We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Nites a Great Place to stay in Port Douglas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Nites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Nites to your Saves list
Tropical Nites
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   119 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tropical Nites a Great Place to stay in Port Douglas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

On our visit from the UK to Port Douglas we stayed three weeks at Tropical Nites and found the one bedroom townhouse spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. It was equipt with 'all mod cons', including cooking and laundry facilities, airconditioning and ceiling fans in each room... 'we wanted for nothing'. The management team, Tania, Damien and kids, are lovely people, they made us very welcome and were pleased to help us plan our trips in and around Port Douglas (thanks guys). The small resort is a few minutes walk from four mile beach and a twenty minute walk into the centre of town, or a couple of minutes drive in the car. We were pleased we had chosen accommodation slightly away from the centre of town, for even though the resort had full occupancy during our stay, it was very quiet. We would highly recommend Tropical Nites as a great place to stay in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    58
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
160
68
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We was very happy with this hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. They knew about the best trips and sites to go. Helped us a lot with the booking. We had a three room villa, space was more than enough for a family of 5. Very well equiped, we always made breakfast and lunch and often dinner as well. Quiet place with 20 min walk to the beach as well as restaurants and shops.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a 3 bedroom townhouse and it was perfect! Some friends were staying in one of the larger resorts and found it too busy and noisy. Tropical nites was peaceful and had everything we wanted.

The resort is a little older than some Port Douglas options, but our accommodation was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The managers were very friendly and look after the place well.

The barbie area and pool are great.

We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Tropical Nites was the ideal place to stay when we met up with friends recently in Port Douglas. We rented a 2 bedroom apartment which was spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and given a map and information about Port Douglas which was very useful. Would recommend Tropical Nites and we hope to be able to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wangaratta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the Tropical nites Port Douglas in April for my birthday for a week. We had been to Port Douglas in 2012 and stayed at Shantara which was okay but the room was really small. Tropical Nites really exceeded our expectations. The town houses were spacious, modern and really clean and the kingsize bed was the best. Tania and Damien were fantastic and they made us feel very welcome. Its not often you get a hug goodbye from your hosts when you leave. This will be the only place we stay when we visit port douglas. Thanks see you in 2014.
Debbie & Billy x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Came back for our second time with our three little crazies after driving 2500k through the outback, the kids recognised it immediately. The warm welcome by Tania and Damien made us feel instantly at home.. Our tropical home. Whether it was making sure thee were toys for the kids or providing advice and organising tours there was nothing that was too much trouble. The town houses are really clean and perfectly equipped for our young family, a lovely fenced pool right outside the door, with Tania and Damien happy to assist with extras to make our stay with small kids easier. We had plenty of rain this trip but plenty of room for kids to entertain themselves inside and DVDs available from the office too. It's a great location which we took advantage of by bringing our bikes this time and hardly needed to use the car. Wonderful couple and wonderful holiday we were sorry that we had to leave and head back another 2500kms. We definitely recommend to family and friends and trying to work out when we can get back again. It is the perfect place for a proper relaxing holiday for a young family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Thanks to Damian and Tania for making me feel so welcome. The apartment was very clean, spacious and well equipped and it's a ten minute walk to Macrossan Street and the Marina and five minutes to Four Mile Beach. They had great suggestions for activities and were very happy to make all the bookings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Nites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Nites

Address: 119 Davidson Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Nites 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical NiteS offers luxury self-contained Port Douglas accommodation in two-story apartments with 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms. Upstairs is the master bedroom retreat with bedroom opening up to a large private balcony plus a bathroom and laundry while living areas are downstairs. The Three bedroom apartments can comfortably accommodate six people with an extra two people on rolaway beds at an additional cost of $40 per person per night. All apartments have recently been refurbished and now have modern Kitchen with Microwave and Dishwasher and all have their own laundry with Washing Machine and Clothes Dryer. The deluxe have modern furnishings and a second bathroom making them a real home away from home and perfect for longer stays, small groups and families. Certificate of Excellence: 2011, 2012,2013. Tropical Nites: Our 1, 2 and 3 bedroom town houses feature: Separate dining and lounge rooms, Kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, dishwasher and full size fridge/freezer, Kitchens equipped with crockery, cutlery and utensils, Tea/Coffee and amenities on arrival, Television with Satellite TV and DVD player, Full laundry facilities, Built in wardrobes, Private balcony, Air-conditioning and ceiling fans, Weekly servicing included in all stays over 7 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Nites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Nites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.