Douglas centre and just a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place is amazing! Dollar wise, the rates are embarrassingly low, in fact, for what you receive. If you are stressed from travelling when you arrive, you won't be for long, as everything has been designed for the maximum comfort and well being of the guest. The beautiful tropical gardens, the pool, the private garden to each room. This place has colour and character, something that is lacking in the big resorts. As a guest, you are a special person, rather than just a room number, and Gigi went out of her way to ensure that we felt that this was so. We stayed in one of the studios, as we were going to be out and about during the day, and so it more than met our needs, and our expectations ~ however the garden villas would be absolutely wonderful for those looking for a romantic, or super pampered stay.

Room Tip: The place is so well designed so that no guest has reason to complain about the lack of comfort, pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pink Flamingo for a few nights as part of our honeymoon down under and we absolutely loved every minute of it. The resort is brilliant, with fantastic suites, great selection of things to do on days in, nice BBQ facilities that you can take to your room, and of course the location relative to the GBR and the Daintree. Gigi and Andrea are excellent hosts and were very accommodating, thus we could not have asked for a better place to stay in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Everything is good about this place. The outdoor bath and shower is fantastic. The place is really well designed with no cars parked near the Villa accommodation. Gigi is helpful in a relaxed way without being intrusive. Everything is organised, well stocked, clean and tidy. Love the way the Villa's are designed and the comfy built in couch. We had the outdoor pool to ourselves, hired a bike and it's very close to town. A nice suprise was the free upgrade when we arrived, as they werent busy. Perfect after a day snorkling the reef.

Room Tip: Any of the Villa's are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say that hasn't already been said about this fantastic resort. Do yourself a favor and enjoy a visit. Every detail has been thought of ....there are candles, bath salts, plunger coffee, bbq area stocked with sauces etc. Herbs growing in the garden for you to use. Also we were celebrating our honeymoon and we received a lovely note and bottle of wine. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place is quirky. The owners run it quite well. It's very clean and everything happens exactly as it's supposed to. They helped me choose and book my snorkeling at the Great Barrier Reef, which was perfect (and incredible!). I rented a bike one day. That said, it's basically a cinder block room in the tropics. It's well appointed and managed. It has a room air conditioner. It also has a ceiling fan, which is nice. They thought of all the details. I could play my iphone, they left me beach towels, even some chocolate eggs for easter. Very nice but mostly because they run it so well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkflamingogo, Manager at Pink Flamingo, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review Ilena!
We just would like to point out the room type which you booked was our Garden Studio, these are located at the front of the resort (which we advertise) and more of a budget option (we only have 2 studio's). The Private Garden Villa's are our main rooms and those are spacious, private, open plan living all with nice garden views and large courtyard, quietly located away from the street. It is worthwhile to pay a little extra and stay in a villa for a perfect holiday experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
4.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#1 of 45 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.6 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 45 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo Offers a unique blend of:v Open plan room layouts and colourful decor.V Lush tropical gardens, heated pool and private garden courtyards.V Incense, candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment.With just 10 Private Villas and 2 Studios, Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14/15 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pink Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.