We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Nites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Nites to your Saves list
Tropical Nites
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   119 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Recommended accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Extremely helpful staff, well appointed rooms, good aircon which is a must. I'd recommend hiring bikes from a nearby shop; their a great way to get around the thankfully flat, port douglas area. 5min bike ride to the marina where most of the trips depart although many will do pickups from the hotel at no charge.

Only criticism would be that the unit we had could do with a lick of paint but I understand the rooms are being rennovated one by one.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    58
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
151
67
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

The Managers are very friendly and helpful when needed. The king size beds were very comfortable and air conditioners upstairs and downstairs very efficient to keep the entire apartment cool. Kitchen, bathroom and loungeroom facilities excellent, everything provided! We used the BBQ/pool area on many occasions to meet our friends with plenty of room and sufficient amount of tables/chairs. Thanks Peta and Alan we had a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We had a fabulous time at Tropical Nites. Peta and Alan were extremely friendly and helpful. They contacted us before arrival and helped us plan our day trips. The accommodation is lovely and spacious. I would highly recommend Tropical Nites.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

The owners of this place made our stay absolutely lovely there! Peta and her husband were just a delight to deal with, and helped us book up our week full of fun activites until we nearly dropped due to exhaustion. (Next time, I would rather stay TWO weeks instead of one, as there is ALOT of stuff to do there!) When Tropical Nites was already filled for our last night in town, they helped us get a room at the place next door.

As far as the accomodation, it was slightly older but everything worked and we didn't spend enough time in the unit to be bothered by it. And when we had an issue with the dryer not working, they were there right away fixing it, and offered us fresh towels since ours were still wet.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — older decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We recently stayed in a three bedroom townhouse at Tropical Nites for a week. The stay was comfortable and enjoyable, even though the accommodation was smaller and more compact than we anticipated (there was no en-suite). The swimming pool was quite small, so it could get crowded sometimes. Still, my girls managed to have some very good times in the pool during our stay. One thing definitely worth mentioning is that the owners were very friendly and helpful. They were probably one of the best we have met in our many years of traveling. So, overall, we found this accommodation value for money, compact but comfortable, and had a great host and hostess.

  • Liked — great owners, value, location, well-equipped
  • Disliked — small pool, small rooms and no ensuite
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

Alan & Peta were the most hospitable and helpful hosts. They were extremely knowlegable about the trips and advised on suitability for families. The accomodation was spotlessly clean, very spacious and more importantly than anything very cool. The Air conditioning and ceiling fans more than a match for the Port Douglas humidity - essential for a comfortable nights sleep. The accomodation benefited from having washing and drying facilities and the usual TV/DVD combination if the tropical heavens opened. The pool was clean, very warm and safe for families. Swimming locally off the beaches is only in a stinger suit during the Oz summer months, so a pool is essential despite the coastal location.

Make sure you've some bush strength mozzy spray as the local beasties are very unforgiving. Great place to act as a base for discovering Daintree, Cape Trib and the Mossman Gorge area as well as attractions around Cairns. Port Douglas full of great places to eat out with a varied price range.

Overall - Recommended.

  • Liked — Spaciousness
  • Disliked — Location just a bit out of town
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

My family and I stayed at tropical nites as part of a road trip down the east coast to Brisbane. We found the accomodation perfect, with 3 large bedrooms giving enough space for 6 adults and all the facilities we needed, including BBQ. It was fantastic value for money.
The managers were superb, helpful and friendly, they gave us great advice regarding trips to the Great Barrier Reef making sure that everyone got what they wanted from the day. Would definitely go back if we get the chance.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Nites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Nites

Address: 119 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Nites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical NiteS offers luxury self-contained Port Douglas accommodation in two-story apartments with 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms. Upstairs is the master bedroom retreat with bedroom opening up to a large private balcony plus a bathroom and laundry while living areas are downstairs. The Three bedroom apartments can comfortably accommodate six people with an extra two people on rolaway beds at an additional cost of $40 per person per night. All apartments have recently been refurbished and now have modern Kitchen with Microwave and Dishwasher and all have their own laundry with Washing Machine and Clothes Dryer. The deluxe have modern furnishings and a second bathroom making them a real home away from home and perfect for longer stays, small groups and families. Certificate of Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013. Tropical Nites: Our 1, 2 and 3 bedroom town houses feature: Separate dining and lounge rooms, Kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher and full size fridge/freezer, Kitchens equipped with crockery, cutlery and utensils, Tea/Coffee and amenities on arrival, Television with Satellite TV and DVD player, Full laundry facilities, Built in wardrobes, Private balcony, Air-conditioning and ceiling fans, Weekly servicing included in all stays over 7 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Nites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Nites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.