We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay in north Queensland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pink Flamingo to your Saves list
Pink Flamingo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Port Douglas
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay in north Queensland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pink Flamingo for a few nights as part of our honeymoon down under and we absolutely loved every minute of it. The resort is brilliant, with fantastic suites, great selection of things to do on days in, nice BBQ facilities that you can take to your room, and of course the location relative to the GBR and the Daintree. Gigi and Andrea are excellent hosts and were very accommodating, thus we could not have asked for a better place to stay in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    63
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
283
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Everything is good about this place. The outdoor bath and shower is fantastic. The place is really well designed with no cars parked near the Villa accommodation. Gigi is helpful in a relaxed way without being intrusive. Everything is organised, well stocked, clean and tidy. Love the way the Villa's are designed and the comfy built in couch. We had the outdoor pool to ourselves, hired a bike and it's very close to town. A nice suprise was the free upgrade when we arrived, as they werent busy. Perfect after a day snorkling the reef.

Room Tip: Any of the Villa's are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say that hasn't already been said about this fantastic resort. Do yourself a favor and enjoy a visit. Every detail has been thought of ....there are candles, bath salts, plunger coffee, bbq area stocked with sauces etc. Herbs growing in the garden for you to use. Also we were celebrating our honeymoon and we received a lovely note and bottle of wine. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place is quirky. The owners run it quite well. It's very clean and everything happens exactly as it's supposed to. They helped me choose and book my snorkeling at the Great Barrier Reef, which was perfect (and incredible!). I rented a bike one day. That said, it's basically a cinder block room in the tropics. It's well appointed and managed. It has a room air conditioner. It also has a ceiling fan, which is nice. They thought of all the details. I could play my iphone, they left me beach towels, even some chocolate eggs for easter. Very nice but mostly because they run it so well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinkflamingogo, Manager at Pink Flamingo, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review Ilena!
We just would like to point out the room type which you booked was our Garden Studio, these are located at the front of the resort (which we advertise) and more of a budget option (we only have 2 studio's). The Private Garden Villa's are our main rooms and those are spacious, private, open plan living all with nice garden views and large courtyard, quietly located away from the street. It is worthwhile to pay a little extra and stay in a villa for a perfect holiday experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A very special stay. Clean and very spacious apartment, and very well set out and you are in need of nothing , very well thought out and wonderful attention to detail. The girls are clearly passionate out the resort and make you feel at home and are happy to help with any of your needs. I would certainly recommend a stay at pink flamingo, very special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our first trip to Australia started off with a great stay in Port Douglas at the Pink Flamingo. Both Gigi & Andrea were wonderful hosts, very accomodating and socialable. We liked being close enough within a walk or bike ride from the attractions, but yet far enough away to feel like were were truly tucked away in a secret getaway. The villas were cute, cozy and we throughougly enjoyed our stay. Albeit we were there in the off season, we still had a great time. We'd highly recommend the Pink Flamingo as a place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We came from the USA, were visiting family and wanted to go to Port Douglas, have a nice stay and experience the area. Pink Flamingo was spotless and beautifully cared for. The staff (Gigi) was wonderful. She is obviously passionate about her hotel, it is immaculately kept. The stay was comfortable and relaxing. I hope to return to this area and will be sure to stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo Offers a unique blend of:v Open plan room layouts and colourful decor.V Lush tropical gardens, heated pool and private garden courtyards.V Incense, candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment.With just 10 Private Villas and 2 Studios, Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pink Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.