We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pink Flamingo to your Saves list
Pink Flamingo
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Heaven in Port Douglas, love it. We have stayed about six times at various times of year and it never fails to be stunning. Warm welcome from the girls, Gigi and Andrea, we are even able to take Stan our dog.

Very private, with your own additional outside bath/ shower, we were in that everyday after lying by the oasis style pool. So many little extras provided, bath salts, inscence, candles everywhere. Wonderful and relaxing, plus just down the road all the great food of Port Douglas.

Room Tip: A villa on the left hand side of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    63
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
286
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

* Service was friendly and helpful, offering a tour of the resort and facilities available
* The rooms were colourful, unique and clean, felt very private and secluded
* Location not far from the centre of Port Douglas, easy to take a leisure bike ride
* Best was the privacy and comfort of the rooms, felt like your own little retreat

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed at Pink Flamingo for 7 nights, we chose it due to the amazing reviews and the pictures posted. We had great communication with Gigi prior to arriving.As we were going to arrive around 6am we asked if we could check in early, we were informed we could have an early check in at 8am and maybe wait at the airport for a couple of hours after we landed and got a bus later or get the 4.30ish bus and check in at 6am, but we would have to pay a full nights rate if we checked in at 6am and not 8am. We decided that after a 9 hour flight we would not want to wait at the airport so chose to check in at 6am. We were giving instructions by Gigi how to access the resort as no staff would be there that early, the instructions were great and we accessed our room no problem. When we got in the room we had a shower and decided to get a couple of hours sleep. The bedding was very damp and felt as if it had been left for a while, we sleep in it as assumed it would be changed the next day. We woke and went straight out to town and on the way past the pool meet the deputy manager (Gigi and Andrea were on their holiday) She informed us that it had been raining for 5 weeks without a break and that she was knee deap in water the previous day as it was flooding, so we assumed that this was the reason why the bedding was damp and the floor not that clean. we got back from town and our room was not cleaned and was not for 2 days...... we ran out of toilet paper and had to use tissues, the floor was dirty and we were unable to find the deputy manager as she was out. We were the only guests there until the 4th day and that is when Gigi and Andrea came back. The place was run so much better then, rooms cleaned daily, we got some toilet paper and were given advice were to go and Gigi booked some trips for us. What makes this place are Gigi and Andrea you can tell they run a tight ship and are really friendly hosts, we just wish they were there from the start and that we had other guests (it was fully booked the week after due to post mardi and i bet it was a blast) The resort is lush, like a tropical paradise and the outside living is one of the best things about this place, outdoor tub and hammock will the BBQ is on the go! the pool does need and update as looks tired, but a great resort for relaxing or romance. In a nutshell, the positive reviews on here would be what we would have posted but the deputy let Gigi and Andrea down i feel. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011 via mobile

The Location and the setting of PF are just superb: located close enough to the harbour and the Beach as well as the City center to not waste time driving but also secluded and a little World apart from any resort-trouble. We used PF as a base for our daily Diving trips and it was the perfect place to come home to after an exhausting day at sea. Also a perfect place to enjoy the PF dining at night. The rooms were gigantic with a lounge area a full kitchen, a big shower bath and a huge outdoor bathtub and 2nd shower. Additinally your own private secluded courtyard. Romantic and relaxing.
It's a resort to enjoy yourself and wind down and not one to be pampered 24/7. But that's exactly what we wanted. If Australia sees us again, so will PF!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

Such a beautiful boutique hotel from the moment you arrive - instantly zen with a water feature around the reception and beautiful gardens. Run by two lovely ladies - we mainly met Gigi who was so friendly and great with recommending things to do.

Great pool with sunloungers and a bar (self-serve honour charge sheet) which is brilliant if you don't wish to swim at the beach which is within a 10 minute walk. However, it was the villa itself which we could not get enough of. Lovely and private, with an outdoor seating area (with hammock!) and outdoor bath. We took advantage of the little bbq they offered near the reception which you could take back to your garden to cook up privately which was lovely.

Lovely clean rooms, well supplied for doing a little bit of holiday cooking (nothing too fancy) and deliciously comfortable bed. We had some lazy late nights watching dvds (they have a fairly large dvd library which you can access at all hours which was great.

I would recommend future guests to take advantage of the daily bike hire ($10 per bike for a day - less if hiring for more than one day). You can ride down along the beach as the sand is quite packed and there are footpaths all around Port Douglas which means you're not competing with cars on the road. I'd also recommend that you get the breakfast hamper for the first day - not expensive and sets you up with milk, cereals, some breads, cheese etc. Really great if you arrive off your flight and get your transfer late in the afternoon. After that there's a Coles supermarket about 20 minutes walk away which stocks yummy stuff. We also took advantage and pre-ordered a lovely wine to our room for arrival which added to the ambience.

Wildlife Habitat is a nearby attraction which is great to see for Koalas, Kangaroos and other Australian creatures. Also, really fun quirky markets on Sundays. Lots to do nearby - but even if you don't want to do much (aside from eat great seafood nearby and head to the beach) it's a great place to visit. Also good to know is that's there's a broadband cable near the reception if you must check work emails.

Room Tip: Book eco rate for villa as slightly cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Set in a serene environment with lush greenery all around you. It is so refreshing and breathtaking that you want more of it. Giigi and Andrea are so friendly, helpful and competent. It was indeed a pleasant stay, and we will definitely be back again. Hot tips: buy a return ticket for the shuttle bus, which is a few minures walk from the resort.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We absolutely love this place! This is our third stay here and we adore it. It was for our wedding anniversary and we even got a very nice complimentary bottle of bubbly. The rooms are bright, quirky and terrific. The pool and bar area are uncrowded and relaxed and we always feel like we can literally rule the place while we are there! The tropical gardens are lovely and we saw many beautiful butterflies whilst we were there.Gigi our host was the friendliest ever! Also the resort is very conveniently located to town, about a 20 minute walk. Excellent value for money.We had a gorgeous time here once again and will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo Offers a unique blend of:v Open plan room layouts and colourful decor.V Lush tropical gardens, heated pool and private garden courtyards.V Incense, candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment.With just 10 Private Villas and 2 Studios, Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pink Flamingo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.